We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, amazing rooms, slightly away from main centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Ranked #90 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, amazing rooms, slightly away from main centre”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Overall it is a lovely hotel and we really enjoyed our stay. We found it tricky to find, but partly due to the dodgy satnav, but I recommend asking the hotel for directions. The welcome was very friendly and the porter parked my car in the underground garage which was nice. The rooms are amazing and the jacuzzi bath was fantastic. Breakfast was excellent and the concierge was very helpful. It is about a 15min walk into the main centre, but along the river is quite pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 00_traveller_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear 00_traveller,
Thank you for sharing your positive experience on tripadvisor. I’m very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that the accommodation provided exceeded your expectations. I’m also glad you fond a friendly and helpful attitude from the staff, that for a few guests it was considered as a problem. We always do our best to satisfy or guest in every way. Driving in Florence I know is a nightmare and even Navigation system are in trouble because of the continuos works and change of streets directions; anyway reaching the Montebello Splendid is much more easy than hotels located close to the main sights.
We look forward to welcome you again in Florence and we remain at your disposal for any assistance you should need to plan your next stay.

Sincerely,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    227
    77
    33
    33
See reviews for
150
448
38
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is the second year we stay at the Montebello.Marvelous boutique hotel, beautiful rooms, and very elegant. I recommended it for my cousin and his family and they also loved it.
It is great value for the money.

Room Tip: I highly recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moufid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear Moufid B,
Thank you very much for staying at Montebello Splendid and for recommending our hotel to other travellers. I’m very glad you had a pleasnt stay and well appreciated the value for money of the accommodation provided. On behalf of the whole team, I wish you all the best.

Sincerely,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This hotel is a gem. It has a pleasant, park-like setting, beautiful spacious rooms (ours had a fresco on the ceiling!), great staff, sparkling clean and new bathrooms and comfortable big beds. All for about half of what you might expect to pay. They also have a happy hour every evening from 5-7 where drinks are 2-for-1, which sounds completely cheesy but it's downright classy, what with the silver service in their comfortable, cushy white chairs in the outdoor area. I really can't say enough about this hotel particularly at the price point. If we had paid almost 300 Euro for this place my review would still be quite positive (maybe not as glowing because of the expectations that accompany the price), but our rate was 140 Euro!

The only drawback is the location--a good, 10-15 minute walk to the center of the tourist area, which in the summer heat can seem like far longer. But it can also be a positive, as we also enjoyed checking out the more local restaurants and bars near the hotel, away from the high prices and mediocrity you can find near the tourist spots. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AZFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Dear AZFoodie,
thank you so much for staying at Montebello Splendid and posting your review o this website.
I’m very pleased you enjoyed very much your stay with us and that you appreciated the value for money of our hotel. I’m also happy you enjoyed the special promotions that we reserve to our guests on food and beverage. Myselfo and the whole staff would be more than glad to welcome you again on your next visit to the beautiful Florence.

Kind regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This hotel is lovely. We recently spend three days here and enjoyed every minute. The room was charming, the food was incredible, and the staff were wonderfully helpful. A highlight of the trip was a private tour they arranged for us with a driver to Chianti. The driver's name was Marchello. The countryside was exquisite and we had the opportunity to taste many different wines. Lunch at Antinori Vinyards was the best ever!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamSommersby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Dear SamSommersby,
Thank you very much for posting your excellent review about your stay at Montebello Splendid. We are very pleased to read your satisfaction about the food, service and attitude of the whole staff. We all are committed to offer a pleasant stay to our guests.
Looking forward to welcome you again very soon, on behalf of the whole team I wish you all the best.

Sincerely

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This should be rated a 4 Star hotel not 5. The photos show it very well but it's not what you would expect from a 5 star property. We booked a recent stay through American Express, 2 Nights, 2 Rooms for three of us. The hotel is in a good location but VERY difficult to find unless you have a GPS... forget it, mainly because of the poor directions on the hotel website. It is in walking distance (15 minutes) of the main tourist areas on a small street with all of the car rental offices close by. There are also some small stores nearby (2-3 minute) walk where you can buy snacks or more. It would be very easy to take the train to Florence and a taxi to the hotel and then pickup a rental car on your departure if you wanted to drive in the countryside south of Florence. The front desk staff was helpful and cordial, however the restaurant staff provided inattentive and slow service, with a bit of attitude. The rooms were comfortable and nicely appointed although one of the two rooms was much smaller with a small bathroom at the smae rate. Bedding was comfortable and the a/c was easy to control and worked well. The hotel has a very beautiful courtyard and some nice furnishings but unless your getting a deal the hotel is hardly worth the price. The view out the window of my room was forgettable. Very expensive breakfast that was not included in my bargain American Express rate of $225 a night per room. Beware of the outrageously expensive parking... look for a place on the street. If you can find the hotel finding a parking place will be the least of your problems. LOL.
The hotel really has alot of potential and you would feel alot more welcome and better about staying there if it was more fairly priced if management went out of their way to treat you better. They should reduce the parking to a reasonable rate, include breakfast and give unlimited Wi-Fi for starters. Better service should be demanded from a 5 star property.

Room Tip: Consider staying at the Westin a short distance away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Dear GlenA,
Thank you for posting your review about your recent stay at Montebello Splendid.
I’m very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the quality of our hotel and the service provided considering also the rate paid that is almost the 50% cheaper than other 5 stars property in town. Regarding your issues about breakfast and garage cost, please find here below my friendly consideration that I hope will help you to better understand our policy.

All the 5 stars hotel in Florence and in the main European and Us capitals sell rooms without breakfast; in Florence the breakfast charge at other properties range from 25 to 45 euro. Anyway, We sell room with and without breakfast included in order to offer a good deal to our guests. If you choose the breakfast package (with prepayment), your will end to pay for breakfast just 12 euro per person which is an excellent deal considering the above. If you go at any bar or cafeteria in town and order for one coffee, one croissant and one orange juice you will be charged at least 5 euro without seating and table set.

We do offer unlimited hot beverages, fresh orange juice by express machine, choice of pastries, 3 kind of fruits and home made fresh fruit salad, choice of croissants, 4 kind of cheese, selection of yoghurts, marmalades, variety of bread and focaccia, cakes, sausages, scrambled eggs, bacon, baked tomatoes and potatoes, choice of muesli, sparkling wine. Any particular item you think that should be include, I’ll be pleased to consider it for next inclusion.


Parking in Florence is very expensive and at charge for any visitors as it is in Rome, Milan, Paris, London, New York etc.. Parking in the streets is allowed only for resident. Florence is a medieval town with more than one thousand year history and developed in an era when cars didn’t exist. At any hotel you stay in the city centre you will be charged from a minimum of €25 to €45 valet service excluded (as our competitors 5 stars hotel do).The public unsecured parking cost is €3,00 per hour in the spot in the city centre. The Montebello Splendid is one of the 3 hotels in the city centre who have a private underground garage directly connected to the lobby. Before stating that the 30 euro charge is exorbitant, you should check at other properties where you also be charged for each valet service. I assure you that many of our repeater guest really appreciate this facility and consider it very convenient compared to the service offered by other hotels they stayed.

Myself and the whole team will be very glad to welcome you again on the next occasion you will travel to Florence.

Kindest regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed at the Montebello Splendid in July of 2012. As we arrived, we were happy to discover that the hotel was away from the tourist area but close enough to walk to any of the tourist attractions. It is quiet, clean and the staff is friendly. We had reserve a junior suite that had the breakfast included. The room was big and the bathroom awesome. The dining room is elegant and you can either eat inside or outside on the patio. I would definetly recommend this hotel to anyone that needes a little peace and quiet after a day of visiting the streets of Florence.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ormana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Dear Ormana,
Thank you for posting your review about your positive experience at Montebello Splendid. I’m very pleased that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed our location. We all are committed to offer a pleasant stay to our guests and reading your satisfaction encourages us to do better and better.
We hope to welcome you again very soon in Florence and we remain at your disposal for any assistance you should need to plan your stay in advance.

Sincerely,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Montebello Splendid in May 2012 as our first stay on a three city trip to Italy. The hotel is a hidden gem which looks unassuming from the street but opens up into a beautiful suntrap of a courtyard complete with citrus trees and fountain. The interior of the hotel is bespoke with tasteful antiques lining the halls and paintings on the walls. The hotel was extremely well kept and clean and our rooms though not spacious (this is Italy after all) were very comfortable and well furnished.
The front desk staff was very helpful as far as helping to arrange trips, pick up times etc. and we loved their excellent English and how much they helped make our trip to Florence perfect. The bar at the hotel is quite expensive but the drinks are excellently made and it was nice to sit and sip on a Campari in the quiet courtyard after a hard days sightseeing.
Overall we rate this hotel highly and did exactly what we wanted and expected when we booked it. The staff was excellent as were the hotels amenities!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJMoquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Dear Thomas M,
It’s a great pleasure to read your satisfaction about your recent stay at Montebello Splendid. I’m very pleased to understand that the whole staff offered you a warm and professional assistance. I agree with you, our courtyard is lovely and peaceful place to rest after a full day sightseeing.
I hope you will have chance to visit Florence once again and staying with us. Kindest regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#106 of 422 in Florence
695 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#144 of 422 in Florence
540 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#22 of 422 in Florence
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 422 in Florence
768 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#17 of 422 in Florence
1,188 reviews
Hotel Regency
#148 of 422 in Florence
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montebello Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montebello Splendid

Property: Hotel Montebello Splendid
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#68 Business Hotel in Florence
#78 Family Hotel in Florence
#92 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Montebello Splendid 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old villa from 19th Century with private garden located in the lively heart of Florence and transformed into a boutique 5 stars hotel full of charm and warm atmosphere, according to the neoclassical Florentine tradition. All rooms are elegantly designed and decorated differently but all equipped with the most up-to-date comforts. In a few step from the hotel you can easily reach all the most important attraction of Florence. Capriccio restaurant is the gourmet option for hotel guests to experience greta italian food in a very relaxing enveiroment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Montebello Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Splendid Florence
Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing