We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conference Florentia Hotel
Ranked #359 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Rochester, NY
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 22 June 2009

I spoke with some of the people in our group, and the air conditioning system wasn't stellar, but overall, it was a clean hotel. Clean sheets to lay your head on at night, and clean towels and hot water to bathe with. I wasn't planning on LIVING in the hotel, so this met our expectations. I knew it was a little ways out of the city, but the shuttle ran every hour or so, and was running past midnight. Didn't have to deal with the hotel staff, so I don't know about them. Food in the hotel dining area was, um..............let's just say average. Not terrible, but just plain old average. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyb3517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    108
    176
    123
    86
See reviews for
88
127
26
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

After reading the negative reviews I was a bit worried, but shouldn't have been. Yes, it could be updated but overall it's a great place to stay! We had a huge room with a walk in closet and comfortable bed. It was kept really clean and there were lots of TV channels. It is outside of Florence but had no problem with the shuttle, it was always on time and the driver was fantastic and friendly. The ride to and from town lets you see more of Florence and get a better feel for the area. Just carry the schedule with you. One of the front desk people was American and took extra time to help us. There aren't any restaurants nearby and the prices looked a bit steep at the hotel, so we just ate in town and were fine. Internet access is pay by the minute and they have terminals in the lobby.

If you arrive at the train station, the shuttle is only there at certain times...we took the 4:30 pm one but had to wait a bit. The shuttle parks near the large grassy area and the bike racks. There are restaurants in the station and a McDonald's across the street. If you have a longer wait, you can leave your bags at the station (for a fee) and wander across to the big church, or even see the Duomo which isn't far away.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IWannaGoAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cutler, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton Firenze on April 16 and 17. When we arrived, our phone did not work. After having someone from maintenance fix the phone, we were still unable to make calls. Finally, the front desk informs us we cannot use our calling card on their phones - go figure!

We wanted to get some laundry done while we were in Florence. The hotel charges 9 EURO for a single pair of pants! OK - big city laundry, I know the drill. We asked the front desk staff where we could find a laundry and they said there were none open and that no taxi would take us there - on a Saturday! HA!

My husband went off on his own and easily found a laundromat and a taxi to deliver him there. Seems like the hotel doesn't want to lose out on that extra revenue from laundry service!

The restaurant staff were quite nice, the food was OK - nothing special. The bar staff was incredibly rude - guess they went to the same training class as the front desk staff?

The room was large but the A/C is not turned on until July, so it was stuffy. Of course, opening the window improved things quite a bit.

In all, the next time we visit Florence we will be staying at another hotel - definitely not this one.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank txenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2008

I don't consider myself a high-maintenance guest, but this hotel was so bad I felt the need to write my first TripAdvisor review. We stayed at the Sheraton Firenze around Christmastime and it was nearly empty -- combine that with the old and dated decor and it became somewhat like The Shining. But that would've been fine had the hotel not been so bad in so many other ways.

1. Location -- Bad. The hotel is a good 20 minutes outside of Florence and the shuttle service only runs about 8 times a day, with a large gap in the middle of the day. The last shuttle to the hotel leaves the Florence train station at 9:30pm, so don't even think about staying out too late unless you're ready to pay 30 euro for a cab back.

2. Food/Drink -- Horrible and overpriced. We ordered two glasses of wine from the bar to bring up to the room -- both were not just bad, they literally had gone bad. We still got charged for them, despite notifying the bartender.

3. Service/Attentiveness -- Horrible. I asked for a 8am wake-up call and I didn't get it because my phone didn't work, causing me to oversleep by 2 hours. When I told them, they didn't apologize. I asked them to fix my phone while I was gone and they sent someone up. I arranged another wake-up call for the following morning and AGAIN it did not go through -- my phone STILL did not work and they didn't take the time to tell me that before I made another wake-up call.

4. Rooms -- Okay. The decor is dated, but the rooms were comfortable enough. The biggest problems were the shower and the hairdryer, which had almost no pressure and were an annoyance to use.

Pay a little extra and stay in the city. It will be worth it.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travLer2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2008

sheraton firenze
mon 15 sept, one night
couple traveling by car

had no real issues during our one night, and really enjoyed our
brief stay, however we would have preferred to have chosen a
hotel closer to the city center. location is convenient if you
are on the road as the hotel is very close to the highway, but
the environment/surroundings could be better.

pluses:
very friendly staff, and excellent service.
very spacious and clean room with very comfortable beds and
large bathroom.
sound insulation in room ok (highway is close, but was no issue).
hotel shuttle connects guests with city center throughout
the day at convenient (but limited) times as a complementary
service (time hotel to firenze main train station at piazza sta
maria novella approx 20 min, local traffic permitting).
continental breakfast ok.
availability of open and closed parking spaces.

a special thanks goes out to the night receptionist who prepared
hot tea for both of us at 3 o'clock in the morning without any
charge (no 24-hrs room service and hotel kitchen closed at the
time), as we both had a flu and were in desperate need for some
tea.

minuses:
very tired hotel, in need of an urgent refurbishment in and out.
our room window on the 4th floor had a serious oversize crack,
and was in need of replacement.
internet access with credit card charges next to reception only.
hotel surroundings and buildings (garage building for example)
look very abandoned.
hotel shuttle service stops early in the evening, and there is no
connection during night hours.
no city view, location not far outside of city, but behind hills,
convenient only if traveling by car (that may well be a plus).
breakfast would be nice to have fresh juices and scrambled eggs,
as a standard offering.
would generally consider the hotel as overpriced because of the
above.

overall impression:
we enjoyed our brief stay, and would have no objection to visit
this hotel again, although we will try for something closer to
the city center next time. from what we've seen, hotels in
firenze are highly overrated and overpriced.

  • Liked — spacious & clean room, safe parking space
  • Disliked — requires refurbishment, industrial surroundings, far from city center
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HerCMerC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

This hotel is an eyesore. It is almost an embarrassment to stay there as the building itself is such a blot on the landscape. The service is however reasonable. The interior decor is very tired and needs replacing and updating. The shuttle service into town is very limited and inflexible.
I would not stay there again.

  • Liked — check in
  • Disliked — architecture and distance from town centre
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnDevon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2008

Stayed at Sheraton Hotel & Conference Center Firenze for two nights while on an Insight Tour. Room was nice and reasonable size by EU standards, bed comfortable, bathroom great. Breakfast average. Hotel was very clean and staff were available and took care of requests immediately. Only problem with hotel is that it is not near center of Florence. 8 Euro cab ride to Ufizzi or hotel shuttle bus. If you have limited time in Florence stay in Florence center. If you have many days this hotel is nice as it is out of the city center.

  • Liked — VEry Clean and Efficient
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Englishdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
7.0 mi away
Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto
1.3 mi away
Together Florence Inn
Together Florence Inn
#290 of 412 in Florence
695 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Belvedere - Florence
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#197 of 412 in Florence
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Nilhotel
Nilhotel
#191 of 412 in Florence
633 reviews
6.4 mi away
IH Hotel Firenze Business
IH Hotel Firenze Business
#222 of 412 in Florence
171 reviews
1.1 mi away
Relais Villa Il Sasso Historical Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conference Florentia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conference Florentia Hotel

Property: Conference Florentia Hotel
Address: Via Giovanni Arcangeli 33, 50126, Florence, Italy (Formerly Sheraton Firenze Hotel)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Conference Florentia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Conference Florentia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Florence
Sheraton Hotel Florence Italy
Florence Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing