We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best in florence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel David
Ranked #1 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the best in florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

I´ve been to Florence many times. This time I followed trip advisor´s advice and it is absolutly accurate. Worth every penny

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdsantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 27 May 2009
Dear Guest,

I'm happy to see that our marketing rate is well balanced with our services: money for value.....said someone!!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,659
    292
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
591
1,803
77
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Virginia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

We could not have been more pleased with our stay at Hotel David. Every staff member was friendly, smiling and helpful. The room was very comfortable. The owner, Gabriella, has assembled a great crew and runs an incredibly good establishment which we felt was an excellent value. We enjoyed the complimentary afternoon happy hour and the excellent breakfasts. We will not hesitate to return to Hotel David on our next trip to beautiful Florence.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATravelingVirginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 25 May 2009
Dear Guest,

I thank for your mail it is so pleasent to read that all our efforts are going in the right direction thanks also to your suggestions.

See you next time you come to Florence.

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2009

My wife and I spend 5 nights at the Hotel David last week and it was terrific. The room was spacious and clean, they even gave us one free mini-bar! Each evening they serve wine and snacks on the patio that the guests greatly enjoy. The staff is extremely courteous and bi-lingual. They made us feel very welcome in a foreign city. Oh yes... the breakfast is not just croissants and juice, they put out a hot breakfast that should suit anyone's wishes. Thanks again Hotel Davis for a wonderful visit to Florence! You were greatly superior to the other hotels we stayed at in Rome and Milan.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dobarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 25 May 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our house, we have worked a lot on our cleaning system that has to be efficent and eco friendly, it is so important that the room is spotless!

Minibar and happy our are 2 of the complimentary services to discover here and it's so pleasent to share different experiences drinking a glass of wine!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

Hotel David offers excellent value for money in an expensive city. Mr Cecione and his staff are very helpful, friendly and work hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The Hotel David experience is not one of staying in a typical ‘chain’ hotel, but rather like an English B & B, with the owner doing his best to please his guests. The hotel is a villa and we stayed with our son, in two adjoining ground floor rooms, which formed a mini suite. The free ‘Mini Bar’ is super & the drinks prices at the hotel are inexpensive. Rooms are large and airy and reasonably well equipped, but retain lots of character and charm. Air conditioning works well, but for a light sleeper, you may hear the units running outside your room at ground floor level, as we did, but apart from that, despite the hotel being at a busy junction, you will rarely hear traffic noise.
The staff will recommend & book excellent restaurants for you (Ristorante Acqua Al 2, Via Della Vigna Vecchia was superb & sensibly priced). The nearby Rosticerria is great value for lunch & take away.
Overall a good place to stay that represents great value.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandJLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 25 May 2009
Dear Guest,

Yes, we are more like an english B&B where the Owner takes personal care of the guest, where things are done to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and all suggestions are given only after our personal experience and your good feedback.

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
186 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

My family & I stayed at this fantastic, little hotel during our recent visit to Italy (April 09). We had a family room (1 large bed and 2 singles for my daughters aged 14 & 16). The room was large, clean and very inviting. The cost included so much that there is not enough room here to mention it here. Easily the best-valued "family room" and accomodation that my family have visited in any place around the world. Top staff (and owner), top food, free parking, walking distance to the city centre. It was so good, that we returned to Hotel David after driving to Venice (as a stop over when driving back to Rome). HIGHLY recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LFLLFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Ower at Hotel David, responded to this review, 21 May 2009
Dear Guest,

I'm glad you had good time with your family at the David!! We don't have many family rooms but families are already welcome, it's great fun!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

This hotel was a great place to stay. Very helpful staff,and very clean. I would definately recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneNicholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 20 May 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you again for your words of appreciation we will be here next time you decide to come back to visit our city.

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

This is a great hotel with character and with exceptionally helpful and friendly staff. Although on a fairly busy road junction the rooms were quiet and as requested we were allocated a quiet room at the back of the hotel. The room was very spacious with high ceilings as was the bathroom; the only thing that could be improved on in our room would be some extra electrical sockets. In this day of phone, camera and toothbrush chargers everything seemed to need charging at the same time ! The free mini bar on arrival was a great bonus. The happy hour with free wine and snacks each night. was appreciated and you get to meet and chat to other guests and exchange ideas and tips about the city. Without talking to guests at happy hour we would not have known about the beautiful Iris garden just off Michaelangelo Plaza which is only open in May. Loved the features such as the painted animals and flowers on the walls by the stairs and the various objects, books paintings etc around the hotel.

Breakfast was good with a range of cheese, ham, breads, cereals, cakes etc but a minor niggle as a tea drinker was the fact that the hot water wasn't always boiling and the eggs were rarely hot. Beer in the hotel bar was a very good price unlike many of the bars in town, so we used the bar for a nightcap rather than town.

As the hotel is a 20 minutes walk from the centre of town, the three day bus pass sold to us by the hotel for 12 euros was excellent value. Walking to town is fine but as we spent the whole day walking we were glad of the bus to get us to and from town during the day. Be aware that most of the buses seem to stop at about 8.00 pm so it is an evening walk back but very nice along the river. As well as using the bus for journeys into town we used it to go to Fiesole, a beautiful hill village overlooking Florence and up to the Michelangelo Plaza for a great city view.

The restaurants recommended by the hotel were all excellent, especially Cassalinga near the Ponte Vecchia, which had excellent food at very cheap prices. As it is so busy and not particularly small you may have to share a table with strangers but that was great as you get to meet and talk to new people.

Would certainly stay here again if visiting Florence againg but there are still so many more lovely cities to visit in Europe.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mintey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 19 May 2009
Dear Guest,

All the Staff is very motivated, right now while I 'm writing the reponse, Chiara is explaining where to catch the bus to a 60 years old couple from California who they have just checked in and there were so happy to be albe to talk to somebody without any hurry that they left with a big smile saying: see you at happy hour time!!!
The Staff makes the difference but and good establishment do helps!!

See you next time,

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,396 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Property: Hotel David
Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing