We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Living in the Neighborhood”
Review of Piazza del Carmine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Piazza del Carmine
Ranked #306 of 661 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Piazza del Carmine turned out to be the perfect location for our recent trip. We planned to spend a few days in Florence before taking the train down to Chiusi and driving to our villa rental. We also planned to have a couple of extra days back in Florence at the end of our trip. This place became our Florence home for both stays.

We had been though the big tourist hotel approach in the past and preferred not to repeat that experience. Rather, by settling in the Oltrarno district at Piazza del Carmine, we were able to see the real Florence, the people, the neighborhoods, and the local hangouts. At the same time, we could easily walk across the Ponte Vecchio and spend a wonderful time at the uffizi. The location was perfect.

Adrianna was a most pleasant host and , since we occupied both rooms, we felt like the place was our home. The rooms were well appointed, the art and antiques were beautiful, and the beds were extremely comfortable. Breakfast was great, providing us with just what we needed for the day.

There is no question that we would return here the next time we travel to Florence. It was just perfect for our needs. We would also recommend it to any of our friends. Our sincere thanks to Adrianna for everything.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsrocc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

What a great location in Florence and the accommodations were fantastic (best of all for the whole Italy trip). Piazza del Carmine was beautiful and Adriana was most hospitable. The continental breakfast was great and inlcuded warm pastries, cereals, yogurt, toast and fresh fruit both mornings. Adrianna was kind enough to match our schedule and had everything prepared ahead of our leaving each morning. The room (king) was beautiful and very spacious. Everything had been restored to match the period detail. Big, completely updated bathroom was attached to room too. I would HIGHLY recommend to any of my friends and family. Very reasonably priced as well. Wonderful Florence charm, location and hospitality!

Room Tip: Ask for the King room. Very spacious. Great, comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed a week at Piazza del Carmine, with Adriana and Berta (her deal old friend and companian dog). Our rooms were lovely and big, spotlessly clean and the bathrooms were very well appointed, with all modern conveniences. The only downside was the unavailability of tea and coffee making facilities when we can in after a long day sightseeing in Florence. The B&B is beautifully located within ten minutes walk of the City Centre and all the sights. Excellent value. I hope Adriana enjoyed the lavender soap and pure essential oil from New Zealand. Best regards, Tricia, John and Paula, Auckland, New Zealand.

Room Tip: Don't expect to be able to make a cuppa for yourself, and breakfast is between 8 and 10 am only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishaDel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were 2 American couples and I was looking for a certain price point for 3 nights stay. I feel like we hit the jack pot with this charming B&B in a very happening and trendy part of Florence NOT in the tourist district but just a short walk from. Everything about this 2bdrm, 2 bath place was very comfortable and Adrianna was the perfect host. Her breakfast spread is yummy on beautiful serving pieces. It's nice to be staying where your host will converse with you about the hot spots of the area in addition to great restaurants.. We were very impressed and highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindaburkhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Before we spent a month in Greve in Chianti, we spend two wonderful nights at this wonderful B&B in Florence. We couldn't have found a better place to stay! Adriana is an absolutely charming lady and her home provided us with everything we could have asked for. It is located adjacent to the Brancacci Chapel and actually looks into the cloister. The house is beautifully decorated and after a day of sightseeing offers a wonderful quite refuge on the "left bank" of Florence. Adriana is extremely helpful and recommended a restaurant that was so good we went there both nights!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

An absolute find! Cool and calm, on the "left bank" of the river in a residential area but handy to walk to all the old city sights, and with a delightful hostess who speaks several languages and knows the city well. Adjacent to the Brancacci Chapel and looking out over the cloister. What's not to love?
We had the smaller room, perfectly adequate for two, with good shower room and breakfast.
If you are desperate for constant internet, this is not for you - intermittent is the best one can say. But for a sense of being 'residents", however temporary, in the city, it was perfect. If we are lucky enough to get back to Florence, we will stay here.

Room Tip: There are only 2. Both are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingergranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Not just any B&B, but a truly great find for this city of beauty and art.
Decoration: Classic, antique furniture, antique engravings, modern paintings...very classy.
Comfortable: our room (Cavalli) was large (actually larger than it looks on the pictures), airy and we had the best shower in all of Tuscany.
Quiet: with most windows looking out onto a cloister and the Brancacci chapel (please visit the Masaccio frescoes, a must!) and a small terrace in the inner courtyard...it is the place to stay in this city so busy with tourists.
Welcome: Adrianna is a lovely hostess...we appreciated very much her quiet discretion and ultimate care in our well-being. You just need to ask! (please tell Adrianna if the Internet connection does not work...she will just need to reset it and it will work perfectly)
Breakfast: Wonderful. Everything will be there for you on the table at the desired time.
Situation: I would say ...extremely well situated...6 minutes by taxi from the train station (15 minutes by foot), 8 minutes by foot to the river...5 more to get to the Ponte Vecchio but that's if you don't stop anywhere to eat, drink or shop along the way...which is hard not to do!
And a wonderful retreat when it comes to replenish during the day (siesta?) The perfect place to stay when you plan to visit this gem of a city.
All things considered, the only 'problem' is that Adrianna only has 2 rooms so you need to book early.
Nothing is perfect!

Room Tip: Both rooms are very nice, the Cavalli is somewhat larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Casa Santo Nome di Gesu
Casa Santo Nome di Gesu
#205 of 410 in Florence
236 reviews
San Marco
B&B Lady Florence
B&B Lady Florence
#408 of 661 in Florence
141 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Faceroom Bed and Breakfast
Faceroom Bed and Breakfast
#343 of 661 in Florence
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B I Chivi
#296 of 661 in Florence
13 reviews
Le Ginestre B&B de Charme
#307 of 661 in Florence
74 reviews
B&b Ulivi di Castello
#196 of 661 in Florence
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piazza del Carmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piazza del Carmine

Address: Piazza del Carmine 18 | Vicino All'entrata Della Cappella Brancacci, 50124, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 661 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £73 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piazza del Carmine, PupaMartelli, is a small, cozy and charming B&B in the heart of Florence right next to Santa Maria del Carmine with the Brancacci Chapel and the Masaccio frescos. The B&B offers an hospitality homely and elegant for a maximum of four people in two rooms each with a private bathroom. Breakfast is served in the dining room and when the season allows in a small private court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Piazza del Carmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing