We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks like abandoned former Soviet Union building.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conference Florentia Hotel
Ranked #363 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Looks like abandoned former Soviet Union building.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not a Sheraton, they haven't been for a few months. The grounds are completely dilapidated including the pool. When you pull in you almost think it's abandoned. The inside isn't much better. The rooms are in OK condition. The hot breakfast was cold and disgusting. Would not recommend staying here unless you can confirm it has been completely remodeled and is under new management.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_real_stc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    107
    173
    119
    81
See reviews for
85
124
23
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
KOLKSTS
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed here with my group in June 2014. 1st issue, ONLY TWIN ROOMS, or atleast dats wat the front office in charge told me. an entire 4 star hotel without DBL BED ROOMS? strange, unthinkable, well its true..... the htl is away from the town square, but dats the least of the worries. breakfast spread is too limited, the staff too rude.... check in was smooth, the night staff on duty was kind, but morning the htl 2 totally diff. thank d gods, had only 1nt 2 stay in dis htl. no inroom amenities, no free internet anywer in d entire htl. my advise dont stay in florence at all if u hv no other option but 2 stay in dis htl

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SONASHREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel should definitely not be a 4 star. (We suspect it is to jack up the city tax- 4 euros per person per night!) The receptionists were unfriendly at best and one of them lied about having a pool (he acted like it was a stupid question but when we got to our room we could see the pool fallen into disrepair from our window). The hotel also charged 12 euros per day for WiFi and the WiFi did not even work well. The management seemed abysmal and the maid would work very randomly- she was vacuuming around 8am one morning when we were hoping to sleep in. It is very far from the city center and does not have any attractions in the surrounding area. There is no sidewalk getting to the hotel so walking is a bit dangerous along the busy road. The only redeeming point was the shuttle. The driver was super nice and prompt and was our key to getting to and from Florence each day. The room itself was nice however it did not feel luxurious as you would expect of a 4 star hotel. Overall, very disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel way ahead of time probably for the low price, and then read reviews when our stay got closer. We tried to make the best of it and saw TripAdvisor said there was a pool that we planned to hang around. We checked in and asked about it and the desk clerk acted like he didn't know what a pool was, too bad we could see it from our bedroom window, half filled with dirty water in a run down courtyard. We didn't appreciate being lied to and that does say a lot about this hotel and it's management. All the extra amenities are at 4 star prices but this hotel is far from it. It is sad to see that it used to be beautiful but has gone to waste. I wouldn't be surprised if it closed down completely soon as there may be only a dozen other occupied rooms in this giant hotel

Please dont stay here, spend some extra money and stay in downtown Florence

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lionel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I rarely write bad comments and this is because I have never been so bemused and annoyed by the absolutely appalling resources of a Sheraton Hotel before! This is the second Sheraton we have stayed at on this trip and the difference is mind blowing! While some staff are accommodating we have no bedside clock, when we asked for an iron there is none in the building to be had, we could of course pay and large amount for a service €9 per shirt and we have been travelling ( and ironing for a month at other places! ) A corkscrew and 2 wine glasses threw them into a spin in the end we promised to have the corkscrew returned immediately, obviously there is only one of those in this expansive hotel! The shuttle holding 16 people is less than adequate if you want to get into town early in the morning... Like everyone else! First in best dressed! Seriously Sheraton you need to look at this hotel and improve your game, it does not uphold any quality in the brand name! Poor form!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one! Don't stay at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I wish I had read Adrian K's review before we stayed there! Not worth it.

If you think you are saving money by booking this place think again.

Cons
1. It's not close to anything and you can't walk around without getting in the highway or risking getting hit on the very narrow roads that surround it. The hotel does offer a shuttle service but if you miss it or don't get a ticket for the shuttle be prepared to spend 20€ to get back to your room.

2. Breakfast is not included. Many hotels offer this amenity. It can save you money, time and relive the stress of waking up hungry and waiting for a shuttle to bring you into town. They charge 15€ for breakfast per person. I don't even pay that for a really nice one back home.

3. WiFi costs 12€ per 24hrs if you want it in your room. This adds up. You can use the free wifi in the lobby but it's an hour session at a time. And it's slow.

4. Rooms really need to be updated. Not just for aesthetic reasons. Our toilet did not flush properly.

5. No iron available!!!! This was the tipping point for us. We had a meeting to go to and my husband couldn't iron his dress shirt. Not a good feeling to leave a wrinkled mess. Even if they had a single iron in a common area I would have given them more stars. We used the hair dryer and steam from the bathroom. Not a nice way to spend our last night in Florence.

Pro
1.The shuttle driver was nice.

Trust me you are better off booking somewhere else. It will be cheaper in the long run.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Don't stay here in the hopes of seeing Florence for less. It's a 20 minute commute by shuttle (which runs 3 times in the morning & 3 in the evening/ last shuttle to the hotel leaves at 9:30/it's first come first served for only 16 passengers/ if you miss the shuttle, you have to take a bus that leads to a busy winding road with no sidewalks back to the hotel, or pay 23 euro for a taxi). The hotel smells like stale beer & sadness. The wifi costs 12 euro per day and it's weak. If you stay in the lobby, they offer free wifi for an hour, which is even weaker. Ah, yes; the toilets have issues. One woman in our group had no hot water. Avoid at all costs!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenWhiteFromTheBroncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
1.2 mi away
Italiana Hotels Florence
Italiana Hotels Florence
#168 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
4.8 mi away
Nilhotel
Nilhotel
#177 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
1.1 mi away
Relais Villa Il Sasso Historical Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
#200 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.3 mi away
Together Florence Inn
Together Florence Inn
#227 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
7.0 mi away
Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conference Florentia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conference Florentia Hotel

Property: Conference Florentia Hotel
Address: Via Giovanni Arcangeli 33, 50126, Florence, Italy (Formerly Sheraton Firenze Hotel)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#119 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Conference Florentia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Conference Florentia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Florence
Sheraton Hotel Florence Italy
Florence Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing