We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good, almost Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Firenze Suites & Spa
Ranked #5 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Yanbu, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very Good, almost Excellent”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

A couple staying 2 nights, the checkin perfect, atmosphere perfect, breakfast perfect, very friendly. We had a car rental and decided not to drive it to this hotel. It was cheaper for us to keep the car as far as renting went, we parked it at the airport and took a taxi. Great Idea! The location was perfect. We had an Executive Suite. The bed was so very comfortable. This was one of our best stays as far as hotels go in Italy, we stayed in 7 hotels in various cities.

*The vendors on the street come in really early in mornings and you can hear the street noise. Also the bed made really loud creaking noises with any movement.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldwingnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S F, Direttore generale at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Goldwingn
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. It is always nice to hear such kind words about our team and their excellent service. We are thankful for considering us your best stay in Italy. And as you wrote, it is always a good idea to “live” Florence by foot, as our city is renown as being one of the Earth's most pedestrian-friendly cities; and our strategic position, right in the middle of the center, gives our guests the possibility to simply forget their cars, and directly walk within two minutes to five of the major interest point of Florence. We are very sorry that you found some inconvenient during your rest, and we hope that you will come back to visit us in 2014!
Do not hesitate to contact directly our reception : for You and for Your friends and family, we are glad to offer the special code” LOYAL” to get a wonderful discount on our suites!
With Kind Regards
Micol Fargion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    70
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
144
325
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Magnificent - Do not go anywhere else. Do yourself a favour and stay here! Location is perfect right in the centre if Florence. Staff are polite and extremely helpful.

My only problem was I only had one night to enjoy the wonderful city and really lovely hotel - next time it will be with the Missus and we'll stay for a few days.

My room was perfect - really well appointed. bathroom was clear and modern uneven had a small kitchen.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S F, Direttore generale at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Tom B,
Thank you for choosing our hotel as location for your short stay in Florence, and especially for finding the time to review us on Tripadvisor, sharing your experience with other people. Your words are for us a great reward for our efforts, but also an inspiration to keep improving our service.
We hope to see you soon, together with your wife and for a longer stay. You will be able to enjoy our romantic private Spa, with a Jacuzzi, the Hammam and the Sauna, and also the possibility to book various types of massages. Our staff will also be glad to help you booking museums, personal guides, organize trips in the Chianti countryside with private drivers, dinners in the best Florence’s restaurants and any other need you might have.
Do not hesitate to contact directly our reception : for You and for Your friends and family, we are glad to offer the special code” LOYAL” to get a wonderful discount on our suites!

Looking forward to have you again in 2014, please accept our wishes for a beautiful new year filled with peace and gladness.
Best Regards
Micol Fargion - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Where can I begin. My now Fiancé contacted the hotel in advance planning a proposal, and the hotel (In particular Barbara) went to time and effort to sort out the perfect day for us! Including time in the spa, arranging taxis for sunset of Piazza Michelangelo, and the perfect restaurant. All staff knew, and managed to keep a secret well as well as making us feel so welcome. Of course I said yes, but were all so excited for us. All staff are amazing, so friendly and chatty, and interested. The rooms were really lovely, so clean and big, we went for a junior suite which was perfect for us. No noise outside or from other rooms. Views of the Bargello, and close to everything needed to be seen. Lovely unique kitchenette disguised as a wardrobe which we thought was great. We had no problem at all with breakfast! Lovely variety of croissants, toasts, fruit, cereals, sausage, bacon, scrambled egg and cheeses etc. Cappuccinos were out of this world and staff very friendly. This really has been the best hotel we have ever been to, and we're very sad to leave. We will be back and would recommend to anyone. Florence is a beautiful place and this is the perfect hotel to say. Would love to say thank you again to all the staff, you have created so many memories for us.

From the future Mr and Mrs Potten!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S F, Direttore generale at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank You for spending Your time in doing a review of our hotel !
we assure You that it has been a pleasure for us to be part of such an important event of Your life: it has been an honor to be chosen as a hotel for Your marriage proposal . Our staff is glad to have been able to help in the organization: having been involved, has made us feel Your immense happiness!
Thank You for the wonderful comments about our staff , we will not hesitate to tell them, we are glad that You have enjoyed the breakfast in the bar next door and thanks for sharing Your experience here at San Firenze Suites with all the tripadvisor readers!
We hope You will have the opportunity to come back to Florence in the next future , it will be a pleasure for us to organize Your next stay here!
Do not hesitate to contact directly our reception : for You and for Your friends and family, we are glad to offer the special code” LOYAL” to get a wonderful discount on our suites!
With Kind Regards
Micol Fargion - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Very comfortable room with a unique kitchen in a "period" wardrobe. Fantastic bathroom. Centrally located with all the major sites in walking distance. Plenty of restaurants nearby to choice from. Friendly, knowledgable desk staff. Breakfast was disappointing with poor service and undersupplied buffet, broken toaster and pokey breakfast room. Asked for the hot breakfast to be replenished, could not be done. Looking past the breakfast, a great place to stay to see and experience Florence.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feebs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S F, Proprietario at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Feebs4 ,
thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel !
the structure of the kitchenette in the rooms, often surprising each of our customers and it is our pleasure to know that you have enjoyed this detail of this decor!
The central location allows all of our customers also appreciate the Tuscan cuisine, thanks to the many restaurants around here , we are pleased that our staff has been able to properly advise on where to go for lunch and dinner here in Florence!
We are very sorry that the bar next to the hotel could not offer breakfast as required : it is an external service to us , we always try to control every detail , this unfortunately is not always enough . Obviously, from our part , we are always available to help our customer in any needs and will work at the best to make them improve this service!
hope you can come back and visit us in the near future , it will be our pleasure for us to offer you a magnificent breakfast!
Hope to see You soon again, do not hesitate to contact our front desk for a special quote for Your next holiday!
With Kind Regards
Micol Fargion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

There is a consistency to the reviews of San Firenze that is quite telling. Everyone seems to appreciate the central location, the size and quality of the rooms and the amazing service from the front desk team and I can only repeat the praise.
Central Florence is easy enough to navigate on foot but we really appreciated the location of San Firenze, which meant a short walk in any direction got you to the must see places.
The Suites are housed in an unassuming building on a lively Piazza and apart from the rooms there isn't anything there other than the small reception area, a breakfast area/cafe accessible from the street and the rooms themselves. In other words, it's not a standard hotel and if you want somewhere with lots of other amenities this may not be the place for you.
The rooms are wonderfully clean, very spacious and well furnished. We found the large bed very comfortable. An open window allows the sounds of the Piazza to drift into your room or keep it shut to ensure a quiet night.
What really sets San Firenze apart is the wonderful team of people that make you so welcome. From many years of international travel I cannot recall being so impressed. Long before we arrived we received great advice and help on transferring from Pisa airport. We also enquired about the 72 hour Firenze card (highly recommended if you plan to visits lots of the main venues - it's cheaper and avoids the worst of the queues at the Uffizi) that covers entry to most of the sights and were delighted when the team offered to purchase the card and they had it waiting for us on arrival. Throughout our 5 night stay they continued to assist and advice in a wonderfully friendly and knowledgable manner. Thank you Barbara, Lavinia, Elena and Loran for helping make our time in Florence so memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0yB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S F, Proprietario at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear R0yB_12 ,
thanks for your kind review , it is a pleasure for us that you have found the time to review our hotel: this helps all readers understand all our efforts to offer the best service we can!
The central location is certainly one of the greatest strengths , as you described , everything is at a distance so small , that you can reach any point on foot!
every detail of the hotel has been studied in detail by specialists in the field of architecture and interior design : the windows with double glazing are in fact the best solution to enable all our customers to relax in peace in their rooms !
Our staff is always available to help you with anything , it will be a pleasure to bring them your thanks and greetings !
If this time you have had the opportunity to visit Florence and its museums , the next one we will be happy to arrange tours to the Chianti hills and around Tuscany , to admire every single beauty around us!
do not hesitate to contact us for your next stay , our staff will be glad to offer you the best price with a special discount for our Loyal guests!
With Kind Regards
Micol Fargion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights. We have enjoyed it very much. Excellent location near Ufizzi, many reastaurants and shops around, very nice friendly staff who can understand and speak English and always willing to help, nice room everything is thought off although a bit claustrophobic due to placing of furnitures! breakfast can be improved, extremely small and slow elevator which is the only mean to go to rooms, still we highly recommend it!

Helpful?
Thank Mehtap Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
S F, Proprietario at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Mehtap Y,
we thank You for Your kind review and for sharing with other readers on Tripadvisor Your experience in our hotel.
It is our great pleasure to know that You have enjoyed our staff service, we are always glad to help!
Each room or area of the hotel has been designed by architects and interior designers , who have been worked at the best in order to bring out the best from the inside space of this building , which dates back to the 17th century , to allow each room to maintain its structure , beautiful ceiling frescoes and, at the same time, provide all the comforts to make our guests’ stay memorable!
Breakfast , an external service to our hotel , is a plus that we are happy to arrange for all our customers, who can of course choose to have it in the morning until 11 am , directly in the bar next door, with a choice of full American breakfasts buffet service or a simple cappuccino and croissant at the bar desk , like any typical Florentine person!
We hope to see You soon again here, do not hesitate to contact our booking department to get the best rate for You!
Kind Regards
Micol Fargion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Following the conclusion of a business trip in anothe part of Italy, I had 1.5 days to spend as free time and opted to take the train to Florence. I was solo for my brief holiday and wanted to find a hotel in a central location with all of the amenities - and I hit the jackpot with my selection of San Firenze Suites and Spa!

Accommodations - amenities include marble / tile bathrooms, nicely appointed rooms with similar comforts to Heavenly bed (down comforter).
Location - couldn't get any better. in the heart of Florence, and a stones throw from Uffizi, Museo Gucci and Piazza Signora. Also very close walking distance to Duomo / baptistry and Ponte Vecchio bridge. Despite the central location, rooms are quiet and I had a very restful night's sleep
Staff- so friendly and helpful. They even provided suggestions where I could buy quality leather jacket not massed produced (ie, in all the tourist shops).
View - check out my room with a view. I stayed in Deluxe room on 3rd floor. If there are availabiities on 3rd or 4th floor, ask upon check-in. My room had a partial view of Duomo dome and Campanile
Only downside - I didn't want to leave this hotel or Florence by the time my trip ended. I would definitely welcome this gem of a hotel to those traveling solo or couples / honeymooners. Whenever I go back to Florence, I will stay here again!

Room Tip: Go for a "Room with a View" -3rd or 4th floor if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S F, Proprietario at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear DocErin,
thank You for Your review , it is always a pleasure for us to receive comments on the stay of our customers, we especially thank You for describing our hotel as “gem of a hotel to those traveling solo or couples / honeymooners”
Define our beds " Heavenly Bed " is a great pleasure for us , we are glad that You were able to relax at the best in our suites
Surely one of the greatest strengths of the hotel, is, as You indicated, being in the center of those who are to be visited all the main monuments of Florence; also located a few steps from what is one of the oldest leather markets of the city, where You can buy beautiful jackets (we hope You found what You were looking for!)
As the hotel is so central, it also gives the gorgeous views from every room , overlooking the Chapel of the Duomo, the Bargello Museum and Piazza San Firenze .
We hope to have You here again soon and that You have the opportunity to stay with us a few more days , it will be a pleasure to organize for You trips to the secret streets of the city and the hills of Florence tours!
Do not hesitate to contact us for Your next vacation, You will have the best rate!
Best Regards
Micol Fargion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 422 in Florence
1,202 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 422 in Florence
3,135 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 422 in Florence
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 422 in Florence
308 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 422 in Florence
887 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Firenze Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Firenze Suites & Spa

Property: San Firenze Suites & Spa
Address: Piazza San Firenze, 3/a, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Firenze Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an aristocratic residence dating to the 17th century, formerly home to the noble Florentine families Raffacani and Sacchetti and restored by the architect Marianna Gagliardi, the San Firenze Suites & SPA enjoys an enviable position in the splendid Piazza San Firenze next to the Piazza della Signoria and the Uffizi Gallery and across from the impressive Bargello museum. Thanks to its location in the heart of the city, all the main points of historical and cultural interest as well as the most important shopping streets, including Via Tornabuoni, with the shops of great Italian designers such as Prada, Gucci, Roberto Cavalli, Valentino, Ferragamo etc., Are within easy walking distance. Immersed in the atmosphere of historic Florence, San Firenze Suites & SPA was designed based on the boutique-hotel concept and offers the ideal place to experience the city in a unique and exclusive way. Fourteen suites provided with all modern comforts harmoniously combine Italian design style with the expertly recovered original architecture to offer spacious and elegant rooms in a perfect symbiosis of elegance, style and warm welcome for a truly unique and unforgettable holiday. You will discover the pleasure of not being just a customer in a grand hotel, but rather a "friend visiting Florence", with all of our staff ready to fulfil your particular requests. The state-of-the-art spa can be reserved for exclusive use and offers special moments of well-being and relaxation. All areas of the hotel are covered by Wi-Fi, offering free internet access to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your San Firenze Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing