We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Florence with a modern edge”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Torre 69 - CLOSED

Torre 69
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating
Neighbourhood: Piazzale Michelangelo
Maplewood, NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Florence with a modern edge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

The food was a modern take on classic Florence cuisine, sometimes a hit, sometimes a slight miss, but always well prepared if a little pretentious. The atmosphere is hip, but the music can tend to become more of the overall experience than what is warranted. This is where the native "beautiful people" tend to gather, so eye candy abounds.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    29
    14
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“a sublime dinner experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Torre 69 is an amazing place. Good food and cool wine. I had a fantastic hamburger, which I would strongly reccomend to anyone. We were welcomed and served by an exquisite waitress and Jacopo, one of the boss, made sure that everything was perfect. And everything was just perfect. Gluten free special plates were prepared specially for me and every effort was done to make sure I could eat excellent food without gluten. Fantastic!

By the way, the deco is very tasteful, but in particular at the entrance there is the most astonishing piece of antique furniture. A huge cereal dispenser, date 1830s in the most pristine condition. Amazing!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxrobba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Lobely bistrot with Florentine twist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Booked the place for my family and ex-wife... I knew she would love to see the world famous Francesco, the tattooed barman specialized in prosciutto flowers... a must! Food is amazing and Geppo, the boss, knows its business, sporting an intriguing menu like no other! Will be back soon, great action!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caillox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“amazing food and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

I have to this restaurant last summer with my family several times and have had both great lunch and dinners. The location is spectacular and the food excellent. I suggested it to several friends visiting Florence and they all thanked me for the tip! I would definetely go back in my next trip to Italy. i would suggest to always ask for the owner who is professianal and really helpful!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Relaxed and good food ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

... it is what it looks like, a good Italian modern restaurant.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Charlie-EMPS-Henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Torre 69 also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Settignano, Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing