We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Location, Language Barrier”
Review of Hotel Magenta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Magenta
Ranked #272 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent Location, Language Barrier”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights at the Magenta Hotel. It's about a 8 minute walk to the train station and 10 minute walk to most sights in the city of Florence. For the first few nights, we appreciated being a little bit outside of the hustle bustle and having a quiet street to stay off of. The breakfast each morning was nice (croissants, espresso) and there are a few good restaurants near by and the rooms are clean.

Now for the bad news...
We had booked Hotel Magenta for 4 nights (Sunday-Thursday AM checkout) the first night of our arrival, we went into our room and found the toilet to be leaking all over the bathroom. The owner relocated us to a slightly bigger room and we settled in. On Wednesday morning, we still were scheduled to stay that night but the staff asked us for our hotel key (something they hadn't done the previous 3 days). We told them we still had another night at the hotel but due to a language barrier I don't think they understood. We left them our keys thinking it was something they normally do but just forgot to ask us before.

When we returned, they acted surprised to see us back. We told them they had our key and they scrambled to figure out what happened. The front desk worker told us there was a leak in our room so they had to move our stuff. Come to find out, they needed our "bigger" room for another occupant and moved all of our belongings without contacting us or ANY notification. All of our luggage, personal items and valuables were moved to a completely different floor. When we talked to the manager the next day, he said he was sorry and gave us a discount on our stay.

I would not recommend this hotel based on my experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    60
    36
    13
    8
See reviews for
28
42
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The hotel is all that I wanted, and the prices were fair. The room was modern and spotless, the bed was comfortable. I took the three flights of stairs each time, but there is an elevator. Complementary wireless internet was fast with coverage in my room. The breakfast was free and on par with all of the other breakfasts I've had while in Italy. The staff was friendly, and accommodating in Italian/English/Spanish/French (that I heard).

ONE IMPORTANT NOTE - The address is 40 (Black)...not 40 (Red), your GPS might get it wrong.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have less ambient noise, but you might have a longer trip up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveShumway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

good hotel- near the Fiume river .
location 15 min from the central train station (Santa maria novla) by walking .
u can definitely walk to all of the sites.
clean hotel. simple breakfast.
small bathroom

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orel2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

we loved it!! clean; close to everything; owners, their son, and dog of course, made us feel like family. two women traveling together could not have felt more safe. would go back next trip to florence.

Room Tip: try to get a room not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

A great location. Only a short walk from the train station. Handy to the river and to the main town. Easy access at front entrance. We stayed in a wheelchair accessible room on the first floor. The room was very spacious and clean. there is a great spacious bathroom with a tiled wet floor shower . The lift to the first floor was very narrow and any wheelchair wider then 650mm wouldn't fit although there may be an accessible room on the groud floor. Basic breakfast, friendly staff. Definitely recommend

Room Tip: There is a bit of noise in rooms facing road, but not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

This hotel is near the Amrigo Vespuci bridge on the city side of the Arno and about a 12 minute walk from the Ponte Vecchio. The room was clean, comfortable, not too large, but not too small either. The breakfast was good but not as extensive as some I have had. The staff was extremely helpful especially pointing out good places for dinner in the neighborhood. It is a good value in an otherwise rather expensive city.

Room Tip: I had a room on the ground floor and expected it to be noisy, but it was not and I had no trouble ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallasbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The good:

20 minute walk from Duomo and center of town. Owner very helpful and willing to show you attractions

The bad:

Terrible breakfast (worst I've had in Italy). Very poor selection and stale pastry. The room had a musty smell to it and the ones not facing the street is literally two feet from someone else's window. If you have your window open you can hear them talking like they're right next to you..and the mosquitos will really get you. At the same time, the AC in one of our rooms was not working, so we had no option but to leave it open. The elevator is tiny, fitting two people and two luggages at most. Not a bad place to crash for a night or two and if you're not too picky about room quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Borgo
Hotel Borgo
#262 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Tourist House
Hotel Tourist House
#242 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Boccaccio
Hotel Boccaccio
#217 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Executive Florence
Hotel Executive Florence
#102 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#116 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
De Rose Palace Hotel
De Rose Palace Hotel
#211 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magenta

Property: Hotel Magenta
Address: Via Montebello 40, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Magenta 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Magenta is a small family hotel run by the Avuri family, located in the historical center of Florence. Thanks to its strategic position you can easily reach both the Renaissance heart of Florence with its museums, the cathedral and historical buildings, Fortezza da Basso and Palazzo dei Congressi and the new "Music and Culture Park ". Hotel Magenta is also located within walking distance of the Polimoda International Institute of Fashion and Design, the American Consulate and the central railway station of Santa Maria Novella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Magenta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing