We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hospitality, comfy rooms, outstanding breakfasts, great location!”
Review of Hotel Privilege

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Privilege
Ranked #159 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, OH
1 review
“Superb hospitality, comfy rooms, outstanding breakfasts, great location!”
Reviewed 31 August 2009

The Hotel Privilege owners (Emanuele and Barbara) are incredibly nice and helpful. We felt that they were sincerely concerned about assisting us with any requests or questions, and that made us feel very much at ease. Privilege's location on the Arno River is scenic, as well as convenient for walking to sightseeing attractions. The breakfast buffet is outstanding, with a sumptuous variety of foods, and great coffee. Our bed was comfortable, as was the temperature in the room. The bathroom was spacious and clean. Our only remark about the furnishings is that a few items look dated/worn, and we consider that to be a very minor problem. All things considered, this is a great place to stay at a reasonable cost!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKE49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    130
    34
    8
    8
See reviews for
74
179
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

My wife and I were traveling Tuscany during July 2009. We had become accustomed to small rooms, small beds and very small toilets throughout Italy.
The Hotel Privilege (a small Boutique Hotel) had King beds, Large bathrooms, large showers and acceptable sized rooms. The owners Barbara & Emanuel were very accommodating.
Hotel Privilege secure valet parking (20 euro) is well worth the cost. Emanuel even had our rental Fiat washed for us. This was a gesture not a request by us. Incredible.
The Hotel Privilege Tuscany is located on the Arno River walking distance to most everything including a 10 min walk to the Ponte Vecchio bridge.
Hotel Privilege Breakfast was much better than most 3 stars in Italy.
Internet connection is available on request. Not WIFI but plug in. Still, this is much better than every other hotel we stayed in throughout Italy.
Hotel Privilege runs about 85-90 euros.
Will be staying with them again no doubt. Soon I hope!
www.hotelprivilege.it

Steve Cathy
Victoria Canada

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esteph_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Hotel Privilege was the roomiest of all the Italian Hotels we stayed at and had the best breakfast. The breakfast comprised of sooo much stuff: cereal, yogurt, granola, hard boil eggs, ham, salami, tomatoes, grapes, pineapples, watermelon, croissants, bread rolls, etc... They also have delicious coffee, orange juice, etc.

The owners were so nice and helpful too. They provided maps, directions, advice, and even let me know when my mom called the hotel from California. Plus they have free internet!

Their bathroom is interesting. It was the type where there is no tub, or shower stall, but a shower head, shower curtain, drain, toilet, sink, etc all in one. We stayed in Room 107 and it was clean and the AC worked well.

The location is right by the river that leads up to the Ponte Vecchio, so it was always easy to find. However, it was a little far from the center, about 20 minutes. However, it was a nice walk for us and everything else about the hotel made it totally worth staying there. We would stay there again and would recommend others to stay there as well.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raraSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2009

In an expensive Florence, where you have to assume every hotel has in practice one less star then they advertise (and where high prices dont mean quality) , the Privilege is a rare place, where its 3 star rating is closer to 4 stars, by international standards. If you can get a room at a 3 star price (not always the case) it is easily the best value for a comfortable stay in this city.

The desk staff is both welcoming and professional and the rooms spacious and comfortable, with a breakfast almost a 4 star standard. The hotel is located by the Arno and a 5-10 minute walk away from all the main historical buildings. You can get there quickly and cheaply from the train station by bus (there's a stop in front of the hotel, without changing).

After a bad experience in another place the Privilege quickly set our trip on a good track again and we would recommend for all who wish something better than a shabby pension but dont' want to pay too much for their stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NunoOliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portugal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

First of all we were very well received by the hosts, who were very helpful and nice. This gave us a good impression from the beggining.

We ended up staying there because the hotel we booked initially was so, so bad, that we had to leave.
We chose Hotel Privilege because of the good reviews and now we can confirm that they were correct.

Service is great, rooms are big and clean, breakfast is very good.
I would say this is a perfect 3 star hotel.

If you're walking from the train station, the hotel is a bit far, but regarding the city, it is very well located. Close to all the major attractions, but apart from all the tourist mess.

I would definitely recommend it, because, in Florence, a good hotel is very hard to find, and this is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LP__NYC_00
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2009

As other reviewers have mentioned, this hotel is very close to all the major attractions in Florence and is right along the Arno River. So the view is great, it is close to everything you need, and at the same time nice and peaceful for a good night's sleep. The two hotel hosts couldn't be more wonderful - they are not only enormously helpful and speak English very well, but they make sure you have the best stay. The rooms are very comfortable and have all the amenities you need, and every morning, the breakfast consists of fresh food and a wonderful selection of breads, meats, and cheeses. (And, if you're lucky and have a chance to try the hosts cooking, it is an incredible Tuscan treat!)

I look forward to going back to Florence, soon with my family and not just for business, and will absolutely look to stay at Hotel Privilege.

I think the combination of the hosts and their truly wonderful service makes this not just a unique and special hotel - but a place that you can return to time and time again and know that you will have a excellent stay, much like you would staying with old friends.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LP_NYC_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

I would like to agree with the majority of the other reviewers on here. This is a nice hotel with extremely helpful owners. They have an excellent command of the English language. They are very proud of their city and being Florentines they are very knowledgeable. We had a three night stay and ate at three of the four recommended restaurants. All three were very good and we missed out on the fourth by not booking.

Breakfast in the hotel was above average.

The location is very good just a short distance along the river from the Ponte Vecchio and Uffizi. There is some traffic noise at times but we did not find it too troublesome.

The Privilege should be considered if visiting the great city of Florence.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sb4132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#91 of 411 in Florence
859 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Arizona
Hotel Arizona
#142 of 411 in Florence
431 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Giglio
Hotel Giglio
#138 of 411 in Florence
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piazzale Michelangelo
Hotel Silla
Hotel Silla
#64 of 411 in Florence
1,232 reviews
Hotel Rosary Garden
#136 of 411 in Florence
429 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Home Florence
Hotel Home Florence
#96 of 411 in Florence
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Privilege? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Privilege

Property: Hotel Privilege
Address: Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia 26, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Florence
#125 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#131 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Privilege 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Privilege reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Privilege Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing