We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with beautiful views”
Review of Principe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Principe Hotel
Ranked #211 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Columbus
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming hotel with beautiful views”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We spent 4 nights in September here and enjoyed our stay immensely - would not hesitate to recommend the Hotel Principe. The rooms are large, have incredibly high ceilings with very nice amentities. Although our room overlooked the lovely garden in the back, the views from the front door when we walked out were amazing, right across the street from the Arno. The hotel is located slightly west of most central part of Florence but is convenient to very nice trattorias and very peaceful. Not at all a problem walking to most locations. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    101
    37
    11
    5
See reviews for
52
153
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We loved our stay in this hotel. Our room was very spacious and decorated in a way that emphasised both the size of the room and the height of the old ceilings. The long windows, with long curtains, looked out onto the garden which was small but elegant. The bathroom was huge with the overwhelming sense of style and marble! The staff were incredibly helpful and also courteous, combining both skills in a way that is very rare in my experience. The food was good at breakfast (they dont do other meals).
It took 10 minutes to walk to the centre of Florence and it was a beautiful walk alongside the river. It is not a modern hotel but that was it's charm and for us was absolutely perfect and we loved every moment.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonHopeful2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Overall I enjoyed my stay at this hotel, and appreciated the reception's recommendation of nearby Trattoria Armando for dinner, which was excellent and very welcoming of me as a solo diner.

However my stay was marred by a strong smell of cigarette smoke throughout the hotel and in my supposedly non-smoking room. It permeated all my clothes and I could still smell it when I unpacked at my next destination. I realise that smoking is very common in Italy, but this was very off-putting.

I was in a single room on the 3rd floor & the wall to the next room was very thin. People arrived late at night to the room next door & I could hear their entire conversation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KaliNZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We arrived in Florence with no hotel reservation and expected to be able to wander into our hotel of choice and stay. How wrong we were! We ended up going to the Tourist Information Office and were booked into the Hotel Principe for one night. The hotel is well-located and we were lucky to be given a room overlooking the river (sadly dredging work was going on at the time) but the real bonus was that we had a balcony that was lovely in the evening. Hotel Principe is classed as a 4 star hotel and the service is very good (including a turn down service at night) but we felt that our room (top floor) was small and rather tired for the price with quite a few out-dated features. 20 years ago the hotel would have been top of its class but it hasn't quite kept up with the times in terms of its amenities. The bathroom was adequate but shower pressure very poor. It was all clean and breakfast was a really pleasant service, in a beautiful breakfast room.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The hotel is located near the river towards the outer area of Florence's historic district, but still within short walking of all the sights. We were welcomed by a very friendly and helpful staff. The room was fairly big and had a also a large bathroom. All of the rooms were decorated in old-world style wall paper, furnishings, and marble (bathroom). Our room was quiet and had a view to the rear backyard, which displays a lovely garden. Breakfast was included (and of great variety). Overall I can highly recommend this hotel to the discerning Florence visitor!

Room Tip: The rear rooms are quiet, while the front rooms have views to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorenceTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My colleague and I stayed in Florence for one night at the Principe whilst visiting a tradeshow in September. We found the hotel on a search for places that could offer a balcony (as I am a smoker) AND wifi, to allow us to connect to our business emails. Fortunately the hotel has 22 rooms, 14 of which have balconys, we were told. I have found too often that hotels can advertise that 'some rooms have balconys' but very few are prepared to confirm this at the booking stage. The 'Principe' did confirm to us that we would each have balconys.

It is always a worry that the pictures you see on the web, do not live up to the reality. But when we got there, we couldn't have been happier. We each had a balcony, my colleagues' single room looked out over the hills of the surrounding country side with a fabulous view of La Duomo. My balcony was more of a terrace infact, seperated from the room next door's terrace by a plant entwined trellis. Two people could have easily laid out on towels on the floor and sunbathed quite happily had they so wished to do so. I had actually been upgraded to a double room on the top floor looking out over the Arno - room 42. My room had a mini bar, flat screen TV, and private bathroom that was clean and kitted out with all the little bits and pieces you would expect, soap, shampoo, shower cap etc. The wifi also had a strong connection on our floor, which was great.There was air conditioning, a safe and plenty of hangers and extra bed covers should I have wanted to use them in the large cupboard. I stayed at the Gansevoort Hotel in New York once, at a much greater expense, I might add, yet my double room in Florence at the 'Principe' was so much larger! Its so good to have the space to walk around your double bed rather than have to shuffle sideways between the bed and the wall, which it felt like at the Gansevoort. Give me substance over 'style' anyday.

Anyway back to the Principe, I called for my continental breakfast to be delivered to my room in the morning and just savoured the view, sitting at the pretty table and chairs provided on the terrace. If you want a cooked breakfast you have to dine downstairs.

What more can you want on a business trip? The staff were lovely and polite and the desk staff all spoke very decent english. It might have been nice if I could of had a small cafetiere of coffee or the like, on my breakfast tray rather than just one cup of cappucino, but otherwise I thought it was all fantastic value for money. And would have been happy to have stayed there longer given the chance.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireChantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We loved our stay here! Great location right on the river and within close walking distance to all the major sites. (Short taxi ride to train station.) We had 3 rooms in our group--- 3 big suites and they were all very clean, modern and awesome. Buffet breakfast was great and very typical of our stay in Italy (yogurt, granola, juice, meats and cheeses, etc. chef will also make an omelet too.) Giorgio was very helpful with everything and gave us a great restaurant choice around the corner---il Profeta. Great place and great food!!! Roof top terrace offers great 360 degree views of Florence. Found this place after extensive research on trip advisor and wasn't disappointed. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay here anytime if I'm back in Florence.

Room Tip: All the suites were wonderful but the river suite with a balcony overlooking the Arno RIver and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#241 of 411 in Florence
418 reviews
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#181 of 411 in Florence
200 reviews
Hotel Della Robbia
#198 of 411 in Florence
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Classic Hotel
#224 of 411 in Florence
179 reviews
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#233 of 411 in Florence
596 reviews
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
#119 of 411 in Florence
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Principe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Principe Hotel

Property: Principe Hotel
Address: Lungarno Amerigo Vespucci 34, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#96 Family Hotel in Florence
#99 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#104 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Principe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Principe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing