We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay in Florence”
Review of Room Mate Isabella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Room Mate Isabella
Ranked #43 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay in Florence”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This hotel is right in the heart of the downtown area and you can walk to all the major attractions from the hotel. We have stayed at other Room Mate hotels and you can never go wrong with these hotels. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable and the staff extremely helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Isabella, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Marcia,

what a nice surprise! You have stayed at Room Mate more times and you have seen that Isabella is just another "friend" who welcome people at her "house" and city. The experience you had with us is the main goal we can score and, trust us, Room Mate will be there to provide you with this feels anywhere you can find us.

So... see you again soon!

Kindest regards,

Luca Albonetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    135
    31
    2
    1
See reviews for
63
267
33
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

The coziness and homey atmosphere of this hotel made our stay a very memorable one. We did not expect that this hotel will be in a very great location. The warm and personalised service of the staff was much appreciated especially after a tiring trip. The hotel is near the train station, Santa Maria Novella and other key places in Florence. The hotel also referred a very good private tour guide when we went to the Tuscan region for the day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Isabella, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Sarina,

it is always so rewarding to read how good you felt while staying with us! Actually, "Isabella" would like to be a "friend" of reference in this marvellous city and provide guests with a Room Mate experience: nothing makes us happier than finding out that you had it. Location, personal service, comfortable sleep... we always think about our guests.

Thank you so much for your words and hope you will go and meet the other Room Mate "friends".

Kind regards,

Luca Albonetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at the Room Mate Isabella for 4 nights. The hotel staff was great. Very helpful with carrying bags, making coffee and eggs at breakfast, lending us an iPhone charger, and making restaurant suggestions. Our room was very large for just a room with a king size bed and the bathroom was a good size too. The room was a little dark with having only one small window with a view of an alley but not a big deal.

A few negatives were that the shower was weird! It was a tub with glass around half of it and a shower head mounted in the center of the tub. Showering was very challenging if you didn't want to spray water everywhere. Also, there are many flights of steps in this hotel. We only took the tiny old elevator once when we arrived and that was with the help of the bellhop. We didn't see anyone use it any other time than when they first arrived. So you're expected to take the stairs. Two flights just to get to the front desk and then more to whatever floor your room is on. It wasn't too bad for me and my husband but I would probably not recommend this hotel to either of our parents. A llittle tiring after you've been out exploring the city by foot all day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Isabella, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Kathleen,

thank you so much for leaving your opinion here.

Isabella is set in a very old building this gives "her" the cosy and unique atmosphere together with the nice decor; it is important what you specify about our stairs to get to the lift and we are glad you have seen that we are willing to help and the bellboy is ready to this extent any time there is the need to.

We everyday day make improvements and are sure that your will notice them on your next visit to Isabella.

Kind regards,

Luca Albonetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed in Isabella last week for 3 nights. The pros: Very nicely decorated, clean, large room. Perfect location. Nice, large bathroom, although the shower itself was very small. The front desk staff were wonderful, especially Simona, every one of them was friendly and helpful. The porters and waiters were great too.

The cons: Very little water pressure (in room on 3rd floor), I moved to the second floor for one night and the pressure in that room was a bit better. The rooms are quite dark, I asked for an extra lamp (which they gave me right away), but it didn't help much. Oh, and my card key didn't let me access my room (gave me an error message) about half the time I used it, it had to be reset.

Overall this place is very good, I would def. stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Isabella, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Jordana,

thank you so much for sharing you experience here.

We are glad that our personal service was appreciated and we have told Simona about your kind words. We also let you know that we have taken note of your precious suggestions so that your next stay will be even more satisfying.

Best regards,

Luca Albonetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The staff at this hotel is very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly, and the breakfast servers deserve special recognition for their cheer and efficiency! Location is great, close to many attractions, but bear in mind that you will walk up two flights of stairs (gentle stairs, though - wide and not tall) with whatever bags you brought before you reach the reception area. Elevators can take you to your room afterwards. Our first room was beautiful with a soft, comfortable mattress, unlike some hard European mattresses. The staff helped us make reservations for attractions and accommodated a room switch when our first room turned out to have a very leaky shower-over-tub configuration. There was half of a glass shower door over a tub instead of a curtain, and the glass door was not sealed to the tub, so unfortunately we drenched the bathroom floor with water to the extent that it was threatening to destroy the hardwood floor of the main room. We moved to a second room with an incredibly tiny, yet enclosed, shower box. We felt optimistic about this until we tried to shower. Possibly because the second room was on a higher floor, it had basically no water pressure and little hot water, so it was difficult to get clean, let alone turn around in the box (we are not large people either). The second room was decorated with very dark wallpaper and had almost no lighting, so it did not have a cheerful ambiance. I think that with bathroom improvements and higher wattage light bulbs, this hotel could be the chic, eclectic boutique hotel it wants to be.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catla2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Isabella, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

we kindly thank you for informing us about your stay at/with "Isabella" here. It is nice to read that you enjoyed your overall stay and our staff have been happy to provide you with a very good service. We would like to thank you for communicating the aspects that need improvement: we constantly strive to make everythin more and more efficient and comforable, so your suggestions are precious.

We cannot wait to welcome you again and give you soem even more enjoyable days in Florence.

Best regards,

Luca Albonetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in a superb location. Unable to take shower in the morning because of low hot water pressure. Told staff and they did nothing. Oh well just don't take a shower in the morning was basically their answer. Nice breakfast, clean rooms but no hot water. I would highly recommend this hotel if they would or could fix their plumbing problem

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario P, Manager at Room Mate Isabella, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the comment you have left here and for sharing it with us.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience and have spoken with the staff because they always do their best to help our visitors and they are also sorry about not facilitating you the best solution. We would like to communicate you that we already took care of it and water pressure is fixed and stable.

We thank you for your feedback as it has helped us to provide our visitors a better service.

We trust on giving you a fully satisfying experience on your next visit to Florence.

Kindest regards
Mario Parisio, Direttore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A beautiful hotel that is located in a very posh area of Florence.

The first thing you will notice when arriving at Isabella is that you are in a very nice area of town, the hotel itself is above Gucci, across the road from Bvlgari and up the road from Prada.
The second thing you notice is the reception is on the 1st floor, there are stairs and no lift :-( the good thing is the hotel is geared up for it. Before we had headed up the stairs a staff member had arrived to assist with the bags. From the 1st floor to the rooms there is a small lift.

The rooms were decorated beautifully if a little dark with few lights. My wife did have a complaint that there was no dressing table with mirror and place to plug in hair items. This was however a small bugbear.

Breakfast was standard continental breakfast fair but with excellent coffee.

The hotel is perfectly placed in Florence for walking around the town, we actually walked from the hotel to the train station when we left as it was so close.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Isabella, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Visitor,

we have just read your comment here in this page and we are pleased that you enjoyed your days at "Isabella".

As you point out, Room Mate Isabella is located in an exclusive area of the city centre of Florence and the "personality" of the hotel fits in it perfectly. We would like to thank you for your suggestions, as we are always improving each detail of our service: it is important for us to know how to make your next visit here even more enjoyable.

We look forward to seeing you again here and send you our dearest regards,

Luca Albonetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#46 of 411 in Florence
1,130 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#12 of 411 in Florence
280 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#45 of 411 in Florence
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#61 of 411 in Florence
1,362 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Isabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Isabella

Property: Room Mate Isabella
Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 13, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#56 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#95 Family Hotel in Florence
#97 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Isabella 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Isabella is a modern design hotel located right in the historic centre in a 19th century building within a 5 min. walk from the Duomo, the Cathedral of Florence. Renovated in 2013, the rooms feature free Wi-Fi, 37'' flat TV, double-glazing soundproof windows, complimentary buffet breakfast until noon 12:00, bell boy and a reading-room perfect for enjoying the Palazzo Strozzi views while savoring a fine wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Room Mate Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Room Mate Isabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergotto Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing