We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service was wonderful and the location unbeatable!”
Review of Hotel Gioia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gioia
Ranked #155 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Two things really stood out about this place: one, the location. It was so close to the town center than whenever we needed something--band-aids for our feet, a scarf, spare batteries for the camera, etc.--it was possible due to the proximity of the hotel. It was an easy five minute walk from everywhere we were and made our time that much more flexible and relaxed. The second thing that stood out was the service. In the afternoons, weary from our day of walking around, we could relax in the cozy living-room-lobby and the hotel provided a lovely tea and coffee service, free of charge. On yet another night (or perhaps the same), we decided to have dinner in, so got a takeway pizza (from a great place they recommended) and by the time we returned with the pizza and a bottle of red wine, they had set a table for us and our little picnic, complete with plates and utensils and glasses for our wine, AND they cleaned up after us when we were done, which was really unexpected. It was these sorts of little touches all weekend that made this place great. It was so warm and welcoming, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharona_selby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

Florence is compact and this hotel is ideal not more than 20 mins from all main attractions.
The staff at all times are very friendly and helpful, indeed at 6.40 one morning as we were waiting for our tour bus we were offered coffee.
The lift beside the stairs dont miss it its great.
The room was superb and a pleasure to call home every night.
It was spacious and bright and the bathroom was spotless.
If we go back to Florence we will stay at Hotel Gioia again.
Both my wife and I would like to say a big thank you to all for making our stay very pleasent indeed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Gconballyroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Stayed here in June for 2 nights. On arrival I felt there was a strange atmosphere about the hotel, I did not feel comfortable staying there, ive never felt that about a hotel ever! The hotel is right next to a serial killer museum. The staff were ok, but reminded me a bit of faulty towers. The hotel itself is scruffy and needs painted and new carpets etc, but the room was fine and clean. There were cameras everywhere, outside my room was a map of where all the cameras are in the hotel, felt a bit like big brother watching over, there is also an alarm in the bathroom to pull on, which ive never seen in a hotel before. The breakfast was basic 1 cereal, bread rolls and jams, teas and coffees. The location of the hotel is great - a few minutes walk to the market, the Duomo and the Accademia gallery (where the statue of david is). All in all I would not return to this hotel, there seemed to be nicer hotels close by. I would not recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayFreakxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

This hotel was in a great position for walking around Florence. The rooms were tired and small and the breakfast was average. The staff were all very friendly and restaurant recommendations excellent. The window in our room opened to a courtyard with about 5 other airconditioner units so it was a mass of noise and hot air being pumped around, A room overlooking the street would certainly be worth asking for if staying here.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Great experience and the friendliest staff in Europe for us. Hotel is a stone's throw from the city centre.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bparks12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Hotel is just 50metres from the duomo. Very easy to find. Clean and basic room. Hotel has lift and free wifi. Stayed only for one night and everything went fine.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vafirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Overall this is a great little hotel, about a five minute walk from the Doumo, close to bars, restaurants, markets and museums. A perfect base to explore Firenze from! What was really nice was that on arrival we were offered our choice of 3 rooms. Staff were very friendly and helpful - one glitch though was that no iron is available, with the vague excuse that it was a fire risk. I found this very strange and inconvenient, especially as I was in the city for a wedding! Apart from that we enjoyed the hotel - our room faced the rear and was very quiet, fairly spacious, very clean with A/C. Breakfast was ok, just coffee, croissants, bread and cheese really, but enough to fill the belly and set you off on your way to explore the city! One tip - if you get a first floor room (reception level) you can access the free wi-fi from your room, otherwise it's only available in public areas.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomtastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#124 of 410 in Florence
622 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#88 of 410 in Florence
415 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#138 of 410 in Florence
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#137 of 410 in Florence
666 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#194 of 410 in Florence
299 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Desiree
Hotel Desiree
#168 of 410 in Florence
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gioia

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 25, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#150 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £54 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gioia 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Gioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gioia Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing