We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Ranked #137 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not a great hotel”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

When we arrived to the Atlantic Palace hotel, there was one man at the front desk, who din't even greet us. He seemed not interested that we just arrived. He checked us in, and then exchanged some US dollars for us to Euro at the highest rate possible, saying that that was the rate at the bank that day (that wasn't true). The free Wifi didn't work and we paid like 69 € and bought it at TIM. The hotel did not have an elevator. The room had a tiny window, facing the narrow street, all we saw was a wall from another building. We traveled with a child, so we booked a suite. It was very basic-bed, tv, closet in the main room and only sofa in the other room. There were no paintings, just plain white walls and a couple of furniture pieces. The bathroom was very clean and spacious though. It was probably the best bathroom we had in Italy-new toilet, shower, toothbrushes, razor, shampoo, etc. the breakfast was pretty bad-ham, eggs, a few pastries(very limmited). Unfortunately, I booked the non-refundable rate, and if I had a choice, I would probably book something different. The location was OK, 5 minute walk to the train. Since Florence is small, it is about 10 minute walk to Duomo from the hotel. Overall, it was more like a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a suite when traveling with three people
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelqueenme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APM-GUESTSRELATION, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Atlantic Palace, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
We are pride ourselves on our property upkeep and attention to detail, but clearly we were not up to standards on your stay and for that I am truly sorry. I have shared your comments with my management team for review and will take your cue from your complaints to improve service. We hope to see you again so soon, and to regain a positive comment, as most of the customers has given us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    431
    218
    81
    42
See reviews for
182
561
51
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The staff here are friendly, rooms are clean and quiet. The breakfast let it down, in comparison to other 4 star hotels we stayed in. It was very much help yourself and the selection was limited. I would stay here again when we return to Florence (which we definitely will!). The hotel is in a great location - easy to get to from the station (5 min walk) and is central to all the attractions.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lily2686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLPALAC, Responsabile reception at Hotel Atlantic Palace, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Great location, 5minute walk to Firenze Santa Maria Novella train station and can reach all major attraction sites by foot. I definitely recommend this place even if a bit in the pricey side coz staying near the city center would save so much precious time and transportation costs. Raymundo, the Filipino staff was so helpful! No free wifi though, but 24hour wifi can be purchased for 9 euro, so that's reasonable. Tip for everyone is to get a hotel near the city center so you can maximize your time both during the day and night in the historical sites. Remember that taxis cost more at night and there is the danger of being scammed by some of the drivers into charging more than they should.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLPALAC, Responsabile reception at Hotel Atlantic Palace, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The hotel is walking distance from the train and bus stations in Florence. Its a nice place, nothing fancy. I think its a stretch for a 4 star hotel. I stayed 4 nights in a Single Superior Room which included a king size bed but small bathroom and shower. I stayed one night in a Classic Double room. MUCH NICER. Two double bed and large bathroom with bath and shower. The staff (Francesca) was helpful in helping changing reservations as I needed to adjust my schedule due to the May 1st holiday. This is a nice hotel with a good location and the price seemed right. I booked directly on the hotel website, the rates were comparable to hotels.com and I had the flexibility to cancel within 24 hours of arrival.

Room Tip: The hotel is located on a busy street. If you want a quiet room ask for one at the back of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_U_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLPALAC, Responsabile reception at Hotel Atlantic Palace, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Within walking distance of the Florence train station, in the heart of the busy city which was great. We booked through a tour company, and based on some of the nicer room pictures on tripadvisor, we definitely had a 'budget' room although we paid four star rates. We asked to be moved but were told that the hotel was full. Room was clean, but very tacky, worn and dated. Faced into a courtyard, where other travelers kept us awake. Shower stall was ridiculously small. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APM-GUESTSRELATION, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Atlantic Palace, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
We are pride ourselves on our property upkeep and attention to detail, but clearly we were not up to standards on your stay and for that I am truly sorry. I have shared your comments with my management team for review and will take your cue from your complaints to improve service. We hope to see you again so soon, and to regain a positive comment, as most of the customers has given us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Arrived with a friend at the Hotel Atlantic April 29th through May 1st. It was our first time in Florence. I didn't have high expectations for the price. We arrived and were shown to our room by a friendly bellman, Raimondo. The room was compact but we were happy about the overall style and cleanliness however, we discovered a nonstop noise from an outside heating/ac unit on an inner courtyard so we asked for a different room. The afternoon front desk staff (Diego and Caroline) were very helpful making a change and the new room was lovely - room 280. It was larger and comfortable and had a decent view for the location as compared to the other rooms we saw. They were also extremely helpful with the many questions we had about the city and provided excellent service throughout our stay. Simone who works in the evening was also extremely helpful. The breakfast was suitable for a quick start to sight seeing. The location was an easy walk from the train station and to all the main sites in the city center including lots of shopping. Our many thanks to them for making our stay at this hotel one of the best experiences we had in Italy. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLPALAC, Direttore vendite at Hotel Atlantic Palace, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We were at last week - do not approach!
The hotel does not match the pictures on the site, the rooms are old and very small, poor service! After one day we left the hotel. The attitude was disgusting, they really are not nice and do not know for visitors. And if that's not enough to addition are lies that we closed with a price and when we left they brought us the price

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moran c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLPALAC, Responsabile reception at Hotel Atlantic Palace, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
To mr.Moran

When we report a fact we should to report exactly as the thing has gone, without modifying the reality of the facts. You booked through a website a classic standard room, with a very cheap price. When you arrive, for some reason that we still don’t know, you didn’t like the classical standard room and as is usually in our hotel we offered you another room, which was a superior room, but of course you didn’t like it. We showed you also a de-luxe room, but you didn’t like it, but when we showed you suite room, you liked of course that you liked. So we told you that we couldn’t offered as free upgrade this room and that you had to paid some extra charge, for having a suite room.
You didn’t agree our proposal, you always ask a discount or something free like for example a bottle of champagne; however after ten minutes of discussions we joined a compromised and you had a suite room, for few euros of extra charge. The day after, without the 24 hours of policy cancellation, you left our hotel, but at the check-out you refused to paid the policy cancellation and also the few euros of difference from standard to suite room. After twenty minutes of discussion, you left our hotel, without paying anything for the nights you left before our hotel, but just the difference for the upgrade. So what you said sir is not true, our employees treated you very well, respected you as they work since a long time, in the sector of the tourism and they just applied the international rules of the tourism. If there’s something that it was rude with our employees was you, but that’s another history….

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
#194 of 412 in Florence
1,164 reviews
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#96 of 412 in Florence
673 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#82 of 412 in Florence
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Albani Firenze
Hotel Albani Firenze
#107 of 412 in Florence
1,478 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Embassy
Hotel Embassy
#145 of 412 in Florence
840 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#121 of 412 in Florence
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantic Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantic Palace

Property: Hotel Atlantic Palace
Address: Via Nazionale 12, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#129 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#140 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantic Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Palace Hotel is an ancient palace built at the beginning of the XVII century, located in the very city centre. Our hotel in Florence is close to the Duomo, to Santa Maria Novella railway station, to the Expo Centre, and 200 metres away from the "Fortezza da Basso". The rooms are furnished in florentine style, and are equipped with all modern comforts and have been recently renovated as the common areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Atlantic Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Palace Florence
Atlantic Palace Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing