We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and Cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Ranked #142 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I, and another couple with whom we were traveling (we are all retirees,) chose this hotel because the reviews were OK, the price was right, and it was near the railroad station. Our expectations were not high, but as we were only going to be there for one night we thought it would be adequate. The pros:
very helpful and friendly staff; bathroom updated and very clean. The hotel is within walking distance of the train station, and might be a good choice for anyone who wants to take day trips from Florence, or for people who travel with only one small bag. However, we called a taxi when we checked out, because the sidewalks were too narrow and crowded for us to manage with our suitcases, none larger than carry-ons. Our room had a tiny balcony and a view of the tops of the cathedral dome and bell tower. The cons: our room was cramped and a little shabby, but it was at the end of a hallway and we were not bothered by noise. Our biggest complaint was about the breakfast room, which became very crowded, and offered very little seating. (Look at the hotel's picture of the breakfast area and try to imagine it full of 30-40 people.) The beverage machine produced terrible coffee. The food was typical, rolls, yogurt, cereals, cheeses and meats, but supplies ran out quickly and weren't replenished fast enough. We would not choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngridRPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aolap1, Owner at Hotel Kursaal Ausonia, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Our breakasft is not enormous but can have 20 -24 people comfortably sitting at the same time. This is normally good for our size and type of hotel.
There are some days when everybody decides to wake up and have breakfast at the same time.
That morning there were 3 of us on duty for the breakfast to rifill and clean. I am sorry to hear that you were so disappointed especially becasue I had offered you (or perhaps your friends) while you were sitting on the sofas to bring you breakfast to your room or to call you when there was an available table - that is to say 10 -15 min to wait.

Regarding the sidewalks that are too narrow, there is nothing I can do about it, but I would also like to have them larger. Our Major has a web page and he is willing to take in suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    393
    171
    62
    39
See reviews for
206
444
47
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Mixed feelings about this place. Great location, staff is wonderful but the noise was really loud. As mentioned previously, the walls are so thin you can hear everything that goes on. Our room was right next to the Breakfast room and Reception area so we were really aware of everything. Food was fine. The husband and wife who run the place could not be nicer but I wouldn't stay here again. Also, we had a rental we needed to park. It cost 32 Euro a day for valet. Kind of pricey even for Europe.

Room Tip: Don't stay near the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmg0rman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The staff seemed to be all young kids, colleges students. But they were all very nice and freindly and anxious to help. The hotel added to the Florence experince, a bit worn and weatherd but that's the way old Tuscany is! The location was fantastic and the rooms were very clean. I was very pleased with our 9 night stay. Thanks Kursaal Ausonia!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel just last week, in the middle of March. I had a double room which was nice and clean and had a large bathroom. I thought the floor tiles would be cold but they weren't. It was a little noisy being right on the street but only with the windows opened. It was great to have a mini-fridge in the room. I never noticed any hallway noise. The people in the room next to me were noisy but that was only for one night. The staff were very friendly and helpful with directions to museums and where to eat, etc. I was able to use the computer when I needed to. The breakfast was very nice with milk, juice, breads, cake, meat and cheese. I loved my time in Florence and a large part of that was because of where I stayed. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Provogirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We made reservations in this hotel based on the combination of a cheap price and TripAdvisor recommendations. I must say I was quiet disappointed when I entered the room. However, after some days I was a bit more pleased.

To sum up, here are some pros and cons.

Cons:
Most importantly, the hotel is very noisy! Do not stay here if you are easily wakened! One morning around 7 o’clock we were waken by a lot of people checking out, screaming and running in the hallway. The walls are very thin so it seems and sounds like the people outside in the hallway are actually inside your room. If you stay here, be sure to bring earplugs!

The rooms are ok. There are tiles on the floor. The room seemed kind of dirty, but it was actually clean. The bathroom in our room was very small, but I guess that is very typical for Italy. The towels are paper-thin, but that is also typical for Italy.

Do not expect a good breakfast. Our first day nearly all the food was already eaten, and the only things left were some cakes, yoghurt and muesli. The other days the breakfast was better. It might be a good Italian breakfast, but too sweet and light for us used to a German/American breakfast.

When booking our two rooms, we specifically asked for separate beds. Both of the rooms had double beds, and in one of the rooms the bed could not be separated. In one of the rooms the mini bar/fridge was not working, but this was fixed after three days of reminders.

Pros:
This hotel is very cheap! The location is good. The staff is helpful and speak good English. The rooms are cleaned every day.

Conclusion:
I think that the other reviews on Trip Advisor are overrated. This is an ok and cheap three-star hotel. It probably gives you good value if you do not care that much about where you stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ST1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alarigo1, Owner at Hotel Kursaal Ausonia, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
We are a 3 stars budget hotel that is located in the centre of Florence, Italy.

Budget:
If you are looking for luxury then you need to look somewhere else.
We are your hotel if you are looking for a simple, clean, central place that is environment friendly and that has got helpful staff.

Florence, Italy:
when coming to Florence and in Italy in general be prepared to have sweet breakfasts as the typical Italian breakfast is. Even if our breakfast is reacher than the average typical Italian breakfast it is NOT a German/American one.
Food is one of the great emotions of Italy, why not starting being Italian from the moment you open your eyes?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed at this really friendly hotel during an unseasonably cold spell. The room was easy to warm up with the air conditioning but we did have to use an additional (provided) blanket to stay warm in the night. We had a room at the back which meant there was no traffic noise and a superior which meant it was a good size too. The floor was tiled which I'm sure is a real advantage in the heat of the summer. The bathroom was well equipped and spotless as was the rest of the hotel. It's an eco hotel so you can choose how often you change your sheets and towels and the toiletries are all in dispensers.The owners were there every morning and really helpful with local eating places etc. There was a never ending supply of breakfast-usual Italian with lots of sweet things but ham and cheese too. There was plenty for everyone even if you were a 'tail-ender'.
If you book directly with them online then internet access is free otherwise there is a cost.
The hotel was a 10 minute walk from the main station and from the duomo so really well placed for everything. Loads of places to eat within 5 minutes walk too. We'd stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMM565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alarigo1, Owner at Hotel Kursaal Ausonia, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
I am very happy that you have enjoyed our stay and theat you pointed out in sucha nice way our main characteristics.fantastic location, cleanliness, environmetfriendly attitude and helpfull staff.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed in the Hotel Kursaal & Ausonia in September and had a room that faced the back. The room was relatively small, but not unusually so by European standards. We were lucky - we had a room that had a tiny 'standing room' balcony which we enjoyed - facing other balconies and the back patio of the restaurant around the corner. The hotel was in a great location for us - it was a less than 10 minute walk to the train station and the main areas of old Florence were close at hand. The staff were helpful, and the restaurant around the corner that they recommended was very handy for a couple of dinners after a long day of 'touring'. The owners of the hotel also run a tour company (Guided Florence Tours) which we would highly recommend! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diascott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alarigo1, Owner at Hotel Kursaal Ausonia, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
I am so glad that you have enjoyed both the stay at the hotel and the tours you did with me and my partner Simona with guidedflorencetours.com.
Thanks for taking your time to write such positive comments about both your experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#88 of 411 in Florence
893 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#148 of 411 in Florence
307 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#62 of 411 in Florence
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#96 of 411 in Florence
736 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#256 of 411 in Florence
216 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#173 of 411 in Florence
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kursaal Ausonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kursaal Ausonia

Property: Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Address: Via Nazionale 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kursaal Ausonia 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco friendly, simple, new refurbished hotel with all comforts - Very centrally located: 10 min walk to central railway station, cathedral & Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kursaal Ausonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kursaal Ausonia Hotel
Kursaal Ausonia Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing