We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One great night in Florence with the family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Principe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Principe Hotel
Ranked #208 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One great night in Florence with the family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Great location along the Arno River with about 10-15 minute walk to everything....perfect for our family! We had one large room with a king and two twins at a reasonable price!! A wonderful old style hotel with amazing front desk service!! Everyone who assisted us went above and beyond! From helping with directions, parking, getting us waters, etc....Also appreciated the free parking(be careful which streets you drive your car into Florence!), free internet and breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milodna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    99
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
52
147
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel with old character but charming.
Perfect location by the river about 1-2 km walking to all interesting sites.
Good breakfast and there own locked parking space. TV only with Italian channels, but who's her to watch tv anyway.
Friendly English speaking staff.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bengan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My spouse and I stayed here in June 2014 and loved it. The staff was very accommodating, helpful and consistently cordial. This positive atmosphere, along with other aspects of the hotel, made it our favorite accommodation on our trip. We stayed for 12 nights and found the location to be ideal for our purposes. The proximity to main attractions and the Oltrarno area were exactly what we wanted. The location is distant enough from the busiest, most touristy areas of the city (so that one can escape the hustle-bustle), yet close enough to walk to those areas when we chose to. Perhaps a 10-minute walk along the Arno to Ponte Vecchio. Since it is situated on the road that lies adjacent to the river, we were able to enjoy beautiful strolls day and night. The area surrounding the hotel feels very safe, even after dark. Within two blocks of the hotel we found a bank with ATM, self-service laundry, and gellateria, all essentials to good travel.
Our room was on the backside of the hotel on the top floor. There are other rooms overlooking the Arno, though we were perfectly happy with the view from the outdoor balcony connected to our room, which looked north toward a panorama of the city. This included a clear view of Il Duomo and Giotto's Campanile. The bells of Il Duomo could be heard throughout the day. Rolling Tuscan hills could be clearly seen in the distance beyond the city view. We found the room to be very quiet. It was spacious enough that we didn’t feel cramped, and the bathroom was quite adequate with a tub/shower and large stained-glass window that let in plenty of light. My only complaint about the room is that it was a little tricky to shower, as the shower head could not be directed to avoid having water splash out onto the floor. A large puddle would often develop. It was a minor problem that could be completely avoided by taking a bath instead of a shower, which we often did.
The décor throughout the hotel seems somewhat Rococo and is appropriate for the overall style of the building. Breakfast was quite good, with plenty of standard choices. The very-accommodating young men that work the hotel will make fresh cappuccino &/or cook eggs at your request. My spouse enjoyed the atmosphere of the breakfast room and food choices so much that it was sometimes difficult to get her out of there in the morning and on our way to adventures in Florence.
We could not have asked for a better experience than the one we had in Florence and at this hotel. Excellent!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a beautifull old period hotel , so well maintained and run. We too felt so comfortable there, and treated as family. The staff were excellent and very helpful. The breakfasts really nice. Location is just great, 2 minutes walk to the city centre, and railway station. Definitely stop there again.
Ian &Maree

Room Tip: All rooms are well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Please don't go by their description of rooms or the pictures. I got a room that was pushed as one with a heritage touch but was just plain ramshackle. Got a better room when I protested. So please check before you settle in. The so called garden is lame and you would not want to sit there. Breakfast and staff is decent but the owner can be quite nasty. When settling the bill, I saw that I had been charged for in-room coffee service for about 5-6 times during the stay whereas it was just once that we had asked for it. When pointed out, the owner snapped at me, saying whenever he had passed through my room he had seen coffee trays outside my room! He finally revised the bill after I threatended him that I am going to go public with his approach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

There is nothing bad I can say about this hotel. Family owned and operated and from the moment you arrive you are treated as family! The room we had was spacious (and I was told it was not the biggest one they had) and had a balcony with a beautiful view of the river. Walking distance to all attractions, and delicious breakfast spread (they will also make you eggs or an omelet if you ask). My husband and I would definitely stay here again if/when we return to Florence!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is the kind of place that is exactly what you want a Florence hotel to be.. The staff is so gracious and try's to accommodate your every need. The rooms are spacious and super clean. I think the idea that it's family owned makes a huge difference. If you're looking for a chain hotel, don't expect that. As Florence continues to change this is a gracious reminder of what it was and still should be

Room Tip: I like the view of the Arno
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Della Robbia
#198 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#249 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#229 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#192 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Classic Hotel
#222 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#22 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Principe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Principe Hotel

Property: Principe Hotel
Address: Lungarno Amerigo Vespucci 34, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#96 Family Hotel in Florence
#99 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#102 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Principe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Principe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing