We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No sleep if they house you in the basement.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Ranked #59 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Charles, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No sleep if they house you in the basement.”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Due to water issues at the hotel we had booked, we were transferred for one night to the Montebello Splendid. We were given a room in the basement of the hotel, just above the kitchen and the noise rapping our ceiling was brutal. High heel shoes from a heavy walking female staffer pushing was annoying us till well after 1am and then resumed again promptly at 6am. When we mentioned the atrocious location of the room, the reception staffer just waved at us saying...."yeah, that room is not a good spot, we've heard that complaint before."

The hotel is generally nice, just letting anyone that plans to stay there to beware if they pan you out to the basement. All the rooms I saw down there are either directly under the kitchen or under the dining area. One other thing, Montebello Splendid is not in the heart of Florence, but not too far away.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Mike S
It’s very sad to read your review, despite you recognize the quality of our hotel. Yes we do have two rooms in the basement with a window facing our garden, but these rooms are usually sold to specific clients who are aware of it or walk-in in case the hotel is fully booked. The hotel you originally booked was overbooked in a very busy period and they had a big issue to find availability anywhere at the rate you paid with them. We offered our help but we informed them of what kind of room we had available in order to inform the guest and they accepted.
Consider also that those two rooms, despite I recognize they are not the best accommodation of the hotel and for this reasons are the last to be assigned, they have the same amenities and comforts as other classic double rooms.
By the way, I’m very sorry that due to a particular busy activity at the restaurant you hadn’t a deep rest. I invite you to book directly our hotel through our official website to benefit of the special deal and upgrade we are used to assign upon availability.
Kindest regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    220
    74
    31
    30
See reviews for
147
436
37
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We chose this hotel based on it's excellent reviews and very reasonable deals for the length of our stay. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay and highly recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for immpecable service, true luxury and class. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the historic center of Florence in a very quiet neighborhood. The lobby, restaurant and the rooms are elegantly decorated and the staff is extremely courteous. The family room was very spacious and accomodated us perfectly. Breakfast (included in the rate!) was rich with great variety. The selection of homemade baked goods were to die for and the fresh orange juice a lovely addition! Thank you Montebello splendid for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laleh_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Laleh_A,
on behalf of the whole team of the Montebello Splendid I’d like to thank you for staying with us and posting your enthusiastic review on this website.
I’m very pleased that you enjoyed your accommodation and the attitude of the staff.
Thank you for remarking the quality of our breakfast, including the fresh orange squeeze and home-made products.
We look forward to welcome your family again in our beautiful city and we remain at your disposal for any assistance.

Sincerely,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biella
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The hotel located in the city center is a peaceful oasis of tranquillity near the river. Staff and service was wonderful . Excellent service at the lobby and bar .
I stayed one night in a single standard room. The room is spacious like a double in many other place . Wifi is free in all the hotel . Breakfast buffet with a good variety of food.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeceMila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Cecemila,
Many thank for choosing the Montebello Splendid for your stay in Florence and for posting your positive review.
I’m very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the quality of our hotel and the friendly attitude of the staff. I’m glad that another guests appreciated the quality of our buffet breakfast – we do our best to offer a selection of quality products at very reasonable price.
Looking forward to welcome you again in Florence, on behalf of the whole team I wish you all the best.

Sincerely,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed just for one night at Hotel Montebello Splendid en route to meeting up with friends for a tour of Tuscany. I appreciated being offered an early check-in. Although I had booked a single room I was given a good size double room, which was a pleasant surprise. I had a very restful sleep. The staff was friendly and helpful. The interior of the hotel is beautifully decorated with classic pieces of workmanship and art. Good location in a quiet side street near the river.

Room Tip: Apparently the size of the bathrooms vary quite a bit. So if you need more space, you may want to co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyA_9228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Lady A,
Thank you very much for staying at Montebello Splendid and sharing your positive experience with other travellers. Our check-in time is 3pm but of course if a room is available we are pleased to assign it even in the morning.
I hope you will have chance to travel again to Florence and staying at Montebello Splendid.

Kindest regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Such a peaceful oasis of tranquility, just what we needed after the hustle & bustle of Rome, Staff were wonderful, check in & check out were no problem at all, the fantastic smell of the hotel is something to remember as well, Ginger & Lime, very memorable. We stayed in a room with views over the street, it was a room with an upstairs to it, they offerred a 30% discount in the restaurant for the first night stay which made the meal with wine excellent value for money. A short flat walk into tow, overall, we loved it

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therealcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
The realcheekay,
Thank you for sharing with other travellers your positive experience at Montebello Splendid. I’m very pleased that you appreciated the oasis of tranquillity of our hotel. Glad to know that you appreciated our promotion of 30% discount on our restaurant and in particular that you enjoyed the food. This promotion makes our restaurant much more convenient than some crowded touristic places.
We look forward to welcome you again in Florence and myself and the whole team is at your disposal for any assistance you should need to plan your stay in advance.

All the best,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
176 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights at this property while on vacation in Florence. The rooms are very nice and the hotel appears to be brand new. We received a free upgrade to a suite and our only complaint was that we had just one power outlet between the two rooms.

The location is great. Near the river and a 10 minute walk from the heart of Florence.

The service however was dreadful. The check in process was slow. The staff was not helpful at all with dinner reservations. We asked them to assist one evening and they acted like it was an imposition, did not offer any directions, and when we got to the place they did not have a reservation for us. The bell staff had to be tackled to get their attention to assist with our bags. Housekeeping failed to leave coffee in our room (we just bought some ourselves at the local market) and left us with the same dirty glasses for 4 days.

The value was even worse. A lame breakfast buffet is €20 per person and Internet that was supposed to be €10 for 24 hours expired at midnight after just 10 hours.

Maybe if the staff and management can get their act together, this will be a legitimate 4 star hotel when it grows up.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lancburm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Lancburm,
Many thanks for staying at Montebello Splendid and remarking the quality of our facility. I’m very sorry you didn’t like the service we provided to you, an I discussed with my colleagues to understand what really happened.

I don’t understand what do you mean with slow checkin process? According to the Italian Law we have to accomplish some procedures, but it usually it doesn’t take more than 5 minutes; in the meanwhile the front desk staff explain the services and promotions of the hotel.
Restaurant reservations is not an imposition for us, but a pleasure. Very strange what happened to you and I’m very sorry.
Dirty Coffee cups is quite strange, but informed the housekeeping of this inconvenient and apologize.
Wi-Fi is free every day up to 150mb per each device, which is according the statistic of guest consumption, more than enough for internet surfing, emails and skype calls. Downloading and streaming will consume it quicker. Professional unlimited access is available at charge.
You complain about the buffet breakfast charge, but you should be prepared to pay up to 38 euro if staying in other neighbour 5 stars hotels (no outdoor tables). Again, if you sit in a bar and order a cappuccino and one croissant, you will be charged at least 4€ if not more (no fruits, no yoghurt, no fresh orange juice, no home-made pastries, no salami, no cheese, no water, no unlimited hot beverages, no eggs & bacon, no cotton table cover and napkin, no silver knife and fork, no fine porcelain cups, etc). Everything can always be improved and we are all focused on that. Fortunately there are a lot of positive feedbacks about our breakfast service from a lot of guest who are in perfect harmony with our boutique size and philosophy hotel.
We really hope to be able to grow day by day also from critics as yours.
For any further assistance or clarification you can contact me directly anytime; you and your family and friends will be always very welcome if travelling again to Florence.

All the best.

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My family recently stayed at the Hotel Montebello Splendid and we hated to leave! The hotel was truly a gem, beautiful, immaculate, luxurious .
The staff was very nice and the rooms had everything, including wonderful beds.
It rained off and on and the hotel had umbrellas for guests which was a nice touch. The grounds were so pretty, it's a great hidden gem.
Would definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: We didn't have any views but both rooms (my daughters had their own room), were bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Beth D,
On behalf of the whole staff of the Montebello Splendid I’d like to thank your for staying with us and sharing your wonderful experience with other travellers.
I’m very please you enjoyed our boutique hotel and appreciated the helpful attitude of the staff.
We look forward for your next visit to our beautiful city.

Kindest regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#133 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#92 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Regency
#140 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#14 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montebello Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montebello Splendid

Property: Hotel Montebello Splendid
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#67 Business Hotel in Florence
#78 Family Hotel in Florence
#92 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Montebello Splendid 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old villa from 19th Century with private garden located in the lively heart of Florence and transformed into a boutique 5 stars hotel full of charm and warm atmosphere, according to the neoclassical Florentine tradition. All rooms are elegantly designed and decorated differently but all equipped with the most up-to-date comforts. In a few step from the hotel you can easily reach all the most important attraction of Florence. Capriccio restaurant is the gourmet option for hotel guests to experience greta italian food in a very relaxing enveiroment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montebello Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Splendid Florence
Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing