We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, location, experience!”
Review of Hotel Fiorita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fiorita
Ranked #88 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service, location, experience!”
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Overall, I was very happy with this hotel. The location was excellent, and easily walkable to everywhere we went. The room was extremely clean, with good towels and a comfy bed. It was also a pretty spacious room with fridge and TV, and with nice decorative molding to add a little ambiance. The only negative was that the windows have no screens, which let in mosquitos at night. However, the best part was the service. We were welcomed by professional, friendly staff who spoke excellent English and were happy to help in any way they could. After our luggage was lost by our airline, their staff bent over backwards to help us get it delivered immediately. The breakfast was very good for Italy, including cappuccino, breads, cold cuts, boiled eggs, cheeses, and fruits. It was in a beautiful rooftop dining room as well. We were sorry to leave when we finished our stay there!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntsInThePants06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    373
    68
    15
    3
See reviews for
145
387
136
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This was our last hotel in our 3 week stint in Spain and Italy.
We were coming from the Best Western Canada in Rome, which we loved - very nice hotel. The Fiorita was definitely a big step down! But hey, you get what you pay for, I guess.
We'll start with the good: as others have said, great location...that being said, the main area of Florence is so small that any hotel practically will be convenient. However, this one was very close to the train station, which is a plus.
Staff was pretty helpful, spoke English well.
The air conditioner work very well.
The bathroom towels were clean and fluffy.
The bathroom seemed very clean. The water was nice and hot for our showers.

The not so great: we have experience many breakfast buffets in Italy, and this one was nothing to write home about. Not much choice there.
The noise! OUr hotel room was just off the reception, and man, was it NOISY. You can hear everyone coming and going, things banging. You can even hear your neighbours talking and their TV. Also, the BIRDS (okay, NOT the hotel's fault! But there was some very loud birds constantly chirping). So we didn't sleep well.
The pillows were awful - hard flat things.
The bathroom amenities were nothing to write home about - we got 2 packets of shampoos a day, with just a little bit of shampoo in it. And a tiny bar of soap.
Parts of the wall paper were held together by tape. Classy. The high ceilings and ugly flooring (not sure if it was tile or laminated stuff) and horrible lighting choices made for a distinctly NON cosy room. (And one of the bedside lights didn't work)
Also, the maids always opened the window when they were done cleaning. This bugged me as I am very allergic to mosquitos (and florence has a TON), so I didn't like coming home to find the window open.
Never found a safe, if there was one.

Would we go back? Nah. We'd probably plunk down a bit of extra money for a slightly better place. But for those of you on a tight budget, this place is fine for a couple nights to crash. Unless you are a very light sleeper.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We stayed here for three nights during a fourteen-day (seven-hotel) trip.

As others have suggested, its biggest plus is the location - only steps from the main train station (and in Florence, that means pretty close to everything). But it also had a bunch of other great things going for it, including friendly staff and a nice room.

We were a little surprised when we first arrived, since the lobby is on the third (what we'd call the "fourth") floor, which felt a bit weird, but is fine, since there's an elevator. The friendly staff spoke excellent English, and were very helpful when we needed it.

Breakfast was very similar to that at other hotels. The room is on the roof, though, with a much nicer view than many other places.

We had (what we thought was) a superb room (#202, for your reference). Very large (for Italy) with both a queen and an extra twin bed. It was a corner suite with wrap-around balcony, which meant nice cross breezes and a view of the duomo. Sweet! There was lots of storage, wired Internet (no wireless), a large shower (for a change!), AC, and even glass glasses (we were used to plastic by that point). This was also by far the quietest room we had on this trip, despite its proximity to the train station.

The price was similar to comparably located hotels we stayed at in Rome, but quite a bit more than other places, like Naples, in the South.

Room Tip: #202 is large, with a wrap-around balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonManikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avondale, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed one night here on May 18th, 2011, at the end of a cruise . A jewel! Great location,easy 5 minute walk from train station and sights. Large room, wonderful breakfast ,helpful staff, A little hard to find , but well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speckledpup69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Excellent situation for the central (SMN) train station, getting into town, and a reasonably quiet location. Staff very friendly and accomodating.
Breakfast good, though the coffee was quite horrid - I hope they upgrade to something that reflects the usual high Italian quality.
Good value budget hotel, clean and comfortable.
Try to get a room away from the reception as at night one can hear the comings and goings.

Room Tip: Get a room away fro the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algiers
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Fiorita Hotel is located 2 mn walk from the main train station, and 20 mn walk from all the town tourism site. Very friendly reception, good value (49 euros for a single room), it is in the 3rd floor within an old building,with an old fashion lift, the breakfast is excellent, the rooms are small but with all what you need: TV, refrigerator, AC, telephone, bathroom. The only bad point is the heating that start and stop randomly and the temperature inside the room is not stable.

Room Tip: Ask a room not close to reception (noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashid_DZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We picked this hotel in Florence to balance the cost of some of the other places we stayed while in Italy. That being said we had come from an amazing charming B&B in Venice and this place just did not compare. The hotel room was clean, except for the empty water bottle sitting on top of the bathroom wall. (the bathroom was carved out in the room with the walls not going all the way up to the ceiling). There was no shampoo, just soap provided. Since our room was close to reception, in the morning we could here doors opening a closing very clearly.

We asked for a restaurant recommendation from reception and were not happy with the place. We ate such amazing food while in Italy, and this was the one place that was just average.

That being said. You can't beat $95 euro per night in the center of town. The location was great and it did allow us to explore central Florence and be a 5 minute walk from the train station. If you're looking for a bargain hotel, I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thov4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mslrrt, Proprietario at Hotel Fiorita, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Dear Guest,
thanks for your review. We would like to add some more information missing in your report.
Probably you did not notice that from your window you could have a splendid view over the florentine hills,The Duomo,the Giotto tower and the Medici Chapels. In Florence there are more 1200 accommodation places between hotels,b/b,relais.hostels etc. but only 75 can offer
this unique view: we are one of them!.
Probably you did not notice that shampoo is also offered to our guests, usually standing in the shower rack.
Probably you did not notice that either shampoo or soap are made with 100% Tuscany olive oil;
so that we are able to offer our guests a unique scent.
We use to suggest only tipycal local restaurants where we know there is an authentic local preparation; many times guests are happy a few others not but this regards more client's taste
than hotel suggestions.
Many thanks for staying with us and wish you all the best !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#93 of 422 in Florence
732 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#57 of 422 in Florence
786 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#43 of 422 in Florence
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
773 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#55 of 422 in Florence
484 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#74 of 422 in Florence
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fiorita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fiorita

Property: Hotel Fiorita
Address: Via Fiume 20, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#68 Family Hotel in Florence
#79 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#96 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Fiorita 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fiorita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiorita Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing