We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming and quiet”
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel David
Ranked #1 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“charming and quiet”
Reviewed 29 November 2009

Great place to stay in Florence. Good location. Very easy access to bus (across the street) and taxi stand (immediately in front of driveway of hotel). Nice breakfast in the morning. Free happy hour and internet! Laundry facility available. Friendly and helpful staff. Would highly recommend. Bed was pretty firm, however, we were so tired from sight seeing ,we really didn't care! Mini bar in the room. Great locations to some local food too (go visit the Rosticceria across the street! and GiGis Tratoria)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supertravelwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 4 December 2009
Dear Supertravelwoman,

I thank you for you post on this traveler community, I'm very glad you liked our home and you had good time with us concerning our mattrass I reassure that for all of you that "like softer" mattress are available on demand even when you have already checked in!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,747
    300
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
613
1,861
79
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

My husband took me here fo a suprise 30th birthday treat. Florence is beautiful but Hotel David made it extra special. We had a beautiful 4 poster bed in a huge room (very unusual for italy) the bathroom was also quite special. The hotel is a little hidden back off a busy main road but you wouldn't know once you are inside. There is a free mini bar that was full of goodies. A free drink in the evening in the bar. Want to call home, free 10 min call anywhere in the world, free internet access. Nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel was a 15min walk to centre, but buses run out on road in to town if you are a little tired. Breakfast was typically italian- lots of pastries and fresh cakes, yummy. If you want a great break stay here.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salskiBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 30 November 2009
Dear Guest,

I glad we didn't disappoint your expectation!! Sometimes we put so many pressure on an event that we miss to relax and enjoy the trip!! And we are here for this to make you relax and take care of all the problems you might have so that you can concentrate yourself in having fun visiting our wonderfull city.

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blynaugh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

We chose Hotel David because of the TripAdvisor reviews and we were extremely happy with our choice. We stayed for two nights in early November and had a lovely time.

The location is great. It is a good 15 minute walk to the City Centre, but we saw that as a plus. The rooms are good size and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blynaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 28 November 2009
Dear Guest,

The word of mouth still has big power now and in the past, I'm so glad that we didn't disappoint your expectation and I assure you that we are preparing good new things for the year 2010!!

Get ready to come back!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2009

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed it a lot !
Great to have a nice room , good breakfast and parking facilities on the doorstep .
Prima lage und schöne Zimmer ! Parkplatz am Haus .

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sipenholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 26 November 2009
Dear Guest,

We are very happy with our location only 15 minutes from Ponte Vecchio by foot 2 minute with puplic transportation and now in summertime with the Ape Calessino vehicle it's no reason to stay downtown!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland, new zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

As with all our other hotels, we used criteria of our own then looked for appropriate Trip Advisor rankings.Once again, no disappointment!
The people were wonderful right from the moment we stepped inside -Gabriele, Sabatina, Chiara and of course Norina the cat!Nothing was too much trouble.We had a huge room with a four-poster bed, and a large bathroom with a bath for our sore feet after much walking around Firenze.
The hotel has easy access to/ from Santa Maria Novella train station by local bus, which goes frequently.Tickets can be bought at the hotel.
Free internet in room or lounge, free phone call home each night, great breakfast, a proper laundry room for catching up on your washing, and-best of all-aperitifo hour!This is a fantastic way to kick back in the evening, with wine and food, and chat to other travellers about where they've been-great way to get tips on restaurants etc.
Great eatery next door-Caffe Michelangelo-pastries to die for!
The hotel is small enough to be individual, but has everything you need-and their greatest asset is the friendly people who take time to chat to you.
Would absolutely go back, if I am lucky enough to get to Florence again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callinghomekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 19 November 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your post I'm glad you enjoyed our welcome and you had good time with us. We will be at your disposal next time you decide to come to Firenze and I love your title!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

A beautiful and charming hotel set just far enough out of town but not so far as to be a problem. The hotel is perfectly complimented by it's staff, always professional but never less than friendly. You will feel immediately at home and relaxed, the only down side is you might not want to leave to explore the amazing town of Florence. If you are looking for a modern chain hotel then please keep looking and leave this little gem to those who love it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestOpinion170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 19 November 2009
Dear Guest,

Yes you are right !! we are a small family run hotel where people come to work becasue they enjoy it and we very smile oriented!!!
I'm glad you found what you were looking for and I'm honored you are protecting our house like it was yours!!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salvador bahia brazil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2009

I would like to give my opinion about the Hotel David in Florence.
My choice was made by the website Trip adviser, and it were a excellent choice like always.

We pass our wedding anniversary at the hotel, and we were received with champagne and a very kind card.
We also were invited, and all the others guests, for a typical diner fiorentino to celebrate the begging of the season (Autumn).

The Staff from the hotel is extremely kind, gentle and professional. They also ask Portuguese.
The structure is amazing; the decoration is a mix of the new and old times.

The distance from the hotel to the Ponte Vecchio is not much. Takes around 10 min, and it’s a very beautiful walk near Lake Arno. We take several nice photos while we were on the way. There is also the possibility of take bus, what makes the trip even faster to the historic center, and the bus ticket is very cheap.

We recommend to everyone the Hotel David, and when we return to Firenze we will always stay where.


Marcos e Simone Machado

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcosmachado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 14 November 2009
Dear Madam Sir Machado,

I thank you for coming first and for all the words of appreciation you wrote about us. I'm happy too that when you come we had the dinner with all Guests so you could experence how is a dinner with friends in Firenze!! I really hope to see you back here in Firenze in the early future.....

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,440 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Property: Hotel David
Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing