We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth your time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cappelle Medicee

Cappelle Medicee
Book In Advance
More Info
US$16.62*
and up
Skip-the-Line Medici Chapels Ticket
Ranked #29 of 441 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opulently decorated in marble, gold and jewels, these chapels are a celebration of one of Italy's most famous and powerful families - the Medicis.
Illinois USA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth your time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Centrally located. Can get through it in an hour or so. Some unique reliquaries and statuary by Michaelangelo.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank LadyDiY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    840
    362
    96
    25
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Interesting lower profile attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Worth the price of admission, but needs some patience to understand the payback. Entrance is into the understated crypt of the Medici family and the burial place of many of the dictators, patrons, and Godfather's of the Renaissance. Ascend the stairs to the beautiful chapel, despite the rennovation in progress which obscures and detracts from the viewing. The design and colors of the marble floor are quite amazing. Don't miss the sacristy and tombs adorned with scultpures of Michaelangelo!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank EUHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
346 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
“Medici Chapels - slightly disappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We had visited the Medici Chapels 30 years ago and were very keen to rekindle our memories. The entrance to the Chapels is small and you could be forgiven for missing it in among the numerous stalls outside.
However, when we entered the Chapel of the Princes we found that renovations were being carried out. The iron "nails" that held the marble together had rusted away and bits of the roof were falling off. Some of the tombs were covered and there were large screens which meant that it was difficult to get a view of the whole Chapel. These screens had charts on the history of Henry V and his vasillating between religions to ensure his continued reign. These were interesting but still detracted from the occasion. We forgot to take our binoculars with us and so could not really appreciate the beautiful ceiling.
On to the Sacristy where we saw sepulchers sculpted by Michelangelo. Night has a definate unfinished look compared to the others.
We were a little disappointed but we did manage to see them again. - Mission accomplished.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Rasputin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
322 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
“Main chapel under restoration but don't let that dampen your visit...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

It has been under restoration since 1999 and probably will be so for a long time further. Admire the the ceiling of the dome (fully visible), than head to Michelangelo's sacristy for his masterpiece tombs containing the world-renowned sculptures of Dawn, Dusk, Day and Night. Those are the true reasons to visit, as is the architecture of the room they are located in, simple yet perfectly proportioned.

The bottom floor contains a nice collection of reliquaries and other religious decorative objects (most baroque) though they pale in comparison to those in the silver museum of the Pitti Palace.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnTheBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disapointed with collection”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

This was probably one of the biggest disappointments on our trip. After being truly excited to view Michelangelo's statues, we realized that was really all there was to see in here. The room was crazy crowded as well. Don't know if its worth the 6 Euro entrance fee, and especially no need to book reservations online for an extra 3 Euro. Don't want to say "don't go here" just need to have the proper expectations.

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank MidwestGirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cappelle Medicee also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Cappelle Medicee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing