We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The customer service is +++++.”
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel David
Ranked #1 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The customer service is +++++.”
Reviewed 27 April 2009

I can see why Hotel David ranks so high in the favourite hotels of Florence. They are extremely helpful in every respect. There were 3 of us. Thre room was by far the biggest what we had in Italy, lots of room to move. The breakfast buffet was the best we had in Italy. There were many choices from savoury to sweet. The early evening "Happy Hour" was a great opportunity to meet other guests. We ended sitting out in the terrace several evenings quite late enjoying the free snacks and wine with other guests. It was the only hotel in Italy that had a computer what we could use since we didn't have our own laptop. They have a laundry room with washer, dryer, and ironing board for 4 Euros which we desperately needed as we had packed lightly and this was midpoint in our trip. Our room had a free mini-bar with snacks (if after the hearty breakfast, generous Happy Hour, and delicious Italian restaurant meals we were hungry or thirsty). The staff tried to warn us against a tourist-trap restaurant but regretfully we didn't listen as it was written up in several tour books and sounded fun. We should have known that Gabriele knows better! The hotel has a history as the family has been welcoming guests for 50 years. It is a nice mix of old Italian villa and new modern conveniences. The Hotel is about a 20 minute walk along the Arno to the Uffizi and tourist area. We enjoyed the walk but you can also take a bus and buy tickets at the front desk. Central Florence was very crowded as it was Easter Week. Students from all over Europe had holidays and they were ALL in Florence. We were grateful that the Hotel was a retreat and not in the centre of the hubbub. We look forward to going back at a quieter time of year. Thanks to the staff for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maijamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 2 May 2009
Dear Guest,

I remember you! we had talked in the laundry room!! I'm happy you have good memories to carry with you about our city and our house. We are at your disposal to give you good suggestions of how to enjoy better your trip to Firenze and to evoid tricky situations.
I thank you for your post and it will be a pleasure to welcome you again at the David next time you decide to come to Firenze.

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,747
    300
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
613
1,861
79
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2009

Great small hotel in excellent location. Short walk to town or use several bus lines outside the door. Great neighborhood and easy walk to San Nicolo section of Florence which is home of several great restaurants,wine bars, the historical walled doors and Michelanglo gardens (open in spring)
Hotel serves a great capucino and array of breakfast foods and snack/wine tray in the evening. Rooms are large with private baths. Free internet and I was told laundry faciity coming in April 09. No need for five star expense when little places like Hotel David make spending that money seem stupid.

Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tuscanfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 28 April 2009
Dear Guest,

Yes you are right we are little outside town and we have many interesting facilities and we do have a new self laundry room you can use on demand!!
Thank you for coming and next time you will decide to come over we will be there!!

My best

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.F.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2009

We cannot say enough about how much we loved this hotel - by far the best place to stay! The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Our room was large and had lovely furnishings. We could not get over the free happy hour (which was not just a few crackers!), free breakfast (not just a continental breakfast with bread and juice), free parking, free internet, and free 10 minute calls home! We felt at home and were treated like VIPs. Would definitely stay again and recommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tacalderon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 27 April 2009
Dear Guest,

I'm glad you had good time with us, I can recognize you have been with us despite you moved us to France!! We treat all the travellers as persons not numbers and probably this makes the difference....

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

We recently stayed at the Hotel David in Florence as part of our Honeymoon in Umbria and Tuscany. It is a charming hotel with many free extras (free minibar, aperitifs in the evening, free internet useage and even a free 10 minute international call!) which made our stay even better. The hotel is a reasonable (25 minute) walk from the main attractions in Florence, but buses costing about 1 euro each way regularly run from close to the hotel. Our only criticism of Florence is the cost of drinks in cafes (we paid as much as 10 euros for an espresso and a cup of tea!). We would highly recommend the Hotel David to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 25 April 2009
Dear Guest,

We think that the best way to welcome you is to imagine your needs and wishes and anticipate them.....thank you!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Can only echo other reviewers: A lovely little hotel that puts its guests' needs first. Comfortable, clean and reasonably priced. Lots of lovely touches (Happy Hour; complimentary phone call home; free mini bar) and extremely helpful staff. We liked the location too - a 15 minute stroll to the centre of Florence. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and Hotel David thoroughly deserve the good reviews.

Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SusannaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 23 April 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel David for your honeymoon we hope your trip to Italy will be a good beguinning for you futire life together!
Yes you are right you can pay that price for an expresso or a tea downtown in Piazza della Signoria or close but if you are not really downtown like we are the prices of the Coffe Shops are very resonable!!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

About a 20 min walk to the Duomo and convenient bus stop close by. The service is great and we LOVED the breakfast. The pizzeria recommended by the hotel was our least favorite in Italy but maybe we didn't know how to order..

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goingeuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 25 April 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review we have followed your suggestions this wintertime to mke a better breakfast and I think this post means where are on the right way!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

We stayed at the Hotel David for 3 nights. I cant say enough good things about it. The staff were very friendly, very helpful. The rooms were large(especially for Europe) , and very clean. Breakfast was fresh home cooking, delightful. The evening wine and food in the garden was relaxing and perfect for the end of a day. They also have a computer available to use, if needed. I work for the airline, so I have traveled quite a bit. Hotel David is probably one of the best finds I have some across in a very long time. A real mix of old world, with comfort and ease in this modern day. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selsa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 20 April 2009
Dear Guest,

When we do a job that has something to do with hotel business it a problem because when you go on holiday it seems you are still working and you can see things that usually people cannot. So having received this post from you,it is a big success for us and it tells us that our way is correct!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,440 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Property: Hotel David
Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing