We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful - romantic, just pure perfection”
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel David
Ranked #1 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful - romantic, just pure perfection”
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Stayed here over 2 years ago but keep thinking about going back.
This hotel is truely amazing.

We got in really late from Pisa airport (flew with Ryanair, which proved annoying tryign to get bus to Florence) but when we got to the hotel, they were so welcoming.
They'd beautiful chocolates and red wine in the room which was so beautiful to receive and set the tone for a beautiful few days there.

The room was huge as others have said and is beautifully decorated.
The breaskfast room was quaint , it is flooded with light and just feels so nice to have your morning cup of tea in. They had a choice of everything you may want for your breakfast.

I can easily say having visisted lots of city breaks that Florence has been the most beautiful and memorable, our experience at he hotel definitely contributed to that.
I would advise anyone to stay there- you will not regret it, but will just regret having to leave as we were!

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AileenDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 21 October 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your "pure perfection" but we are honestly far behind!! but we all give our best efforts to push our limits to make your stay a pleasent as possible.

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,752
    300
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
613
1,866
79
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california girl
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We stayed at Hotel David for 3 nights in August and had a fantastic time!!! It was the culmination of our trip to Italy and before we had to fly back to the States and this place was Pure Heaven to our tired and weary bodies.....Sheer Bliss!!!!!

As a family with young kids(7 & 5) we usually try to stay in a place a littleaway from all the action and Hotel David suited us perfectly. Marco was there to help us check in and he was a mine of info. Chiara was there a few times and both of them were so gracious and helpful and went way beyond their way to make our trip perfect...Thank you!!!!!

We stayed in a quad room and it was roomy and very comfortable and was a refugee in the Florence heat. I dont know if it was because we were already exhausted from our 10 day Tuscany travel or it was the heat outside but we were just so tired and were not at all
in the sightseeing mode. It's probably blasphemous but we didn't go inside the Duomo or Uffizi or do a lot of the "must see's" in FLorence. We were just content to relax in the cool room or pretty garden with our books or kids with their games and Hotel David was perfect for that.

The kids loved it when Marco dropped us off at the Accademia in the cute white Ape shuttle. Breakfast was good but happy hour was great. We spent hours there!!!!
Laundry room is fantastic. Even my husband for the first time in his life enjoyed doing laundry!!!!

The cafe next door had reasonable drinks and food and the rotisseria across the street ad very good stuff to pickup and bring back to the room to eat after a long tiresome day.

All in all I would definitely recommend Hotel David to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank californiagal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 13 October 2009
Dear Guest,

It's often like this we go on holiday and we come back more tired than we left!! I'm happy that this time you have found a place that gives you the feeling to be at home away from home! This is exactly the way we like to run the place and as the evidence people appreciate!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We stayed 5 nights at Hotel David and were so sad to leave. This is truly a little gem in the heart of beautiful florence. our room was huge and absolutely beautiful. the staff were wonderful and added to our whole experience. Breakfast is fabulous. i am already missing the soft cooked eggs. It is like a home away from home. We had internet access and greatly enjoyed the complimentary aperitif [snacks and wine,juice] every evening. [This was also a great chance to meet some other travellers and even get recommendations from them on restaurants - we even went out with 2 other couples]There are great restaurants right nearby and it is just near the beautiful river. we walked nearly everywhere [15 mins to Pont de vecchio ] but there are also buses that run along the river regularly. A taxi from the train station cost us 9 euro [was 18 on way back because of the traffic] and I saw that they have agreed fares to the airport.
the staff are all knowledgeable and go out of their way to help. They can give recommendations and provide maps and organise tours. we did a tour through the hotel to Siena and san gigmane [probably spelt that wrong] and a winery and we could pay the hotel and they gave us directions to get to the bus.
the price is incredibly reasonable and was certainly the best value of our entire europe trip.
We booked direct as I prefer to do that where possible and all emails were promptly answered professionally. I am missing it just talking about it. Oh we also had the biggest bed I have ever seen. Bigger than a king size and also a bath which was wonderful for my tired feet after all the walking.
Rooms are also very quiet with huge double doors and window glazing and shutters.
The little hotel next door has very cheap coffee [about 1.20 euro] etc and great pastries.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zippippilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 12 October 2009
Dear Guest,

When you are sad to leave is a good sign of appreciation and it means that we have given you the right emotions and this is very important!
We all hope you will be back ones you decide to come back to Firenze.

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

If you're going to stay here, know that you will have to walk 10 minutes to get to anywhere worth going. The "shutte" only runs a couple times a day. The hotel is cute from the outside. The rooms fairly basic and outdated (i.e. not my taste). The staff was nice and I enjoyed the nightly happy hours.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STLSteward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 16 October 2009
Dear Guest,

You can leave your walking "shoes" on........
Our distance to the main activities is not a secret to anyone and in many posts on this website but in others too is well marked and one of the reason why we have introduced our Ape calessino shuttle is to please those Guests who usually prefer an Hotel downtown but they like the way we treat our Guests and they book with us. I respect your taste in terms what you said about your room and the outside despite as you can immagine I don't agree.....
I hope that left Florence with good memories despite the the experience you had with us!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We stayed at Hotel David during our honeymoon in May. It was amazing!!! From the fabulous complimentary happy hour to the yummy complimentary breakfast, this was seriously the most perfect addition to our honeymoon. The room was gorgeous. There was free wifi, amazingly helpful staff, and friendly guests. Go there! fast!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bresslertrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Our stay at the Hotel David was truly amazing. Everything about this place was charming and special, in particular the very friendly and welcoming staff. Chiara was just a gem and was so helpful with directions and recommendations. She is a real asset to this hotel.

Our room was just beautiful and so spacious and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the garden. We were excitedly surprised to find a tray wtih champagne and glasses and a card wishing my husband a happy 50th birthday, waiting for us in our room upon our arrival!! We knew straight away that this was going to be a special place to stay.

The hotel facilities, a wonderful breakfast, the free mini-bar, the relaxing sitting rooms together with Happy Hour each evening added to the excellence and charm of this hotel. What a great idea to have a happy hour; it made us look forward to returning to our hotel each night and relax in the garden with a drink or two with fellow travellers.

The fairly easy walk to the historical centre was very pleasurable as you followed the River Arno, and bus stops were in front of the hotel should you not wish to walk.

We just loved our stay at the Hotel David! Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taurus8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 12 October 2009
Dear Guest,

Big happening for this couple from Australia and high expectation too!!
I'm happy to see that everything went in the right way and you had good time with us and you enjoyed our hospitality!!
See you next time but before the 100th anniversary!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Great hotel and everything we expected and more! We did a lot of research before our trip and picked this hotel based on the reviews. It was beautiful, had a friendly professional staff who spoke English, large clean rooms with high ceilings and a great breakfast buffet. The free wireless internet in the rooms and the happy hour were also nice perks. We had a quad room with a balcony with beautiful flowers to sit and enjoy. It was not that far from the center of town but there is a taxi stand right outside the front door. Best of Florence!
Austin, Texas

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azulhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Property: Hotel David
Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing