We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent budget hotel in great location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Gioia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gioia
Ranked #168 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
La Plata, Maryland
Level Contributor
400 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Decent budget hotel in great location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Hotel Gioia was a decent find for a late booking during the high tourist season. I chose it because I planned several day trips outside Florence. The hotel is about a 10- to 15-minute walk from the Santa Maria Novella train station and two blocks away from the Duomo. All the staff in the lobby were very friendly and helpful. Other "pros" here include free wi-fi and a good breakfast. The proper French-style croissants are especially tasty.

I was a bit disappointed in Hotel Gioia's dingy entry hall, but I guess avoiding scuff marks is next to impossible with so many luggage-toting visitors. Thankfully, they do have a small elevator to get to the lobby on the 2nd floor (in American speak). I booked a single, and the room was a bit small and dark, though the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very large (with a tub) and clean. Unfortunately, I could hear neighbors showering and hairdryers through the walls. While my air conditioner cooled the room, it also made a fair amount of noise. I didn't complain because it didn't keep me from sleeping, but it might matter to others. My biggest disappointment was that I could not use my international calling card from the phone in the room, which is limited to Florence calls only. I was told I could use the phone on the lobby desk, a less-than-ideal solution with no privacy. The only other alternative, a public phone, is much more expensive & uses up credits much faster. I found out the hard way.

Overall, Hotel Gioia is a decent budget hotel in a great location. Although it was a good value, I probably won't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffy_Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    188
    60
    18
    4
See reviews for
73
193
37
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Hotel is in the perfect location, about a 2 minute walk from the piazza duomo!! Hotel is clean, comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is nice; cereals, ham and cheese, pate, croissants snd good coffee. they have unlimited free wifi which is great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unaoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed here with my husband from 12th June - 15th June.Centrally located for sightseeing this hotel filled our requirements. Rooms are good sizing, basic,but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good and adequate-Pasquale makes a good cappuccino ! Tiziano and staff are very warm,friendly and knowledgeable. Very good value for money, would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We chose this hotel last-minute on our trip to Florence. The street side is busy but safe and the staff is friendly, helpful and kind. The rooms are spacious, clean and include relatively-decent WiFi and television in a few languages.

A decent experience for the money and the staff really made it worth the stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aryder91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

The hotel is located within easy walking distance to the major tourist attractions in Florence. The rooms are basic, comfortable and clean. Although located on a busy street the noise from the street was minimal. The staff was very friendly, had good tips for places to eat, how to get around and ordering taxis when needed. I had paid more for similar hotels so I found the charge for the room very reasonable for Florence.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Had to change hotels at the last minute and this was what I could find on short notice. Not sure how three stars were awarded.

Sure, it is close to the major sights but then most everywhere in Florence is.

Rooms on the Cavour street side will be noisy

You can do better.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank neesied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

A warm 'molte grazie' to the staff who were very friendly and most accommodating. They certainly helped to make my first visit to Florence a wonderful experience.
Typical Italian breakfast was good and plentiful.. (yogurt, croissants, fruit, coffee, tea, espresso, juice, spreads, etc.). Coffee was the most delightful part of my breakfast. My room was spacious and the bed quite comfortable.
Florence is indeed a compact walking city but this location can't be beat! I was so surprised to see the Duomo literally, 'right down the street'. So many major sights/museums within 5-10 minutes walk (and I'm a 'senior'). I could easily come back to the hotel to drop off my jacket/packages as the day warmed up.
I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artistone23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#79 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#85 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#126 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Hotel Relais Il Cestello
Hotel Relais Il Cestello
#157 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Desiree
Hotel Desiree
#160 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Giglio
Hotel Giglio
#136 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gioia

Property: Hotel Gioia
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 25, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#150 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gioia 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gioia Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing