We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gioia
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
US$603
US$572
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$317
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
NH Firenze Anglo American(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Degli Orafi(Florence)
US$396
US$321
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Orcagna Hotel(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$159
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$970
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa(Florence)
US$638
US$485
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$364
US$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$298
US$274
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Davanzati(Florence)
US$357
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveller rating
169
213
70
18
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
213
70
18
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvia cavourgreat locationtrain stationfirst floorbreakfast spreadfree wifihistoric florenceminute walk from the duomowalking distancethe heart of the citynice roomcentral locationon footgiuliasitescheesesupermarket
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 474 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights end of March. The location is excellent, by stepping out of the hotel you can practically see the Duomo's entrance. Train station and most of other monuments are 5-10 minutes walking.
The hotel is simple but friendly. At the reception you get maps, adapters and always with a smile on the staff's face.
Our two rooms were far larger than expected. It seemed to be clean, heating was working although end of March. Wifi is also available and working well. Do not expect a fancy room but you will anyway not spend your time in the hotel room in such a beautiful city.
Breakfast is rather simple but at least you get a stong italian coffee. It is just enough to start the day and you will not resist the paninis and ice creams you see everywhere on the street so no stress.

Room Tip: We had rooms 62 and 64. You have to follow a labyrinth to get there but 64 is very spacious. Both rooms overlook the internal court and are very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hn_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed in Hotel Gioia from March 20th - 23rd. When we arrived at the hotel, someone was waiting to greet us and help us bring our bags upstairs which was nice.

Because we had 3 people staying in each room - we were given the two biggest rooms in the hotel on the 3rd floor (really the 4th floor, since floor 1 starts on the 2nd floor). The rooms were very large even by American standard, not typical of a European room size.

The hotel though looks like it could use a renovation. Things feel old, and not in a good way.

Service was relatively good - though we didn't have to ask too many questions of anyone working there, we didn't have any issues.

The WiFi Internet is frustrating to use - they print out a receipt with a username and password on it that you must enter every time you join the network and want to use the Internet. To make it more frustrating, there's a time limit to how long you can stay connected to the network - and once you've used it up - you need to ask for a new receipt. For some reason - they issued me 3 receipts, 2 of them were for an hour worth of Internet access and the other was for 24 hours. It would have been a lot easier from a usability perspective if they just had a regular WiFi password or used a system by which you type in your name and room number instead of a random username and password.

As a seasonal allergy sufferer, air conditioning is often my saving grace for sleeping through the night - but at the Hotel Gioia, the A/C is completely turned off until April - meaning you need to open the windows to get any kind of cool air - and led to nothing but sleepless nights for me. Closing the windows made the room feel stuffy and it was just as hard to try to sleep. For anyone with seasonal allergies - stay away from the Hotel Gioia!

Also - if you do open the windows, be prepared for it to be NOISY outside. Via Cavour is a noisy street and even being higher up - we could hear people talking on the street all throughout the night. There are also no screens on the windows - so if you open the windows - bugs can easily come in.

The bathroom in the room we stayed was small - the shower had little room to maneuver and the temperature changed greatly while you were taking a shower. It could go from freezing cold to scalding hot without ever touching the temperature. Also - I noticed there were blood stains on the tile grout in the shower - pretty gross.

Breakfast seemed to be pretty normal - bread with some butter, yogurt and cereal. Nothing special - and it got old pretty quick.

Location wise, the Hotel Gioia is in a great spot. It is close to the Duomo and short walks get you to most of the museums. We didn't need to take public transportation at all - everything was within a short walk - mainly because Florence isn't a very big city at least most of the touristy places are close by.

Overall - I probably wouldn't stay at the Hotel Gioia again, I think I'd try to find somewhere a little bit nicer and especially if I return during allergy season - I would want to find somewhere that offered air conditioning!

Room Tip: If you can get one of the larger rooms on the 3rd floor - they are at least bigger.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We just took another occasion to spend one night in Florence staying at the Gioia (see my previous review) and it was like coming home :-)
The friendly staff recognized us from the previous stay and really made us feel at home away from home including very helpful suggestions for dining and shopping.
Room and location were as good as in my prevous review.

We will return for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uhabegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Having taken a city break toFlorence, we accepted the hotel which came with the package - it turned out to be exactly what we needed. We had a large, pleasant, warm and very quiet room with comfortable beds; the staff were friendly and helpful; best of all, we were within easy walking distance of everything we wanted to see, The hotel is about fifteen minutes walk from the station, and that includes stops to consult the map, three or four minutes walk from the Duomo and five or six minutes in one direction from the Uffizi and in the other direction from the Academy. The Continental breakfast was adequate. We had no need to use public transport at all while we were there, and it was nice to be able to take a stroll as far as the river after dinner, without having to worry about transport home. We have plans to go back to Florence some time soon, and will be very happy to book the same hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Londonhr-g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed here with my daughter and a friend one night in 2011. Very friendly staff, great breakfast, pleasant room. Very easy to walk to from the train station, did take about 15-20 mins for us to find it, but that could be us and reading directions. Easy to walk around to the sights of Florence from this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuskerKusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews