We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but a disgusting smell permeates the hotel!”
Review of Hotel Ambasciatori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #203 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good location but a disgusting smell permeates the hotel!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Location - fantastic. Opposite the main railway station, above the bus depot, 10 mins away from Duomo and just a bit further for a whole range of sites. Very handy.

Reception - really lovely and helpful.

Wifi is totally unreliable. Can't get access in rooms and in the common areas, you will lose connection very regularly. We had to use our 3G instead.

Breakfast - pretty average

Hotel is used by many tourist groups - there are heaps of people around all the time - so if you need to ask reception a question, you may need to queue a while. And there are 2 tiny lifts that service the entire 5 level massive hotel. Be prepared to take the stairs.

Rooms are comfortable and clean. Showers have inconsistent pressure and temperature - changing from cold to hot during the shower.

Turnover service. Beware. We asked for our room not to be disturbed. We got back and housekeeping had been in the room.

And what is with the smell!!!??! There is this disgusting smell (sewerage?) that is in the hallways. It's disgusting and makes you want to vomit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapoStruttura, Responsabile reception at Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear sweetpk

thank you very much for having taken the time to review the hotel. I apologize for the issues with the wi-fi, we are working to have the entire system redone so at the moment we are experiencing some issues with the coverage of the wi-fi in the rooms. However in the reception and bar areas the wi-fi works without any issues. I am sorry if you had to wait to receive assistance from the reception. The two receptionists on duty always try to be as efficient as possible, however some times during the day are more buisy than others. The reception staff always tries to assist the guests to full satisfaction and in a cordial way so at times it is possible that you may have to wait a couple of minutes before receiving assistance. I would like to apologize if your wait was particularly long. I am happy to note that you were happy with the service and assistance you received from the staff when you needed their assistance. I am not sure of the particular situation with the room cleaning but I do apologize if there was any confusion with the maid. I am not sure what period you satyed in our hotel, but I have not been made aware by either other guests or by the staff of strange odors in the corridors of the hotel. I will be sure to continue to monitor the situation and rectify any possible issues that will come to my attention. I will be glad to personally oversee your next stay in the event of a future trip to our lovely city.

Kind regards
Andrea Masi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    509
    218
    78
    57
See reviews for
203
558
37
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

modern, clean, and very large comfortable rooms... Across the street from the train station and walking distance from the center of everything. Great restaurant next door. Good breakfast and nice staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCristy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapoStruttura, Responsabile reception at Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear sweeth

thank you very much for your very positive review. We are always happy to know that our hard work pays off when we receive comments from guests that have enjoyed their stay. I will forward your compliments to the entire staff. We look forward to having you again in our hotel.

Kidn regards
Andrea Masi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We got moved to this hotel from 'Hotel Firenze' as their AC was not working ( it is their sister hotel).

Amazing hotel, good location, very cosy and clean. We wanted to take the room with us! Massive bathroom and luxirious. A magical stay!

Staff- friendly and kind.

Breakfast- average, lots of choose from, but this didn't blow me away.

Rooms- massive, spacious. We were in 105 (first floor).

Value for money! Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapoStruttura, Responsabile reception at Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear sweeth

thank you very much for your very positive review. We are always happy to know that our hard work pays off when we receive comments from guests that have enjoyed their stay. I will forward your compliments to the entire staff. We look forward to having you again in our hotel.

Kidn regards
Andrea Masi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on 22 and 23 july 2013. I travelled around Italy by train so the hotel for me was extremely convenient literally being 1 minute across the road from Florence Santa Maria Novella station. The hotel is extremely central to all the sights of Central Florence. The San Lorenzo markets are five minutes walk. The Duomo is about a ten minute walk. The academia and the uffici are both within 20 minutes walk from hotel. There is also a post office at the train station which is very convenient also.
After i booked the hotel i was concerned about some of the reviews. Yes its a busy hotel cause the tour companies use it. But i found the staff very helpful and not rude at all. Would say that wifi in room is not always good but i found better reception in the bar lounge on level A. My room was very small but fully renovated. This did not bother me as i spent both days i was there walking the city. The bar buffet at evening is great value for 10 euros. In summary a great hotel and i would stay again but hopefully get a bigger room next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Con C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapoStruttura, Responsabile reception at Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Con C,

thank you for the positive comments you have written about the hotel. We are always happy to see that our hard work allows our guests to enjoy our great city to the fullest. I am sorry if you have not found the room size to your full satisfaction. If you book again in our hotel please feel free to contact me directly a few days before your arrival so I can personally assign your room in advance. We look forward to having you again in our hotel.

Andrea Masi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our friends in Italy helped us found this hotel. It's newly renovated. Everything is clean and new. The location is amazing. Close to everything and right across the street from the train station.
We enjoyed the breakfast buffet, lots of selection and the waiter/waitress was friendly.
Front desk and service was not very professional in general. They seems not care about what they do, and can be careless about your need.
If you know where to go, don't need lots of direction and help, this is not a bad hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faithandhope20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapoStruttura, Responsabile reception at Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Faithandhope20,

thank you for the time you have taken to review our hotel. I would like to thank you for the positive comments that you have written. I do apoligize however if the hotel's staff appeared anything less than fully professional. I am not aware if there was any particular situation in the days of your stay but this would not be of any excuse if the service offered by the staff of the hotel. I will be sure to speak to the whole of the hotel's staff to underline the importance of the on-shift attitude as well as precision and kindness towards the guest. I hope you will stay again in our hotel to give us an opportunity to correct the blemished impression that the staff has given you.

Andrea Masi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel was in a great location--easy to walk to various sights. The room was very modern in decor and was much larger than most of the hotel rooms in Italy. It was very clean. Wifi available in individual rooms. The view out the window was nothing to speak of (overlooked the bus terminal) but we didn't spend any time in room so who cares! The hair dryer wasn't working and I called down to the desk and they brought a replacement one until they could fix it--which they did the next day. They were very responsive. Breakfast was ok--nothing special--but it did the trick. Although the hotel is located on a very busy street across from the train station, we felt safe enough to walk the neighborhood without any difficulties.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachie909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapoStruttura, Responsabile reception at Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear beachie909,

I thank you very much for the time you have taken to comment on our hotel. I am very pleased that your stay was an enjoyable one. I am sorry that the hairdryer in your room was broken but I am happy to see that the hotel's staff was able to resolve the situation quickly and effectively. I am also glad to verify that the city's police patrol guarantees security to the city's visitors. We look forward to having you again in our hotel for your next visit to our great city.

Andrea Masi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

.I booked a suite for our honeymoon as we were only staying one night and thought we would splash out, the pictures of the suites on the hotel website appear to be quite large with a sofa and table and chairs with room to move around, exactly what you would expect from a suite.

Not the case, we had a tiny room with a sofa shoved in a corner with only space for the bed. We had a balcony but it overlooked the bus station and there were no chairs or anything out there to sit on anyway. We tried out the jacuzzi bath tub but again this struggled to start and a massive hair floated out into the bath as it had not been flushed through for a while....money has been spent on communal areas but nothing is very well looked after. It seems a false representation of what you actually get. Very disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank e_bunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapoStruttura, Responsabile reception at Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear e_bunting,

we thank you for the time that you have taken to comment on the hotel. We believe that every comment, both positive and negative, is very useful to us to always improve our service. I am sorry that you have not found your assinged room to meet with your expectations. Not all the rooms in our hotel are the same, even within the same room category (standard, superior, etc.). This is due, as with most hotels in Italy, to the fact that the hotel occupies a building that was not originally built as a hotel but it was rather renovated and restructured into a hotel. This means that the rooms are not carbon copies of one another. All the rooms which are sold within a particular room type meet minimum requirements that you can find detailed both on our website and on all sites in which our hotel is sold. Some however are larger, and have different shapes. You do not mention that you have notified the hotel's staff during your stay. If you had done so we could have had the opportunity to offer you other rooms in which to move. Unfortunately we could not have done anything about the fact that the hotel is near the train station and that our junior suite's balconies face onto the fron of the building. I hope to have you again in your next trip to Italy to give us the opportunity to rectify your impression of our hotel.

Andrea Masi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#106 of 422 in Florence
208 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#136 of 422 in Florence
782 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#81 of 422 in Florence
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#161 of 422 in Florence
382 reviews
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#97 of 422 in Florence
636 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Albani Firenze
Hotel Albani Firenze
#96 of 422 in Florence
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Luigi Alamanni 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ambasciatori 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by us, dedicated to you!!!!This hotel was established to be one of our most exclusive locations.Its peculiarity is to successfully match our customers’ need of family warmth and luxurious comfort. We will be able to surprise you with our especially tailored services made for dynamic and particularly demanding customers by welcoming you in our warm and comfortable location. Here nothing is done by chance: rooms and services are studied in the least details to create the perfect scenario for your holidays.And you will fill this picture with your presence in: Our elegantly furnished rooms are made to provide emotions without invading your space. In fact guests and accommodation must be for us on the same wavelength. Our bright and refined rooms are in first place to make your staying an unforgettable experience.The Hall - Our refined and fashionable hall is the symbol of a modern customer-centred hotel project, especially designed for the people living in it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing