We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud and below expectations”
Review of Hotel Ambasciatori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #204 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loud and below expectations”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed here on my final night in Florence as a "luxury" for my last night. After having spent a week with friends staying in a terrace on the other side of Florence, I was looking forward to splurging on my final night, alone. Unfortunately, my room was on the side of the Santa Maria Novelle train station and next to the hotel staff laundry so I barely slept all night. Internet reception was poor in my room. It was below my expectations after reading all these reviews.

Room Tip: Rooms on side of the train station are loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    510
    220
    79
    57
See reviews for
203
559
38
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great location. Florence is small enough to walk everywhere and it is very helpful to be near the train and bus stations if using Pisa airport and if you are in Florence for a few days it is then so easy to take a day trip to another city. Loads of bars, restaurants, shops near the hotel. Our room was well insulated against noise from outside, but we were disturbed by noisy people in the corridor and by a fire alarm that went off in the middle of the night. This happened briefly another night so we wondered whether there wasn't an issue with their alarm.
The staff were polite and helpful, particularly friendly at breakfast, where the girls worked hard clearing the tables and making sure the breakfast bar was full all the time. There are lots of beautiful cakes for breakfast if you like that. Our room was clean, lovely bedlinen, comfortable bed and pillows. For some reason our room smelt enough of cigarette smoke to be noticeable,and one day there was a distinctive smell of smoke in the corridor too so perhaps someone was breaking the rules or smoke smells were getting in through the vents. The towelling robes were old and torn so not really luxurious, and as it was too soon in the year for AC I did get quite a few mosquito bites from mozzies in the room which I managed to kill. The breakfast coffee isn't very nice. But these are minor quibbles and on the whole it was a good experience, and we had a lovely time in the beautiful city.

Room Tip: the smallest rooms look very small, go for the superior size room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sally k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The hotel is handily situated next to the railway station and within walking distance of the city centre and places of interest. Our room was newly decorated with excellent sized bathroom. However lighting could be improved both in the bedroom and bathroom, it just seemed overly dark and maybe instead of just bedside tables, ones with drawers for small items would be helpful. These however are minor observations. The staff were friendly but efficient. Breakfast was fine and constantly being replenished. There are a couple of good restaurants nearby too, so no need to walk back into the city centre for an evening meal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YorkshireSonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapoStruttura, Resident Manager at Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,
we thank You for the time spent to write about your experience in our Hotel.
The review of our Guests are very important for us in order to improve our quality standard and to understand if our job meet the satisfaction of our Clients. Your suggestions will help us in this direction too.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,
Yours Faithfully.

F. Vitone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel is just outside the Florence train station. barely ten footsteps away from the main entrance and you would have arrived at the hotel.
Hotel looks reasonable from the outside, but once you step in, you will feel that its classy. Very worth it for its price. The hotel is connected to Hotel Diplomat, hence you can actually get a room there for even lower prices. Our room was actually located inside Hotel Diplomat (yes its very weird, I cannot figure it out until now), but the room was nicely decorated, bed was lovely and the toilets were respectable. One of my best hotel sleep throughout my two week holiday.
Reception was friendly but when I checked out, the receptionist charged me 8 Euro for 2 pax 1 night stay with no receipt for city tax. Remember to confirm the figure before heading out the door.
The SITA bus station is just located behind the hotel, hence it was a good for us to head to The Mall.
Breakfast was okay, nothing glamorous but since it was included, we filled our tummies.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room closer to the entrance so you don't have to walk too far
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lups8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapoStruttura, Resident Manager at Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We Thank you for sharing with all of us your experience in our hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you in our Hotel again, we remain,
Yours Faithfully.

F. Vitone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We recently stayed at the Hotel Ambasciatori and were pleasantly surprised to find it a wonderful hotel. It is right across the street from the train station so if you are arriving by train than there is no need to find a taxi. There are so many sights to see right in this area that there is no need to take a taxi anywhere. Incidently, the market in Florence was the best market that we went to. The hotel is very clean with large rooms and very spacious bathrooms. The beds and pillows are comfortable. The reception clerks are very helpful and friendly. The breakfast provided with the cost of the hotel is excellent. This is a hotel that is very much worth its $$$.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diggersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapoStruttura, Resident Manager at Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,
we thank You for the time spent to write about your experience in our Hotel.
The review of our Guests are very important for us in order to improve our quality standard and to understand if our job meet the satisfaction of our Clients.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,
Yours Faithfully.

F. Vitone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Our first stop in Italy was Florence and we stayed here at the Hotel Ambasciatori for 3 nights. The hotel is conveniently located right next to the train station which was a huge plus for us. We did not experience any noise from the trains and found the rooms to be quite spacious. The bathroom was large and had a nice shower and sink area. We had a balcony which was a nice touch. It was hot while we were there and the air conditioning did not work properly so the first night we left the windows open to get some fresh air in. This is where my review goes bad. When we woke up that morning we had numerous bites all over us. So we decided the next night to close all windows and try and deal with the air conditioning and the following morning I had more bites. I thought they were from mosquitoes getting in at night but with us closing the windows all day and night I don't see how that was possible. I believe these bites were from bed bugs and the more research I did while on the trip, the more I am positive that these were bed bugs. I hate to give this review and I know that this can happen, but it would be good for this hotel to check their beds and make sure that they do not have a problem. Again, the staff was friendly and the location was perfect, but be aware when you stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nschw18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapoStruttura, Resident Manager at Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We checked all our rooms and we assure you that we have not encountered the problem of which you wrote in any room.
No customer has ever had this kind of problem and after our inspection we think it was an event caused by open windows.
The air conditioning was turned on only these days, so during your stay had not yet been turned on and the heat was certainly not expected for this season.
Even today we have low temperatures and customers are asking us to turn on the heating again.
Unfortunately, these systems can not be turned on and off when we want because requiring special technical procedures.

Sincerely.

F. Vitone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
328 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights before heading to Venice. We really liked the room. The breakfast was very good. The hotel is located right across the street from the train station. Our room was on the back side of the hotel, so I don't know if train noise was a problem (slept with windows open). Staff was very helpful. We had merchandise sent to the hotel and had no issues receiving it at the end of the night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 44tvmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapoStruttura, Resident Manager at Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest,

we thank you for the time spent to review our Hotel.
We did a great job to make our Hotel soundproof and we are really pleased you appreciated it.
Our location and the professionalism of our staff are our strengths.
Looking forward to welcoming you again, we remain,
Yours Faithfully.

F. Vitone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#102 of 422 in Florence
209 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#139 of 422 in Florence
782 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#83 of 422 in Florence
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#164 of 422 in Florence
382 reviews
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#97 of 422 in Florence
639 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Albani Firenze
Hotel Albani Firenze
#98 of 422 in Florence
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Luigi Alamanni 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ambasciatori 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by us, dedicated to you!!!!This hotel was established to be one of our most exclusive locations.Its peculiarity is to successfully match our customers’ need of family warmth and luxurious comfort. We will be able to surprise you with our especially tailored services made for dynamic and particularly demanding customers by welcoming you in our warm and comfortable location. Here nothing is done by chance: rooms and services are studied in the least details to create the perfect scenario for your holidays.And you will fill this picture with your presence in: Our elegantly furnished rooms are made to provide emotions without invading your space. In fact guests and accommodation must be for us on the same wavelength. Our bright and refined rooms are in first place to make your staying an unforgettable experience.The Hall - Our refined and fashionable hall is the symbol of a modern customer-centred hotel project, especially designed for the people living in it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing