We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really up to the standard expected of Novotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto
Ranked #266 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Maroochydore, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not really up to the standard expected of Novotel”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Overall I have been disappionted with the standard of the Novotels I stayed in whilst in Italy - this hotel was the first one I stayed at and probably was the most disappionting overall. I have stayed at Novotels in other countries and was very surprised at the standards here. I cannot fault the reception staff as I they were friendly and efficient - they at least were up to the usual standard I have experienced at Novotel.( I have rated the service only average because although reception service was good in other areas service was poor) The room and bathroom were adequate however the entry door kept sticking and was difficult to open. We arrived late afternoon and the restuarant was not open so we had to have a snack meal in the bar - these snacks were expensive and poor quality and took a long time to arrive - there were no other options as there is not much in the local area in the way of cafes/food outlets. The location is a fair way out from Florence itself however the hotel provides a shuttle service - the last return Shuttle is 8 pm so if you wish to have dinner in town you would usually need to get a Taxi - these ranged from about 22 EUR to 32 Euro. Breakfast was absolute chaos each day we stayed with the staff being flustered and somewhat rude ( probably because they were overworked and understaffed). We tried to change our times to aviod this chaos but there was obviously a number of tour groups staying at the hotel as a large number of tables were reserved for them. Although these tables were reserved for certain times the hotel did not seem to have catered for these groups by providing sufficient staff as there was not enough staff to provide sufficent food or utensils for the number that descended on the breakfast room. Each day we were not able to get glasses to put juice or water in and had to ask more than once for these to be provided. The hot food ran out and took up to 30 minutes for more to be brought out. Other items including bread were consumed and not replaced for a long time - usually after you asked more than once. Given that the choices of food available were limited I feel that there should have been more staff to ensure that there was not a long wait for more food to be provided. After my experience with the snack meal and the breakfast I certainly had no desire to try the restaurant for a dinner meal. There were a couple of positives - the hotel swimming pool was really nice and the provision of computers in the foyer was helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJMc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direttore1798, Direttore at Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience by writing your review.

We regret the standards of cafe service fell short of your expectations and we ask you to accept our most sincere apologies.

We have taken note about your note concerning it and we want to assure you that proper actions will be taken into consideration for future improvement.

We are ready to welcoming you again upon your next stay, trying then to regain your confidence.

Yours sincerely,

Marco Ministeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    592
    466
    176
    91
See reviews for
725
269
70
313
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed at the Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto for 2 nights on the Splendours of Italy Tour. Our check in was swift, with assistance from our tour guide, our luggage took a long time to be delivered to our rooms, they seemed to be a bit shortstaffed. The rooms were large and comfortable. There was a breakfast room for tour groups,which was very busy - we had to wait a while for the buffet to be replenished both mornings. There are gaming consoles for the kids, a ping-pong table and a pool. There is a bus station within walking distance, so it's easy and convenient to travel to the centre of Florence.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool on the lower floors do get quite noisy if there's a lot of activity in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direttore1798, Direttore at Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.

My team and I are really grateful for your nice comments, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.

We have also taken note about your comment and we want to assure you that we has already put in place proper actions in order to improve the quality of our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to our Novotel Firenze.

Yours sincerely,

Marco Ministeri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Breakfast very poor and unorganized. I was with a tour group and there was not enough seating and workers to handle the big groups coming into this hotel. Skipped our room service Finally around 7pm after calling a 2nd time they brought us towels. We where told its a 3 stars and we don't think it's even 2 stars.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adylovesmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direttore1798, Direttore at Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience by writing your review.

We regret the standards of service fell short of your expectations and we ask you to accept our most sincere apologies.

We have taken note about your note concerning it and we want to assure you that proper actions will be taken into consideration for future improvement.

We are ready to welcoming you again upon your next stay, trying then to regain your confidence.

Yours sincerely,

Marco Ministeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
0.0 mi away
Ibis Firenze Nord Aeroporto
Ibis Firenze Nord Aeroporto
#1 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
1,162 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
#120 of 412 in Florence
566 reviews
7.0 mi away
Italiana Hotels Florence
Italiana Hotels Florence
#167 of 412 in Florence
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
#188 of 412 in Florence
652 reviews
2.6 mi away
Starhotels Tuscany
Starhotels Tuscany
#100 of 412 in Florence
750 reviews
2.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Firenze Nuovo Palazzo di Giustizia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto

Property: Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto
Address: Via Tevere 23 | Zi Osmannoro, 50019, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto is a comfortable 180-room 4-star hotel ideally located near the airport and A1 highway, giving easy access to Florence city center and the train station. 9 meeting rooms and free WIFI available. Shuttle to airport and city center runs at fixed times, subject to booking and availability. Perfect for business or leisure, the hotel offers rooms for 2 adults and 2 children, restaurant, bar, open air swimming pool and indoor car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto Hotel Florence
Novotel Hotel Florence
Novotel Florence
Sesto Fiorentino Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing