We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocked & Appalled”
Review of Albergo Bencidormi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albergo Bencidormi
Ranked #133 of 651 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Shocked & Appalled”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Stayed at Albergo Bencidormi during my trip in October 2012. The experience was dreadful. We were received by this Asian lady, whom she claimed was Roberto (the owner)'s assistant and Roberto was not coming in on that day. We were treated like immigrants. Her tone and stare was awful. She had a racist attitude in her, it's really hard not to notice it. I was pondering "Come on, I'm a paying customer for God's sake". It was really unfortunate that Roberto was not there to help us out. Such careless service should not have happen, and mind you lady, if you are living in Florence, it doesn't mean it makes you a better person. Humility defines a person, arrogance rots a person. But we left in peace as Roberto was around to send us, he is such a nice guy, and I felt sorry for his encounter with such a deplorable assistant. He should really consider handing out such a task to a cleaning lady. What do they know about service since it's not their concern.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danieru7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    66
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
99
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Came across this hostal in tripadvisor and the review is pretty good, so I decided to booked it for the trip to Firenze.

Paola and Roberto are very friendly and helpful even before we stayed at their place. Sent them a few emails for enquiries and the replies are always warm and helpful. They even helped us to book a visit to Uffizi since I had problem with the online booking.

The hostal itself is very near to the train station, restaurants and it is within walking distance to Duomo and other attraction. It is located on a small road (it is safe since you need another key for the gate and their entrance has access code), on the second floor and when we arrived, Paola gave us a hand with the luggage. We booked the room which has a bathroom inside. It is not very big but just nice for two person, warm, cozy and very clean.

Would definitely stay here again if I have a chance to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandarwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Very good and cozy hotel. It is just 5 minutes away from the railway station. Also it is very close to the cathedral and other attractions. We stayed in a small double room with private external bathroom. Room was very small, but clean and comfortable. It was pleasant to stay there! Bathroom does not have good ventilation, so sometimes it’s very hot there and it was needed to leave the door opened. They also have a good kitchen (fridge, m-v oven, plates and knives, so we had breakfast there). The atmosphere was friendly and welcoming. Next time would like stay in this hotel again!
In September 2012 we paid appr 58 eur/night for the doble room with private external bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Tallinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

My hubby and I, with our 5 and 1 year old daughters stayed here from 14th to 19th Mar 13. The hotel was beyond our expectation. Love the concept. Clean, modern and comfortable. Even our kids love it. Nice, helpful and friendly staff! :) 5 mins walk from Firenze SMN. Walking distance to San Lorenzo Market, Duomo and other attractions. We will come back to this hotel on our next trip to Florence for sure.;)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueSohfian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We ( 2 adults) stayed at Albergo Bencidormi for 3 nights in November 2012.
The hotel is centrally located about 5 mins from the Firenze Santa Maria Novella station. This is great if you coming from different parts of Italy. It is about 2 mins from the night market and Duomo and other tourist attractions are walkable from the hotel.

The room is spacious. There is a bed for two and also a sofa bed. The shower was a bit small but still comfortable. There is a shared fully equipt pantry/kitchen outside where you can use to cook some small meals or make some hot drinks.

Roberto is really friendly and helpful. He's there from 8am to about 6pm and would, without fail, give us a warm smile and ask if everything is to our liking. After hours, he has a helper who stays in the hotel in case we need anything. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Make sure to drop them an email a couple of days before your trip to update them on your arrival tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filfelicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Small room, clean, air conditioner, television, wi fi, and PC out of the room for guests to use. Small kitchen which will come in handy. 5-10 minutes walk from train station Firenze S.M. Novella. It will be a little bit difficult to find at first because it is actually some kind of apartment (need to find a bell which has the name of the hotel on it). Short walk from the hotel to Mercato Centrale, an indoor market selling food, fruits, etc which is great because Albergo Bencidormi does not provide breakfast. There is a shop inside called da Nerbone which serves great panini.
10 - 15 minutes walk to Duomo and many other attractions in walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Location = Central. Close to the train station and the main attractions (duomo, piazza della signoria) within walking distance.

Attitude = Mr Roberto greeted us with a smile and helped us with our luggage. He called the Uffizi Gallery for us and got us a reservation. Thanks to him we skipped the tremendous long lines! He also kept our luggage in the hotel even though we had checked out !

Room = Spacious. The bathroom is kind of basic but all in all it is functional and clean.

The Hotel = Fully equipped kitchen , Free Wi-Fi, Free Desktop Computer in the Kitchen Area

Price = Extremelly affordable for Florence.

Definetely staying there again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outsidetheboxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Nuova Italia
Hotel Nuova Italia
#101 of 412 in Florence
864 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#69 of 412 in Florence
1,030 reviews
San Lorenzo
Le Camere dei Conti
Le Camere dei Conti
#110 of 651 in Florence
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Bed and Breakfast Locanda di Mosconi
San Lorenzo
La Residenza di Michelangelo
La Residenza di Michelangelo
#145 of 651 in Florence
125 reviews
San Lorenzo
Locanda dei Poeti
Locanda dei Poeti
#17 of 651 in Florence
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Bencidormi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Bencidormi

Property: Albergo Bencidormi
Address: Via Faenza 69, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 651 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Bencidormi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing