We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,178)
Filter reviews
1,178 results
Traveller rating
702
300
98
39
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
702
300
98
39
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minute walk five star hotel marble bathroom quiet area train station front desk staff hotel restaurant junior suite ponte vecchio arno river would definitely stay here again main attractions beautiful room our honeymoon around the corner happy hour pastries
Filter
Updating list...
525 - 530 of 1,178 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Luxurious is the word that comes to mind when I think about our stay at the Montebello Splendid Hotel. It is a lovely, restful escape in the midst of bustling Florence. Walking to the major attractions only took about ten minutes. The service was also fantastic. Every member of the staff really went out of their way to be helpful.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaMNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear LisaMnewjersey,
Thank you very much for staying at Montebello Splendid and for sharing your positive experience and nice pictures to other travellers.
It’s a great reward for us to understand that you had a memorable stay at Montebello Splendid and that the whole staff was very accommodating and helped you to feel like home.
Please contact us for any kind of assistance you should need whenever you or any of your family or friends should plan to explore again Florence in the future.
On behalf of the whole staff, I wish you all the best.

Sincerely,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My 12 year old son and I stayed here for a week beginning March 17. We were very pleased with our room, the staff, the service and location. My son especially appreciated the turndown service and the tasty hard candies that came with it! I routinely left our passports and currency in the room, not in the safe and a few days, on the dresser, and had no issues at all. The hotel is a 3 minute walk to the river and walking to city center was a breeze and actually afforded us the opportunity to see many things we may not have otherwise seen. We intend to return for another week in the summer, and we will be sure to book our room at the Montebello Splendid again!

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewKnox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Andrewknox,
Having you and your son at Montebello Splendid it was a great pleasure. We are happy to read you full satisfaction about your stay with us and we really hope to welcome back very soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any assistance you may need to plan your visit in Florence in advance.
Thank you very much for staying with us and your contribution to share your experience with other travellers.

Kind regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Fantastic rooms, lovely common areas, very good value (approx 350 euros for 2 adjoining rooms), great restaurant which offers a 30 % discount for all meals, drinks included, on the first night of your stay. Happy hour in the bar every night means you can sample Italys top wines at half price.

The only downside.. A 10 minute walk into town which was not necessarily a bad thing after eating the great food.

Best (and best value) hotel in Florence.

Date of stay: April 2012
Thank JackieWilson3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Jackiewilson3333,
Thank you for your great review on this website. It’s a great pleasure to read your full satisfaction about the services and the value for money of our hotel. I’m also very pleased you enjoyed our welcome promotion at our restaurant – you can dine in a fine setting at a very competitive price compared to the bustled touristic restaurant in town.
I hope you will have chance to travel again to Florence with your family and we will be pleased to warm welcome you again.

All the best,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Florence is without a doubt one of the most beautiful spots on earth, yet it can become a bit overwhelming when exposed to its infinite cultural offer and the enormous amount of tourists it attracts on a daily basis.

So, after a day of sensory overload, Montebello Splendid becomes the perfect refuge. It is quite centric but not in the middle of the touristic mayhem, so that you can truly relax from an exhausting day visiting the city and its surroundings. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff is very pleasant and extremely helpful. And the breakfast buffet offers the perfect selection to start yet another day full of wonderful experiences.

As a restless traveller who spends approx. 15 weeks a year traveling around the world between business trips and vacations, I must say that I have had my share of hotel experiences, mostly in the 4 & 5 Star category. So believe me when I say that Montebello Splendid is indeed highly recommendable.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reisekunst2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Reisekuntz2011,
It’s a great pleasure to read your positive review about your stay in Florence and it’s an honour to be included in one of your best hotel experience in long period travelling.
We are committed to do our best to accommodate and let feel our guests like home. The Montebello Splendid is an home-like-style boutique hotel and it’s very rewarding for us when a guests is in perfect line with this philosophy.
We hope to have chance to welcome you again in our beautiful city and we take this opportunity to wish you all the best.
Kind regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Our stay (3/13-3/22) at Montebello Splendid was a five star experience. The hotel not only met but exceeded our expectations. The accommodations were excellent. The overall atmosphere was one of the best my wife and I have experienced in our international travels.

After a day of being exposed to the art and culture Florence has to offer, we had the pleasure of returning to Montebello Splendid and relaxing in a luxurious environment with all the amenities and assistance by your professional staff.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilliamC92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear WilliamC92,
thank you for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor. It’s a great pleasure to read you full satisfaction about the services we provided you and also pleased you enjoyed our secret and quiet location. We look forward to welcome you again at the earliest.

Kind regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews