We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel David
Ranked #2 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We wanted to break our journey from Rome to Lake Garda up with an overnight stay in Florence. We selected this hotel based on the reviews in this web site and were not disappointed. We booked two rooms, one for my wife and I and another for our 3 teenage sons and we had a lovely stay here. The staff were friendly, the hotel is lovely and it was walking distance into Florence along the river. Great overnight stay at a good rate. We would definitely visit here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianBooth67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2010

Dear Guest,

I'm glad to see that you found our place convenient for visiting Florence and I'm glad you were not disappointed!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,252)
There are newer reviews for Hotel David
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,088 - 2,094 of 3,252 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2010

They welcomed us very friendly and gave all the information on the map about the sights to see and places to eat. They also offered a free mini-bar. It seems slightly far to the historic center but the buses are very frequent and they depart just in front of the hotel. Everyone was so helpful and was my favourite in Italy. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkturgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2010

Dear Couple,

Thank you for choosing Hotel David for your honeymoon I'm glad you have a good memories to carry with you and I'm hored to be part of this!
We have had since a couple of years really a lot of Guests coming for their honeymoon and altough their expenctations were high we had really good feedbacks so it's time to get married!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Had a lovely 2 night stay here (though could have stayed a lot longer). We had flown in to Pisa and were heading off in to the Chianti area for 3 nights after Florence so we chose this place largely due to the free parking, as well as the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor.

We absoloutely loved it here - so cosy, welcoming and helpful. Rooms spotless, well equipped and charaterful. Lovely buffet style breakfast with smiley service. Not the most central location but accessible by car as mentioned, and a nice walk through Oltrarno to the historic centre (buses also available though we didn't use them). Plus we quite liked escaping the tourist hoardes and seeing the young Florentines out and about in the area.

Thanks to all at Hotel David for making our stay so enjoyable. We hope to return in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkpnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2010

Dear Guest,

Yes I agree 2 nights for Florence is too short but it's good anyway, you have seen a lot and you realized there is lot to see so you know you will be back and we will be there!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

This is a lovely hotel on the outskirts of Florence. It is very service oriented. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaMacalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2010

Dear Guest,

I'm so happy you enjoyed our hospitality and you had good time at the David we will work hard to give you new services for the season 2011 so that next time you will be with us you will find something new!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We spent 2 days here and it was unforgettable. This was the best hotel we ever stayed in Italy. The hotel which is a converted mansion is 15 minutes away from the city center by walking along the river Arno. It has a private garden and free parking space is available. This hotel makes you feel that you are a family guest, not a costumer. The room was spacious and full of antiques which is a plus. We didnt here any noise in the evening and it is fantastic to hear birds singing in the morning. Free internet which is fast and free minibar are adding values. But the most important aspect is the staff. Chiara was amazing. She did her best for an unbelieveable stay. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balalayka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2010

Dear Guest,

There is nothing better for an hotelier to have his Guests happy for their sojour they have spent! All the efforts in low season to set the organization give the final result with the posts of the people who post important feedbacks of the value of the hotel and this is what makes us so focussed on our job! Thank you!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

This Hotel was charming, friendly staff, spacious clean room and secure parking at the front door. Happy hour between 6.30 - 8.00pm, free wine and nibbles. Free mini bar in room. Breakfast was nice too. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rozitis_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2010

Dear Guest,

You are right! It's always hard to find a place where the Staff is helpful and nice, the rooms are good and services are many and free and on top the rate are fair....

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

This is one of the best small hotels we've ever stayed in. Excellent location only a short distance from the Ponte Veccio, lovely bedrooms and public rooms and above all a welcoming and efficient staff.
It is family-owned and this shows in every aspect of the hotel services. A highlight of each day was an early evening snack/buffet with wine in the hotel gradens, an opportunity to relax and chat with other guests.
A real gem of a hotel and well-deserving of the high ratings with Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silver70s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2010

Dear Guest,

I'm very happy you liked our location and you enjoyed and the 10/15 minutes walk to the main attractions. The happy hour in the evening is a nice occasion to share your experiences with other travellers and with us!.

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#11 of 411 in Florence
3,520 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 411 in Florence
1,362 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#3 of 411 in Florence
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#14 of 411 in Florence
523 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,812 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £117 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing