We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel David is amazing!”
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel David
Ranked #1 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Hotel David is amazing!”
Reviewed 28 May 2009

We absolutely loved The Hotel David! The staff is awesome, so friendly and always willing to help. From the moment we got there, we knew that we were in good hands. It is so pretty and in a great location! The rooms are spacious with private baths and everything is so clean! They have free breakfast every morning that has something for everyone and a free happy hour every night! All of the staff spoke English which was helpful to us since we didn't speak any Italian. There is also internet and a free mini bar in the rooms! We really loved this hotel and will definitely stay there again the next time we are in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utexasgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 30 May 2009
Dear Guest,

I'm so happy that our guests appreciate all our efforts to make them feel at home. We really hope that you will enjoy all the free services becuase they have been selected simply thining what we would like to find in the hotel when we travel!!

See you next time you will decide to come to Firenze.

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,794
    301
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
622
1,894
79
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

I´ve been to Florence many times. This time I followed trip advisor´s advice and it is absolutly accurate. Worth every penny

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdsantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 27 May 2009
Dear Guest,

I'm happy to see that our marketing rate is well balanced with our services: money for value.....said someone!!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Virginia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

We could not have been more pleased with our stay at Hotel David. Every staff member was friendly, smiling and helpful. The room was very comfortable. The owner, Gabriella, has assembled a great crew and runs an incredibly good establishment which we felt was an excellent value. We enjoyed the complimentary afternoon happy hour and the excellent breakfasts. We will not hesitate to return to Hotel David on our next trip to beautiful Florence.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATravelingVirginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 25 May 2009
Dear Guest,

I thank for your mail it is so pleasent to read that all our efforts are going in the right direction thanks also to your suggestions.

See you next time you come to Florence.

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

My wife and I spend 5 nights at the Hotel David last week and it was terrific. The room was spacious and clean, they even gave us one free mini-bar! Each evening they serve wine and snacks on the patio that the guests greatly enjoy. The staff is extremely courteous and bi-lingual. They made us feel very welcome in a foreign city. Oh yes... the breakfast is not just croissants and juice, they put out a hot breakfast that should suit anyone's wishes. Thanks again Hotel Davis for a wonderful visit to Florence! You were greatly superior to the other hotels we stayed at in Rome and Milan.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dobarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 25 May 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our house, we have worked a lot on our cleaning system that has to be efficent and eco friendly, it is so important that the room is spotless!

Minibar and happy our are 2 of the complimentary services to discover here and it's so pleasent to share different experiences drinking a glass of wine!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

Hotel David offers excellent value for money in an expensive city. Mr Cecione and his staff are very helpful, friendly and work hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The Hotel David experience is not one of staying in a typical ‘chain’ hotel, but rather like an English B & B, with the owner doing his best to please his guests. The hotel is a villa and we stayed with our son, in two adjoining ground floor rooms, which formed a mini suite. The free ‘Mini Bar’ is super & the drinks prices at the hotel are inexpensive. Rooms are large and airy and reasonably well equipped, but retain lots of character and charm. Air conditioning works well, but for a light sleeper, you may hear the units running outside your room at ground floor level, as we did, but apart from that, despite the hotel being at a busy junction, you will rarely hear traffic noise.
The staff will recommend & book excellent restaurants for you (Ristorante Acqua Al 2, Via Della Vigna Vecchia was superb & sensibly priced). The nearby Rosticerria is great value for lunch & take away.
Overall a good place to stay that represents great value.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandJLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 25 May 2009
Dear Guest,

Yes, we are more like an english B&B where the Owner takes personal care of the guest, where things are done to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and all suggestions are given only after our personal experience and your good feedback.

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
185 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

My family & I stayed at this fantastic, little hotel during our recent visit to Italy (April 09). We had a family room (1 large bed and 2 singles for my daughters aged 14 & 16). The room was large, clean and very inviting. The cost included so much that there is not enough room here to mention it here. Easily the best-valued "family room" and accomodation that my family have visited in any place around the world. Top staff (and owner), top food, free parking, walking distance to the city centre. It was so good, that we returned to Hotel David after driving to Venice (as a stop over when driving back to Rome). HIGHLY recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFLLFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Ower at Hotel David, responded to this review, 21 May 2009
Dear Guest,

I'm glad you had good time with your family at the David!! We don't have many family rooms but families are already welcome, it's great fun!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2009

This hotel was a great place to stay. Very helpful staff,and very clean. I would definately recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneNicholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 20 May 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you again for your words of appreciation we will be here next time you decide to come back to visit our city.

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,461 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 422 in Florence
1,196 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 422 in Florence
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 422 in Florence
306 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 422 in Florence
501 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 422 in Florence
2,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Property: Hotel David
Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing