We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The little hidden Gem of Florence”
Review of Jessy's Bar

Jessy's Bar
Ranked #1,159 of 2,704 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Neighbourhood: Pitti
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The little hidden Gem of Florence”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

we are chefs, and since we got Italy 4 weeks ago we have had high expectations of the food. but since we have been in tourist areas we have found nothing to rave about. Its always over prices and the food is not, lets say, too good.
while getting lost in FLorence, we stumbled across things little snack bar. We won't lie, it was the 5 euro pasta on the black board out the front that caught our attention. So we decided to look at the menu. the menu was very small but enough. We ate 2 pastas, a caprese salad, 1/2 of wine and a cappuccino for 21 euros.
The food was simple, but some times simple is enough. it was tasty and filling.
it was away from the main tourist attractions, it was quite , and cosy, and you were able to relax.
We throughly enjoy the whole experience and we would go back and recommend it to any body.
:D

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nataly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Simple is a good word”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Simple little place that has great coffee, amazing home cooked meals that change daily. The lasagne is so good and we also had the Rigatoni in a spicy pepper sauce, mmmm! I have to go by for the salads they look so good as well.
It is just a local little place but friendly and casual. All you want for a nice, quiet tasty lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SadieTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best pasta, best price”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My boyfriend and I ate at Jessy's bar a couple of days ago. The lasagna and the truffle ravioli was so good, we had to come back! The menu changes everyday, which forced us to try the gnocchi and the seafood spaghetti, which were both just as good as our first dishes. Each item is 5 euros, which put Jessy's Bar among the best values we found in Florence, and the portions are generous! The tiramisu is fantastic, as well! Can't wait to come back the next time we visit the city.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jinju L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
123 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Budget option near city center”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Sometimes the only thing you want is a place to have a light meal so you can continue walking the city without spending much time in a restaurant. This place is nice, service is friendly, food is good. You dont need to pay extra to have a table, wifi is free.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luciana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
2 reviews
“Great place”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

I studied abroad in Florence for 4 months. Jessy's Bar was my favorite place to eat and chat with locals. The owner, Jessy, and the cook, Adriana, are friendly and welcoming. I recommend the fresh salads (my favorites were the greek salad and the mozzarella) and the primi piatti (their ragu sauce is great!). Definitely try their red wine, its cheap but good. After your meal the coffee is a must have.

At lunch time (between 12 and 1:30) it gets busy with locals and tourists. If you come during non peak times, it is a good place to grab a coffee, read a book and connect to the internet (wirelessly).

If you are by the Palazzo Pitti or walking through the Boboli gardens, stop by this bar and skip the overpriced restaurants.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jessy's Bar also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Jessy's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing