We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, multilingual guide”

Walks Inside Florence
Ranked #55 of 344 Tours in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: WalksInsideFlorence is the best guided tours in Florence. An in-depth alternative to the usual walking tours: an entertaining art class on the move, we bring art and history to life, revealing fascinating facts about the extraordinary men who had the talent and the will to excel. Walks Inside Florence: a group of individual specialized guides!Direct contact with your guides!
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant, multilingual guide”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our guide, Emma Molignoni, was a remarkable woman. We were traveling with French friends who spoke little English, and our French is not good enough to have sufficed for a 3-hour tour. Emma was absolutely fluent in both languages and could pass instantly from one to the next without losing a beat. She is also a highly educated, passionate lover of Florentine culture and history, and curious about many other things as well. She was able to discourse on virtually all of our far-ranging questions, and the few times she couldn't was humble and polite in acknowledging it. Just ask for Emma.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    18
    1
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved this tour!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Fantastic! Highly recommend “Florence in a Day” tour and tour guide, Marzia!
Marzia is an engaging and captivating tour guide! She makes learning about the history and art of Florence fun and interesting. (Even our 14 and 17 year old teenagers were fascinated!) We skipped the long lines, and saw the most important pieces in the Academy and the Uffizi, learning about Michelangelo’s evolution as a sculptor. We also got an orientation to the buildings in the Cathedral Square and the open-air art in the Piazza Signoria. We came away more knowledgeable about art history, and were better equipped to appreciate subsequent art in Florence and Rome – thank you Marzia!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank marissad21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great tour of the Uffizi Gallery”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked a tour for the Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor. Jeanne was our contact person for arranging the tour and was very nice about having us do the Uffizi at 9:00 so we could have some free time in the Uffizi (to hit the bookstores/gift shop) before the Vasari tour (rather than go immediately from one to the other.)

The Uffizi portion was a private tour - just our family. Our guide for the Uffizi, Giovanni, was the perfect Italian gentleman and extremely knowledgeable. He made the experience very enjoyable and ensured that we saw many of the highlights of the gallery in our two hours. Giovanni provided much insight about the artists and paintings - things we would not have known otherwise. He was careful to give you enough information to learn a lot, but not so much as to overwhelm and make you forget what you learned. We met Giovanni at the Piazza Della Signoria, and prior to going into the Uffizi, he told us about the statues there and also walked us around the corner to where a Mafia terrorist attack had occurred. This tour was very worthwhile and a great experience.

The Vasari Corridor tour was actually subcontracted to another tour company - I don't remember the name - and was a group of up to 15. But the Walks Inside Florence website had said the max number was 8. When I mentioned this to the lady greeting us at the start of the Vasari tour, she explained how it was a subcontracted deal (she was with the other tour company) and it was 15 people. I plan to followup with Jeanne at Walks Inside Florence to point out this discrepancy. We specifically chose Walks Inside Florence for this smaller group number. Since we were given earpieces to hear the guide, it wasn't a big problem, but seems like misrepresentation. Our guide, James, was very good - spoke perfect English and provided lots of interesting facts. I don't think the Vasari portion was worth the money though - in hindsight, I would rather have spent the time and money elsewhere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lmyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Art tour of Uffizi and Accademia”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our favorite tour of the trip. Lisa made the experience entertaining and engaging for my 16 and 12-year-old children. She put the art and history into a context that was easy to follow and understand, ergo making the experience engaging and worthwhile. Instead of wandering the Uffizi for hours in the crowds, most likely missing what we should see, and only glancing at the rest, Lisa took us to the key pieces, and we learned the story (and sometimes the gossip) behind each piece. Totally worth the investment!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lots to learn in half a day”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Very friendly guide, we saw a lot of the major points of the city in half a day and were exhausted but happy at the end! they book the museum tickets for you so you don't have to queue, it was worth it for us as we did not have much time there. I would definitely do it again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank riccjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walks Inside Florence also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Walks Inside Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing