We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment”
Review of Dolce Vegan - CLOSED

Dolce Vegan
Price range: US$6 - US$29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: San Marco
Description: Vegan organic restaurant, bakery and store. Open every day from 12 am to 3 pm and from 7 pm to 11 pm (closed on tuesday) for lunch and dinner. Daily menu with homepasta like lasagne, ravioli, tortelli, tagliatelle, gnocchi and as well seitan and fast food dishes for second courses! Many kind of cakes and desserts, ice creams! Little store inside with several vegan organic and fair trade products, vegan cheeses, yogurt, vegan slices, seitan. Friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Try vegan and organic food in Florence!
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Very disappointed with our visit to Dolce Vegan. The food was ok, but nothing special. The atmosphere was also a disappointment, felt very sterile and boring. The staff was definitely not friendly. They gave minimum explanation on the food and were not helpful translating the menu into English.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    128
    54
    26
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lydd, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Bit of a Walk but Worth it”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Exciting menu with a wide range of interesting dishes and presented very well. Got busy from 21h00 on Friday but Ok on other nights. A pleasant change from the limited range of foods available elsewhere for vegetarians. Has an interesting style of service, more like a cross between a Starbucks and a Pub, but it works. I said a bit of a walk and it seems though the first time but its only about 10 to 15mins from the Duomo so is not out of range for tourists.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robbierunciman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Higganum, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

My mother and I walked far out of our way to enjoy a vegan meal after all the dairy we'd been forced to consume in Italy- so glad we did! The food was WONDERFUL! Really clean, tasty and fresh. I think the gnocchi ragu was the best gnocchi I had in Italy, vegan or not. The wine isn't great but the food rocked.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great vegan food”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

A Great vegan menu, there are menus in English too! A wide choice of food, main courses and deserts, and drinks too. The restaurant is a fair walk from the tourist areas but the C1 runaround bus solves that problem for those who don't want to walk 15-20 minutes.highly recommended, obviously non-vegans may prefer other options.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yondir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ok food”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Some of these other reviews must be judging the restaurant by lower standards, perhaps comparing to other vegan restaurants. It was fine. We ordered the tagliatele with seitan ragu (good but what you'd get anywhere), seitan scallopini (uninspired salty slices of seitan), and the tofu croquettes (an over-strong nutritional yeast flavor). It was all a bit too salty. Also had the chocolate panna cotta -- never had the real version, but I liked the panna cotta, didn't care for the ordinary chocolate pudding on top, and found the portion size teensy.

Hey, I'm from New York, so maybe I'm spoiled when it comes to vegan food. But I don't think any non-veg person would go to this restaurant and come away thinking it deserves 4 or 5 stars.

The place looked nice, modern but casual. The waiter was nice, although the system of no table service was problematic, with crowds of people just waiting around at the counter for a server to come by.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolce Vegan also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing