We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, nice room, reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guest House Bel Duomo
Ranked #39 of 672 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, nice room, reasonable price”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We enjoyed good service, a nice room, and an unbelievably convenient location - all for a reasonable price. This B&B caters to tourists who may not speak much Italian. That's not essential for us, but it is convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xu08gjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    130
    10
    10
    7
See reviews for
126
169
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

If all you look for in accommodation is the perfect location then you would struggle to beat this place. That said, we were in a room with no window and an external bathroom - not an issue if it is a short hop across the hall but here it was through the reception - but these things were probably reflected in the price we paid. Bed wasn't too comfortable and linen was also poor quality. It was fine for a quick stop over but I wouldn't want to spend more than a night or two there. If you go in knowing what to expect then you should be fine.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank epellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Lovely and clean rooms and spacious for 3. Guillio and Mandy were so helpful. Guillo's advice on shopping, sightseeing and restaurants was invaluable and saved us a lot of time. The location is central and close to everything including train station. If you are traveling as a family from the airport it is cheaper to catch a taxi than to use the shuttle bus from airport to train station. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alibam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We just left Florence and stayed 3 nights in this bed and breakfast and really enjoyed it. The rooms had air conditioning which was SO important! The owners, Mandy and Guilio, we incredibly accommodating and did everything they could to make our stay comfortable. We even got a free bottle of champagne :) the location is absolutely perfect- right on the Duomo plaza, a straight shot 10 minute walk to the train station, and a straight shot 10 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio. You can't beat the price for this amazing location. We had the small room with an external private bathroom, and even though it was a bit inconvenient, it was just fine. Beware- the ringing bells of the Duomo begin at 7am each day and WILL wake you up. You can't sleep any later! It's the charm of this great city though.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Co-owner Mandy was in touch the day of our arrival and met us at the door to help us carry up luggage. Great location, friendly staff with lots of tips to enjoy Florence. We took a taxi to the B&B from the train station, but it takes as long to walk as it does to drive and you save €10.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JS8176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Made reservations and arrived late at night without any notice. First tip - send an email with your arrival time in advance. That being said, we found ourselves a stone's throw from the Duomo, and sat down at an excellent restaurant nearby to wait for the owners who kindly drove from out of town to check us in.

If you are looking for a perfect clean, helpful, and well maintained place with personality, this is it. The owners are fantastic, and will make sure your stay is pleasant. And it is an easy ten minute walk from the train station (even with backpacks). We are looking forward to our next visit when they have their new room with a view of the Duomo available!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Our 10 day trip to Italy started with a night in Florence at B&B Bel Duomo. The staff / owner (Olivia and Mandy) were very friendly and helpful and helped us get orientated very quickly. They also did little other things to make our trip that much easier - make a phone call for us, keep our bags on our last day whilst we were out sightseeing and charge our phones in the lobby. The room was big and clean and had air-conditioning (crucial in the middle of summer!). The biggest plus of B&B Bel Duomo is that it is literally a stone's throw from the Duomo, with the rest of the major attractions in Florence a very short walk away. We had a separate bedroom and bathroom - which we were told about, and meant the room was cheaper. Unfortunately the lobby separated the two, which was fine most of the time, but not ideal if guests / staff were around.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomWithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#86 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine
Duomo
A Florence View B&B
A Florence View B&B
#13 of 672 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Bellevue House
Bellevue House
#15 of 672 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Leone X Guest House
#24 of 672 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Duomo
B&B Le Stanze del Duomo
B&B Le Stanze del Duomo
#38 of 672 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Bel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Bel Duomo

Property: Guest House Bel Duomo
Address: Borgo San Lorenzo 4, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly Bed and Breakfast Bel Duomo)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 672 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Guest House Bel Duomo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the pedestrians' only area, just 10 metres from the corner of Piazza del Duomo. Guest House Bel Duomo is about 600 metres (10 minutes walk) from the main railway station, Santa Maria Novella, from which Florence airport is easily reachable via a frequent shuttle bus service. Bel Duomo offers 11 spacious rooms on the mezzanine level, first and third floors of the historic building (without a lift, unfortunately) in which it is located. Every room has a private bathroom, 7 ensuite while 4 rooms have private external bathrooms. All rooms are equipped with free wifi, central heating, air conditioning, flat screen TV, hairdryer, refrigerator and kettle. A simple breakfast of tea, instant coffee and individually wrapped croissants, crackers and chocolates is included in the price, other than this, breakfast is an optional extra, available at a discounted price at a bar a few minutes walk away. Guests are assured of a warm welcome from the English/Italian family running B&B Bel Duomo. A map and tourist information including museum/tour/restaurant bookings are always offered on check in by the hosts, for whom courtesy and customer service are absolute priorities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Guest House Bel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing