We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel David
Ranked #1 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We stayed at the Hotel David as part of honeymoon through Italy. We booked based on the trip advisor reviews and could not have been happier. We would recommend the Hotel David to anyone looking for a place to stay in Florence.

The hotel and staff are excellent and the breakfast, happy hour, internet and free calls to the states are wonderful benefits.

One warning - if you sit outside during happy hour, please buy mosquito repellent prior.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ejr24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2009

Dear Guest,

Honeymoon what a fantastic occasion to come to Firenze!!! I'm glad you had good time despite the mosquitos that are coming for happy hour too!! This year seems that many couples decided to come to Firenze to spend their honeymoon and so many decided to come to our house........

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,329 - 2,335 of 3,340 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2009

We stayed in the David during our stay in Florence, during which we were married in the city. Not only did the David give us a great romantic room for our stay but they were so accommodating and generous with their hospitality. They allowed for our family to come back to the hotel after the ceremony and spend time in the delightful garden where they did everything to make us all very welcome. They gave us a complimentary bottle of Champagne and we had an enormous bouquet of flowers waiting for us in our room on our return. Michele helped my husband find a florest for a new button hole and then helped his brother get his car going after it broke down in the car park. Then I lost a ring in the plumbing and they went to enormous trouble to get it back. The staff were wonderful, friendly and welcoming and the hotel itself was a delight. We will be back for our anniversaries. Words cannot describe what a great place this is! Thanks again to Michele, Gabriele and the rest of the staff at The David.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markpye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2009

Dear Guest,

How could we never forget you!! We do have many couples who spend part of their honeymoon with us in Firenze but we have only a few couples who decide to get married in Firenze and they were so far the best!! A little problem with a ring in the plunbing but our 74 years old plumber solved it right away!!
See you in one of your next anniversary!!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We stayed at the Hotel David for 4 nights and had a great time. The hotel lived up to all its positive reviews. We had a large family room with a large bed and two twin beds, and a very nice bathroom. The room was clean and tidy, and kept that way throughout our stay. The included breakfast was always a pleasure, as was the evening wine and snacks on the terrace. The hotel is a few long blocks from the historic core of Florence, but the walk is easy. There are many restaurants within a reasonable distance, and a great place for gelatto next door. The best part however was the service. The owners go out of their way to help you out with any needs, phone calls, reservations, tickets and are simply great! Truely a nice place to stay with your family in Florence. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Need4Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2009

Dear Guest,

I'm glad you had good time with us and you appreciate our efforts to make you feel at home!
I hope to see you back any time you decide to come to see our Florence.

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Quick simply, excellent: space to park the car (if a trifle hairy to reverse back out again the next morning); wonderfully attentive reception staff; fantastic value for our stay in a family room; the free mini-bar; even a mosquito plug was provided. Marvellous.

The breakfast -- often not a strongpoint in Italy, but then again why should it be when other mealtimes are so fantastic? -- was also excellent.

Finally, the location: I fail to understand the criticisms made, because it's either an attractive, leisurely 20-minute stroll up the Arno to the Ponte Vecchio, or you can simply hop on one of the frequent buses which'll take you there in a matter of minutes.

Quibbles? Seeing as this is TripAdvisor, I suppose I could mention the somewhat noisy pipe sounds from the shower room next to us. Did it detract from our stay in any way? Hell, no.

Based on our experience, Hotel David is an absolute gem. All four of us can't wait to go back, both to visit more of Florence and return to Hotel David. Grazie mille!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrusselsHornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2009

Dear Guest,

You make me cry!! All the Staff and myself are so involved in what we do that when somedoby gets the meaning of our job we all feel so good!! despite the quibbles that with no doubt are part of the house!!

Thank you to all of you!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights in a quad room. The extra touches were great such as happy hour and a free 10 minute Skype phonecall per day. Our room was very nice but the beds were somewhat hard for our taste. The bathroom was good.
There is a washing machine and tumble drier for guests use. The washer was a real boon but the tumble drier took hours and I would suggest putting your clothes on the racks on the balcony to dry!
Great bus access to the centre of Florence and such helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble.
Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lupinfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2009

Dear Guest,

I'm so glad you took advantage of our freebies and I'm happy you considered our self laundry room a boon even if to be honest our tomble drier is not a professional one and in summer time we prefer to dry the clothes outside in the terrace on the racks!
See you next time you decide to come to see our Firenze!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

We stayed here at the beginging of our vacation before touring further regions of Tuscany. The hotel is superb and ALL the staff are most helpfull. Everything good written about this hotel is so true. We had 2 very young children with us who are rather lively but they were made to feel most welcome. In fact it was so good we changed our arrangements at the end of holiday and returned for a two further days. That in itself should tell you everything. Will return asap

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thecat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2009

Dear Guest,

Traveling with all the family is hard but it's great fun also for us!! Thank you so much for your appreciation and see you next time with your family of course!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We stayed here for five nights on our honeymoon. From start to finish the staf was wonderful: helpful, couteous, friendly....and they consistently went above and beyond what other hotel staff does to make us at home. Breakfast was wonderful a great assortment of hot and cold foods as well as baking. Happy hour was nice down time and the wine and food were always plentiful.
I think the fact that it was a bit out of town allowed us to discover some gems in the way of restaurants and we weren't subjected to the tourist focused ones.
This is a fantastic hotel with a fantastic staff and we would HIGHLY recommend them. I wish they were a chain so that we could stay with them whenever and wherever we travel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank new_leafVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2009

Dear Guest,

Honeymoon! what a wonderful moment in our life!! Anyone want to have good memories of this special trip to talk about!! We have many couples coming here and we just help them to make their trip special and for the end of this season and for the 2010 we have good news for you!!
Thank you for your words of appreciation and we will be here for your anniversary!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 411 in Florence
1,494 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 411 in Florence
3,575 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 411 in Florence
595 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#8 of 411 in Florence
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £111 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing