We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talk about dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Conference Florentia Hotel
Ranked #356 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

For a brand property, the Sheraton Firenze is a let-down. The only positive I could find for this hotel was the location. It's close to the Incisa outlet mall and the city which is probably what generates most of its guest base, because it sure isn't for the decor. The dated look and feel of the hotel struck me upon first arrival, it was like stepping back into eighties America and I just didn't like it. It's not elegant or modern in any way and just feels tired and dark. The rooms also reflect this feel and as such weren't welcoming or anything to look forward to. We didn't find the staff that friendly which was disappointing but they did fulfil our requests as required.

We definitely wouldn't stay again unless it was at a very cheap rate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zteu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

Service: Helpful staff but you wouldn't see anything impressive.
Location: Definitely not in the city center. The last shuttle from the city center to the hotel is at 9.30 pm so you don't get to enjoy the city after that time unless you take a taxi or rent your own car. And I should add that the city center is just adorable after dark.
Rooms: Nothing extremely disturbing but the rooms are definitely in a worse condition than what you would expect from the Sheraton name.
Internet: You can access the internet for free only by using the hotel's computers down at the lobby. The charge for using the internet on your own device costs over 10 euros per day.
Breakfast: The standard breakfast buffet didn't lack the things you would find in a regular continental breakfast buffet but also didn't have anything additional. One of the breakfast rooms (the one used by tour groups) was very dirty and nothing but very very minimal breakfast items were served in this room (croissants, jam, cereal, smelly old weird cheese).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irises2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed here because the points were low so I guess I should have expected what I got. The room was sized ok but that is as far as it goes.No air.No windows that open more then 2", one straight back wooden chair , hotel shuttle that ran at very inconvient times and taxi fares of 25-35 e to go anywhere including a local restaurant 12 min away.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elliott g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Looking on the positive side, almost every room has a fantastic view of the Chianti hills, typical Tuscan buildings on hilltops, and rolling landscapes. On the downside, the building is an embarrassing abomination that should never have been built. Inside, rooms are typical Sheraton, large and bland, but fittings are a bit worn and dilapidated. Breakfast is OK, staff are reasonably pleasant and the price is very good. It is about 20 minutes from Florence centre, and right in the edge of (in fact just inside) the Chianti area. If you turn right out of the hotel and keep driving, in about 20 minutes you will find yourself deep in the Chianti countryside; Grossetto, Imprunetta etc. You will find lots of good restaurants there but you can also find good food nearer to the hotel. Try Osteria Di Gigio in Ponte a Ema, which is only 5 minutes drive away for typical local Tuscan food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We drove by car to this location and had to go twice back to the toll way in order to find the right exit to this hotel which is just right next to the toll way exit, wasn't easy at all to arrive, had GPS and even GPS couldn't point to the right exit. Upon arrival, found this 1970s/80s looking-hotel, the worst looking SPG hotel I have ever seen (am a platinum member and have stayed in many SPG hotels around the world). Free parking which is a good thing but its completely out of the city, shouldn't be charging anyway. They had free shuttles to city centre but limited timings. Very old hotel, room very basic and breakfast was horrible. Very limited selections - bread & cheese & coffee. In the middle of no-where, had to walk at least 15minutes for a local restaurant. Hotel staff are rude and not helpful at all. If you have a choice, don't stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacqSiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The attitude from the lobby staff was not worhty a Sheraton hotel.
I wanted info about wifi and the first man in the lobby told me to buy access from the computer from my room, I went up and tried. The computer told me to buy a key in the lobby, I went down and get new info from man no 2, "it is not possible from a tablet", wich I had one. I went up and gave up. The morning after I told the third man whats happened and also gave me new info, "you can buy it here in the lobby"...Here I went very confused and gave him the whole story of disinformation. His attitude was not kind at all and he let me know that he couldn´t verify the story i just have told him, more or less he did not belive me...!? This distroyed the whole stay in Sheraton Firenze. The normal way to handle this should be to exuse what happened and maybe offer med a free wifi or something...

Room Tip: This hotel is not for the customers, its for the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anders e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

The hotel's tired façade is only surpassed by the even more tired interior. I am not sure that this hotel has been updated, or even cleaned, since the early 1980s.

As soon as you walk in you smell mildew and see the outdated decor. Unfortunately, the lack of investment wasn't restricted to just the lobby. The rooms are just as bad. (Take a look at the comforter and TV in the picture from my room.)

The restaurant does serve some pretty good food. That's a good thing, because there is really nothing around this hotel within walking distance.

As a frequent Starwood hotel visitor and huge fan, there is no way this should qualify as a Sheraton.

Unless you REALLY need to stay here for some reason, I'd highly recommend you find another hotel for your stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TwoWas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
5.1 mi away
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
#123 of 410 in Florence
588 reviews
7 mi away
Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto
4.3 mi away
Hotel Raffaello Firenze
Hotel Raffaello Firenze
#352 of 410 in Florence
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Grifone Firenze
Hotel Grifone Firenze
#242 of 410 in Florence
578 reviews
6.4 mi away
IH Hotel Firenze Business
IH Hotel Firenze Business
#223 of 410 in Florence
188 reviews
1.2 mi away
Italiana Hotels Florence
Italiana Hotels Florence
#173 of 410 in Florence
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conference Florentia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conference Florentia Hotel

Address: Via Giovanni Arcangeli 33, 50126, Florence, Italy (Formerly Sheraton Firenze Hotel)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#124 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £69 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Conference Florentia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conference Florentia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Florence
Sheraton Hotel Florence Italy
Florence Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing