We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy atmosphere and great home cooked food”
Review of Oltrarno 14

Oltrarno 14
Ranked #981 of 2,704 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Pitti
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy atmosphere and great home cooked food”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

If you are looking for a small restaurant serving great home cooked food then definitely try this one. It is located near the Pitti Palace away from the other more tourist type restaurants overlooking the Pitti Palace. The menu is small and offers very good Italian dishes & the wine is also reasonably priced. I tried the Eggplant Parmesan and it was one of the best I had during my stay in Florence. Only drawback is that currently the restaurant does not accept credit cards therefore make sure you have enough cash to pay for the meal!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    46
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1 review
“BEST AUTHENTIC FOOD IN FLORENCE”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This place is top notch! My family and I ate here 4 times! It was THAT good. Delicious home cooked, FRESH, just superb food, great wine, great ambiance, decor, clean - Vito the owner is adorable, attentive and sweet. This place is a MUST try.

Located on the Oltarno side of Florence, just passed the Pitti Plaza on your right. Vito's prices are EXCELLENT and his food is AMAZING. The BEST lasagne my family has EVER had. All of his "house" wines pair perfectly with his food, we were not disappointed in ANY meal we had there.

Buon Mangiare!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sadie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayette, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Eggplant Parmesan ever!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

One of the best meals we had in Florence and we've had a lot of average meals. Great atmosphere (quiet) near the Piti Palace. Excellent, friendly service. We went for lunch and only one other table was occupied. If you visit the Piti (which you should for the gardens and views at least) plan to have lunch or dinner here. Much better than the other places in the area. It's named O' 14 on the door.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great value”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A small but beautifully finished family restaurant. Very clean & comfortably furnished located near the Pitti Palace. The menu offers a good selection of antipasta, pasta and meat/fish dishes. The brushchetta was generous & tasty; the tagiatellis (bolognese ragu & fungi) pastas we chose were a good size, full of flavour and delicious. The recommended 2011 Chianti Classico (Euro18) was full, with a good fruit/acid balance. The service was attentive without being pushy and there was no pressure to extend our choices or move on. The proprietor was helpful in translating the menu offerings from Italian to English. The total cost for two, bread, wine and a doppio double espresso included, was Euro47.00 We've had dinner at more than ten local restaurants in the Oltrarno over past 3 weeks & this experience is the best yet.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheElmsBandBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a small place with great wines and a killer menu. The bolognese is the best I've ever had. The wild boar was incredibly tender. We are in Firenze for two weeks and this will be our local spot.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vegaslamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oltrarno 14 also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Oltrarno 14? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing