We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two great full days; very customized experience; very easy...”

Tours in Tuscany - Private Tours
Ranked #48 of 344 Tours in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Florence-based tour service company fully Licensed, offering car services for short and long-term excursions throughout Tuscany and Florence walking guided tours.Our aim is to help our clients discover and experience the true sights, sounds and flavors in the "off-the- beaten-path-Tuscany" and often combine cultural venues with enogastronomical stops.Our professional and courteous staff of locals, fluent in English, posses a profound knowledge of the area and its offerings.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Palo Alto, California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“two great full days; very customized experience; very easy...”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We were referred to Tours in Tuscany by the rental manager for the house where we were staying in Florence. From my first contact on, Marco and team were very responsive, genuinely listened, and gave us what we were actually looking for in our family vacation, rather than steering us toward a pre-set agenda. This meant that after hearing the places we wanted to go, they figured out and recommended the best way to arrange our visits to Siena, San Gimignano, Monteriggioni and three wineries, across two days with them; set up customized winery visits at some of the better, less-touristy wineries we had asked for; got us a super-knowledgeable guide in Siena (way above expectations); and also took us to the Piazza Michelangelo overlook at the end of the first day, for fun. The drivers - both Marco himself, and Giancarlo - were knowledgeable, friendly and easy to spend the day with - and helpful, with some great restaurant suggestions that again, were tuned for what we were looking for (Marco - Trattoria Il Carmine was great neighborhood fun with real local character). They made everything easy, and it was well worth it. Glad we did two days instead of one. Highly recommended, and would easily use them again - for personal travel and for business clients.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Excellent day trip (Siena and San Gimignano)”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We were picked up from our apartment on time and driven around in a very comfortable vehicle by Marco (I think there is more than one Marco working at this company). He asked us about what we wanted to see today and talked us through what he thought would be the best way to get the most out of our day. He told us about the areas we were driving through and the places we visited (Siena and San Gimignano and a Chianti winery) on our excursion. All of the places were very nice but the winery was particularly picturesque. We were dropped off outside our apartment right on time which is when we paid for the tour (minus the deposit) in cash to Marco our driver. Highly recommended excursion.
Also, the complimentary cold water in the van was brilliant!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Freemacen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A day with Marco and Leonardo”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I arranged a wine tour with Tours in Tuscany for 12 people. Their site had a pre-planned tour but a dear departed friend of mine suggested that the next time we went to Italy, we should plan a trip to San Gimignano. We didn't want to sacrifice this for the chance of having 2 wine tastings though. I contacted the company and they put together an itinerary that included all of the above. The first stop was "Sangi" since our group had a tough time saying it correctly. Leonardo proved a great tutor though and by the time we got there, everyone (including Frizzanti) was able to say it correctly. Our first wine stop was La Magia winery for a taste of Brunello di Montalcino where we toured the winery and had a fantastic lunch which was prepared and served by the owners (and out tour guides). The view from the winery was breathtaking and the owners were a delight. Leonardo did a great job of prepping us on useful "Tuscany wine facts". A trip to Montalcino and another stop in the Chianti region was also included in the tour. We all aced Leonardo's "Tuscany test" on the way back and had plenty of laughs along the way.

PS I'll bring the windshield cleaner with me on the next trip Leonardo!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JHattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great tour of a beautiful city!”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Our private tour with Tours in Tuscany was fantastic from start to finish! It was easy to book because of their quick responses and they were so accommodating about making the tour exactly what we wanted. Our tour guide Beatrice was so nice and knowledgeable - she made our tour fantastic. Our driver Marco was exceptional also. We were able to squeeze in all of the best museums of Florence as well as Pisa on the way back to our ship. No other tour company that I found was willing to do so much for us! I definitely recommend Tours in Tuscany.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 355barbaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radnor, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Fabulous!!!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We were thrilled with Tours in Tuscany. We hired them to pick 4 of us up at the Rome airport and drive us to our hotel in Florence. Marco was prompt, courteous and informative.
I wish we had arranged actual tours through the same company. We will definitely use them again!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tours in Tuscany - Private Tours also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Tours in Tuscany - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing