We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind staff, comfy bed, excellent dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Ranked #75 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We had a great 2 nights in this charming hotel. While the hotel isn't right in the middle of downtown, it was an easy 10 minute walk to the Duomo. The hotel staff was friendly and all had a great command of the English language (that's important as my husband and I don't speak much Italian). Dinner at the hotel was lovely. The bed was comfortable and the room was wonderfully tidy. Just watch out for the 30euros a night you'll pay to park your car.
Thank you Montebello Splendid. We would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

we loved this hotel so much we decided to add an extra night!! The staff was wonderful and veru helpful, will stay again!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiffany b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Booking a hotel solely through its representation on a website can be unsettling — does it really look like that? Is their definition of quiet the same as ours? Is it really in a good location?
Well, everything claimed by the Montebello Splendid is true, and then some. It's located in a wonderfully quiet corner of Florence, but still within easy walking distance of everything. Everything was wonderful, from our initial greeting, to the suggestions on places to see and where to dine, to the cleanliness and comfort of our room. What makes the Montebello Splendid truly stand out, however, is the friendliness, courtesy, and professionalism of its staff. One of the best parts of our trip was meeting the wonderful people at the Montebello Splendid. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fenwaysong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Dear Fenwaysong,
Thank you very much for the great words you wrote about your stay at Montebello Splendid and for recommending our hotel to other travellers.
It’s a great pleasure to understand that we were able to exceed the expectations you had visiting our website. Thank you also for remarking the friendly attitude of the staff and our secrete and quite location steps away from the main attractions.
On behalf of the whole staff, I’d like to wish you all the best and a very soon return to our beautiful town.

Sincerely,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have not reviewed any hotel before but I feel that it would be unfair not to compliment this hotel.
It was a pleasure to stay there. The room was as nice a room that I have ever stayed in. Bed was wonderfully comfortable, TV had an excellent choice of channels, the high ceiling was great and the bathroom was great.
Also the staff were wonderful - very helpful and approachable. I can't say how great the staff were.
The food was really good and the menu varied.
In conclusion I couldn't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Bryan O,
Thank you very much for recommending our hotel to other travellers. It’s such a great pleasure to read your satisfaction about your stay with us and your remark about the friendly and hepful staff. I’m also very pleased you enjoyed our restaurant, which is more and more becoming a must try for the specialities prepared by chef Dino and the great value thanks to the promotion on arrival day.
On behalf of the whole team, I thank you for staying at Montebello Splendid and I invite yu to contact us for any assistance you should need to plan your next visit to Florence.

All the best,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

everything was great. The quiet location, architecture and decoration of buildings, the service from all staff, the amazing buffet, relaxing bed. I hope to go again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellypAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Kellyathensp,
thank you very much for your enthusiastic review on Tripadvisor. I’m very glad that your stay with us was particularly memorable and that all the services we provided to you satisfied your expectations, including our buffet breakfast and the helpful attitude of the staff. I look forward to welcome you again very soon and in the meanwhile, on behalf of the whole team, I wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My daughter and I travelled to Italy for the first time this April starting in Florence and then to Rome. We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it was perfect. The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom was luxurious, the staff were excellent. Our room was not small at all and so lovely that we wished we could live in it. Every comfort was provided to us. We especially loved the large windows that you could open and if you wanted to keep out the sun early in the morning there were automated blinds to block out the light. The breakfast buffet was delicious and the view to the hotel's courtyard with the fountain was delightful. We will definitely return to Italy and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Eileen C,
On behalf of the whole staff I’d like to thank you very much for staying at Montebello Splendid and for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor.
It’s a great pleasure to read you full satisfaction about your accommodation, the service and attitude of the staff and our food and beverage option, in particular our buffet breakfast.
You and your daughter will be always very welcome at Montebello Splendid and we would be very pleased to help and assist you planning your future visit to Florence.

All the best,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Luxurious is the word that comes to mind when I think about our stay at the Montebello Splendid Hotel. It is a lovely, restful escape in the midst of bustling Florence. Walking to the major attractions only took about ten minutes. The service was also fantastic. Every member of the staff really went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaMNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear LisaMnewjersey,
Thank you very much for staying at Montebello Splendid and for sharing your positive experience and nice pictures to other travellers.
It’s a great reward for us to understand that you had a memorable stay at Montebello Splendid and that the whole staff was very accommodating and helped you to feel like home.
Please contact us for any kind of assistance you should need whenever you or any of your family or friends should plan to explore again Florence in the future.
On behalf of the whole staff, I wish you all the best.

Sincerely,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Bernini Palace Hotel
Bernini Palace Hotel
#35 of 409 in Florence
1,223 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#88 of 409 in Florence
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol - Starhotels Collezione
Hotel Regency
#140 of 409 in Florence
358 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#19 of 409 in Florence
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montebello Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montebello Splendid

Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#68 Business Hotel in Florence
#78 Family Hotel in Florence
#92 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £127 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Montebello Splendid 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old villa from 19th Century with private garden located in the lively heart of Florence and transformed into a boutique 5 stars hotel full of charm and warm atmosphere, according to the neoclassical Florentine tradition. All rooms are elegantly designed and decorated differently but all equipped with the most up-to-date comforts. In a few step from the hotel you can easily reach all the most important attraction of Florence. Capriccio restaurant is the gourmet option for hotel guests to experience greta italian food in a very relaxing enveiroment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montebello Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Splendid Florence
Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing