We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - right next to train station”
Review of Hotel Ambasciatori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #200 of 421 Hotels in Florence
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location - right next to train station”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in July. We were travelling from Rome to Florence and were pretty tired of lugging luggage around by the time we got to Florence. Delighted to step out of the train station to look up and actually see the hotel directly in front of us. All of the main tourist attractions were a short walk away. Also the buses were just across from the hotel which was really helpful as on the first evening we wanted to go to Piazzale Michelangelo to see what was an amazing sunset panoramic view of Florence city.

The breakfast in the hotel was what you would expect from a continental breakfast. Our room had lovely air conditioning. The only negatives I had about the hotel was that outside our bedroom window was quite noisy at night but I guess that's what you would expect for a city centre hotel, and also the room they gave us was a type of apartment room that was difficult enough to find. You had to up one lift to go down a different lift.

Overall Florence was amazing and if you have little time there like we did I would highly recommend this hotel even if you are just basing it on location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BL719647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    498
    214
    76
    54
See reviews for
198
554
35
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My daughter and I were with a tour that spent 2 nights in Florence. Very close to everything and the beds were the best but our room 138 was very noisy. I was woken up by a fight going on in the next room. Went down to complain to night manager and he made me feel like I was bothering him and he didn't believe the room I was complaining about was right next to ours. Exhausted the next morning I spoke with the morning crew who were very nice and apologized for my night. That night we slept better but you could hear everytime someone flushed a toilet or used the shower.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2ski16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Good hotel, nicely furnished, very similar to an American hotel in terms of size and what you're going to find in it. Not exactly oozing with character, a fairly busy place that has lots of tour groups moving through, but the breakfast was good and pretty decent and the location was awesome. We ended up taking trains in and out of the city and it was super close to the train station. On the other hand, contrary to almost any other city in the world, it was also definitely NOT in a seedy part of town because of that fact, the restaurant scene right beside the hotel was actually awesome, and it was very very close to the duomo (we could see it from our room)" and everywhere you want to be as a tourist. Similarly, we spent our last night taking a five minute walk down to the river which was beautiful and trés romantic. We were in room 239. Good hotel, very clean, not a lot of character, free wifi, somewhat slow service but good enough, appropriate front desk staff, and wins out for a great location. I will note that we also stayed at hotel UNA Vittoria on the other night we were in Florence, and we personally liked that hotel much better since it's location was in a much more quaint, not tourist dominated, and truly beautiful part of the city. However, if the price is high there or you're not able to make it to that area for scheduling reasons, you're right beside transportation and tourism in a very reasonable hotel with the Ambasciatori, but don't expect the most romantic of locales.

Room Tip: Had room 239, which was nice, spacious, and very decent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaiPiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

we stayed here for a few nights on our tuscany trip this summer. the hotel is located just a few steps away from the main train station making it ideally located for travelers getting off at the station and not having to waste money on cabs.

almost all the attractions are just about within waling distance from here in any direction. the room we got was an apartment in the new wing of the hotel. it was overlooking the santa maria novella church. however, getting to the room was a task in itself! climb up, then climb down, then climb up a floor, then down again and into a tiny passage where the room was.

that said, the room itself was quite comfortable and spacious. recommend staying here!

Room Tip: get a room in the new wing. the older rooms are not as good as the newer ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jai B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We initially were given a small cramped room and had to squeeze past a TV nearly hitting our head to walk around the bed which was not safe. So we got another room on 5th floor, still really small but safer and with nice view. Free wifi but only in bar, air con fine in our room but not in others on our Globus tour. Great seafood restaurant next door. Breakfast nice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sahara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights since it was right across the street from the train station...that's not always a good thing but in this case, it was perfect! The hotel personnel were friendly and helpful and the room was very clean with a comfortable bed and a huge, modern bathroom. The hotel was quiet, it had an elegant feel and I felt safe. Breakfast was quite good. I highly recommend this hotel in Florence.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anglotripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stepped out of the railway station having arrived from Venice to find this hotel directly across the road from the station. We were able to walk everywhere we needed to go from this hotel. The tour meeting point was just 50 metres from the hotel. The hotel was stunning - clean and bright with double glazed windows to block out all noises from the outside. The breakfast offered was of a good variety and we enjoyed the Restaurant that was just at the bottom of the hotel. Excellent food and very reasonable prices. A great choice of hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: Very central, bright clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#111 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#134 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#82 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#143 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#95 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Albani Firenze
Hotel Albani Firenze
#89 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Luigi Alamanni 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ambasciatori 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by us, dedicated to you!!!!This hotel was established to be one of our most exclusive locations.Its peculiarity is to successfully match our customers’ need of family warmth and luxurious comfort. We will be able to surprise you with our especially tailored services made for dynamic and particularly demanding customers by welcoming you in our warm and comfortable location. Here nothing is done by chance: rooms and services are studied in the least details to create the perfect scenario for your holidays.And you will fill this picture with your presence in: Our elegantly furnished rooms are made to provide emotions without invading your space. In fact guests and accommodation must be for us on the same wavelength. Our bright and refined rooms are in first place to make your staying an unforgettable experience.The Hall - Our refined and fashionable hall is the symbol of a modern customer-centred hotel project, especially designed for the people living in it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing