We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star room, 2 star service and 1 star value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Ranked #71 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“4 star room, 2 star service and 1 star value”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights at this property while on vacation in Florence. The rooms are very nice and the hotel appears to be brand new. We received a free upgrade to a suite and our only complaint was that we had just one power outlet between the two rooms.

The location is great. Near the river and a 10 minute walk from the heart of Florence.

The service however was dreadful. The check in process was slow. The staff was not helpful at all with dinner reservations. We asked them to assist one evening and they acted like it was an imposition, did not offer any directions, and when we got to the place they did not have a reservation for us. The bell staff had to be tackled to get their attention to assist with our bags. Housekeeping failed to leave coffee in our room (we just bought some ourselves at the local market) and left us with the same dirty glasses for 4 days.

The value was even worse. A lame breakfast buffet is €20 per person and Internet that was supposed to be €10 for 24 hours expired at midnight after just 10 hours.

Maybe if the staff and management can get their act together, this will be a legitimate 4 star hotel when it grows up.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lancburm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Lancburm,
Many thanks for staying at Montebello Splendid and remarking the quality of our facility. I’m very sorry you didn’t like the service we provided to you, an I discussed with my colleagues to understand what really happened.

I don’t understand what do you mean with slow checkin process? According to the Italian Law we have to accomplish some procedures, but it usually it doesn’t take more than 5 minutes; in the meanwhile the front desk staff explain the services and promotions of the hotel.
Restaurant reservations is not an imposition for us, but a pleasure. Very strange what happened to you and I’m very sorry.
Dirty Coffee cups is quite strange, but informed the housekeeping of this inconvenient and apologize.
Wi-Fi is free every day up to 150mb per each device, which is according the statistic of guest consumption, more than enough for internet surfing, emails and skype calls. Downloading and streaming will consume it quicker. Professional unlimited access is available at charge.
You complain about the buffet breakfast charge, but you should be prepared to pay up to 38 euro if staying in other neighbour 5 stars hotels (no outdoor tables). Again, if you sit in a bar and order a cappuccino and one croissant, you will be charged at least 4€ if not more (no fruits, no yoghurt, no fresh orange juice, no home-made pastries, no salami, no cheese, no water, no unlimited hot beverages, no eggs & bacon, no cotton table cover and napkin, no silver knife and fork, no fine porcelain cups, etc). Everything can always be improved and we are all focused on that. Fortunately there are a lot of positive feedbacks about our breakfast service from a lot of guest who are in perfect harmony with our boutique size and philosophy hotel.
We really hope to be able to grow day by day also from critics as yours.
For any further assistance or clarification you can contact me directly anytime; you and your family and friends will be always very welcome if travelling again to Florence.

All the best.

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    233
    77
    33
    33
See reviews for
156
455
38
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My family recently stayed at the Hotel Montebello Splendid and we hated to leave! The hotel was truly a gem, beautiful, immaculate, luxurious .
The staff was very nice and the rooms had everything, including wonderful beds.
It rained off and on and the hotel had umbrellas for guests which was a nice touch. The grounds were so pretty, it's a great hidden gem.
Would definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: We didn't have any views but both rooms (my daughters had their own room), were bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Beth D,
On behalf of the whole staff of the Montebello Splendid I’d like to thank your for staying with us and sharing your wonderful experience with other travellers.
I’m very please you enjoyed our boutique hotel and appreciated the helpful attitude of the staff.
We look forward for your next visit to our beautiful city.

Kindest regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

For the first time, I stay in a hotel where it feels so much like home, the environement and the layout is completely friendly and comfortable. The staff were so friendly and accomodating.
I will stay here again and again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyShores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Myshore,
Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience on tripadvisor. I’m very pleased you enjoyed our home-like style hotel and that you appreciated the friendly attitude of the staff. Your satisfaction is our greatest rewards and this kind of feedback encourage us to do better and better.
We look forward for your next visit to our beautiful city.

Kindest regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We had a five night stay here and were pleasantly surprised at how quiet the hotel is. It is a little way from the centre of town but were pleased to wander int town on foot. (Tip: It is very easy to catch the tram from nearby tot eh Santa maria station if you are feeling lazy). This hotel was our littel extravagance after almost four weeks away and we enjoyed the lovely old world charm of the room and the quiet location. My wife needed to see a podiatrist and the cahrming woman on the desk readily made a call and booked for us at a nearby clinic, then ensured we knew how to get there. We really couldn't have asked for more. The room we had was spacious and beautifully appointed. Certainly the nicest we had encountered during our holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Peter S,
I’m very pleased to read that the Montebello Splendid was the highlight of your vacation. Myself and the whole staff are always very willing to offer the best care and assistance to our guests. Your final satisfaction is our greatest rewards.
We look forward to welcome you again very soon and we remain at your disposal for any assistance you should need to plan your stay in advance.

All the best,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
white stone, virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This hotel apparently received 5 star status by being able to check the right number of boxes. But a lot of the "services" either exist in name only or not at all. There is a desk inside the tiny lobby that apparently is for the concierge function, but there is no concierge - you have to ask the front desk staff for everything. The bell staff are particularly dysfunctional. On departure, we asked for our luggage to be brought from storage, and when the bellman brought it out and learned we wanted a cab, he disappeared. We lugged it out to the street ourselves. This was a special trip, and we wanted a VIP wine tasting experience, but the private guide they recommended to us and to other customers for the big price did not give us anything close to a VIP experience. Finally, we paid for a "deluxe" room, but the room was so tiny, especially the bath room, that only one person could squeeze in before closing the door. Hardly "deluxe."

Good features - pretty marble and wood work - and a fine experience in their on-site restaurant could not overcome the negatives above. This hotel is not worth the money, and despite the "5 star rating" it is not a five star experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gruppe4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

I booked there for a short week end in firenze. The hôtel is quiet and the staff is very kind and helpfull. We had a junior suite which was perfect with a queen size bed. The jacuzzi was the bathroom nice surprise ! The hotel gave us a discount for the first evening on the restaurant Bill. Great hôtel, Nice city !

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kininefdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Kininefdf,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your positive experience on tripadvisor. I’m very pleased to read your satisfaction about your stay with us and the helpful and friendly service we provided. The 30% discount on our restaurant is an exclusive offer to our guests, pleased you enjoyed.
Hope to welcome you again very soon in Florence, I wish you all the best.

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We had a great 2 nights in this charming hotel. While the hotel isn't right in the middle of downtown, it was an easy 10 minute walk to the Duomo. The hotel staff was friendly and all had a great command of the English language (that's important as my husband and I don't speak much Italian). Dinner at the hotel was lovely. The bed was comfortable and the room was wonderfully tidy. Just watch out for the 30euros a night you'll pay to park your car.
Thank you Montebello Splendid. We would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#138 of 411 in Florence
550 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#111 of 411 in Florence
705 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#22 of 411 in Florence
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 411 in Florence
1,201 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 411 in Florence
780 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#28 of 411 in Florence
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montebello Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montebello Splendid

Property: Hotel Montebello Splendid
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#68 Business Hotel in Florence
#78 Family Hotel in Florence
#92 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Montebello Splendid 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old villa from 19th Century with private garden located in the lively heart of Florence and transformed into a boutique 5 stars hotel full of charm and warm atmosphere, according to the neoclassical Florentine tradition. All rooms are elegantly designed and decorated differently but all equipped with the most up-to-date comforts. In a few step from the hotel you can easily reach all the most important attraction of Florence. Capriccio restaurant is the gourmet option for hotel guests to experience greta italian food in a very relaxing enveiroment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Montebello Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Splendid Florence
Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing