We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place, felt like family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Magenta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Magenta
Ranked #276 of 421 Hotels in Florence
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, felt like family!”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I can't believe I found this place through an online coupon service, (Living Social) A quick drive from the train station. Nedde (spelling?) the owner's son was amazing! Really cute and so welcoming and eager to please! We had a lovely complimentary glass of wine in the adorable lobby/bar area, the breakfast was fantastic!!! Loved the cappachino which was fresh and didn't come from a machine. Everything was wonderful! The location was great, just a short walk to the center of town as well as the river and it's gorgeous bridges. The staff offered to make reservations for us at nearby restaurants as well as for avoiding waiting in lines for attractions. The room was marvelous!! Very comfortable, didn't have any problems with the shower as previous reviewers have mentioned. The bed was very comfortable and loved the free internet and free call each day to the US! Would recommend this hotel to everyone!!

Room Tip: Stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    57
    36
    13
    8
See reviews for
28
40
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2012

would go back; very friendly and helpful staff. even free call back to the usa. easy location near the arno river; UFFIZZI about 15 min. walk. quiet large rooms. large people won't fit in the shower. sitting area, small bar, good colatzione (sp?)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frances m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

My room was large and airy. The bed was comfortable and it was quiet. The breakfast was acceptable, especially as they make the coffee fresh and it is not out of a machine. What let it down for me was the size of the bathroom. It was too narrow even to dry yourself properly from the shower. There was nowhere to put toiletries and if I had been staying for more than one night it would have been very inconvenient. They could easily have taken a small space from the room to make the bathroom more spacious and fitted it out better.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene Christin... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel the night of New Years Eve. The rates were pretty "typical" Florence rates. While the hotel wasn’t right in the centre of “everything”, it was an easy 15 minute walk to Il Duomo. It is close to the train station (less than 10 minute walk). Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

Rooms were clean, modern and quiet. The art in the hotel was nice. They provided an excellent breakfast which was included in the rate. Only downside, no safe in the room to lock your valuables.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor and the room was quiet, no problems. Our room was not overlooking the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I always enjoyed staying at the previous hotel that the Avuri family managed. In fact I enjoyed it so much I went there twice a year for 10 years and also stayed at their wonderful hotel in Chianti, the Villa Rosa, several times. When I heard that they were running a new hotel, of course I had to stay there!
The welcome was fantastic, the room spotless and the location very central. All this for great value for money in what can be a VERY expensive city.
I will certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jscHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Very comfortable, modern and clean hotel within walking distance of all the fun in Florence and the SMN Station. The hotel is quite practical without any unwanted luxury. The mattress was excellent for my taste, the best in many stays this year. The only flaws I see were the not so good isolation from the street and sometimes you hear loud motorcycles running through the street and the shower was a bit too small.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bicimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The Hotel Magenta is a very comfortable, family-run hotel, recently opened and renovated by well-known and very hospitable Florence innkeepers, Giancarlo and Sabina Avuri.

The Avuri family also owns the charming Villa Rosa di Boscorotondo located in Panzano in Chianti. We have enjoyed numerous stays at the Villa Rosa and plan to return next July.

However, this was our first stay at the Hotel Magenta.

We found the staff to be very welcoming, helpful, and eager to please in all respects.

Our room was quiet, spotlessly clean and spacious. It had the traditional high ceilings of a Florence hotel combined with tasteful modern furniture and fixtures. The hotel also has a comfortable seating area in the lobby where guests can enjoy a glass of wine or beer.

The central location of the hotel is great. It is within easy walking distance of both the Santa Maria Novella train station and the historic center of Florence. There is a wide variety of restaurants and interesting small shops nearby. The price is right too!

We highly recommend the Hotel Magenta and have already booked our room for next July.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneToronto_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Borgo
Hotel Borgo
#270 of 421 in Florence
112 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Tourist House
Hotel Tourist House
#246 of 421 in Florence
152 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Boccaccio
Hotel Boccaccio
#211 of 421 in Florence
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#255 of 421 in Florence
245 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#124 of 421 in Florence
573 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
De Rose Palace Hotel
De Rose Palace Hotel
#213 of 421 in Florence
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magenta

Property: Hotel Magenta
Address: Via Montebello 40, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Magenta 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Magenta is a small family hotel run by the Avuri family, located in the historical center of Florence. Thanks to its strategic position you can easily reach both the Renaissance heart of Florence with its museums, the cathedral and historical buildings, Fortezza da Basso and Palazzo dei Congressi and the new "Music and Culture Park ". Hotel Magenta is also located within walking distance of the Polimoda International Institute of Fashion and Design, the American Consulate and the central railway station of Santa Maria Novella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Magenta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing