We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Ranked #77 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had an unforgettable weekend in Florence and the Montebello Splendid was the perfect base. Nicely refurbished, cosy, within walking distance to the city centre and with a friendly service. We will return!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    237
    78
    36
    33
See reviews for
164
463
38
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel...warm welcome on arrival with smile! Quick check in room were ready when we arrived!
Rooms were clean, quiet and fantastic air cons unit, which can be set even as low as 10 Celsius!
Very comfy king size bed, very high quality pillows. My first night peaceful sleep I had from the whole trip.
House keeping noticed we use shower gel provided even half full their replaced with couple more new ones without being ask for! This is good customers service.

We ask reception to print out train time table for Prada out let the next morning and this was ready to pick up right away.. brilliant !

Overal, I would return and stay here in this beutiful hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherinePJ_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Montebello Splendid lived up to its 5 star rating and more.
Beautiful hotel and grounds, service excellent with amazing food.
The deluxe double was on split level, beautiful room, slept soundly in comfortable bed, bathroom lovely with Jacuzzi bath and shower.
Restaurant meal was amazing with service to match from all the staff.
Hotel and courtyard are beautiful especially when lit up at night.
We will certainly be back soon. This is not a place to be missed its simply stunning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This luxury boutique hotel was simply outstanding. If I had the opportunity I would give it 6 stars. Gorgeous quiet hotel. The whole team gave tremendous personal service and was accomodating in every way.

The quality of the rooms and the resultant ambience was lovely. A must hotel to stay at with more than the appropriate level of luxury.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffToronto869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We were given the room with a good size attic so that there is another king bed on top. It is very convenient for a family. The hotel has a car park and it is a bit far from the center yet within walking distance. When we left in a hurry, we did not notice there was a mixed up with the bill. LAter after I emailed the hotel, they agree it was their over charge and would give it back to me. Hope the check is in the mail and we will see.

The breatfast is quite nice . The hotel is in a quite neighbourhood

Room Tip: no time to check out if they have a pool or spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slim l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Montebello two different times during our Italy trip, the first time for 3 nights and the second time for 1 night. The hotel is very formal. Being that the reception is behind a pillar when you enter the door, it is difficult to connect with a friendly face. The courtyard has a lovely fountain and nice landscaping. The rooms were comfortable, especially the beds!! The shower was a bit confusing but was excellent once the temperature was controlled.

There was a special 20% off on the dinner in the restaurant the first night. Even though the food was tasty, this turned out to be the most expensive meal we had in Italy, despite the discount. I would say it was over priced. The breakfast buffet was diverse and offered good food selection.

My only complaint was the internet. It would seem that in this day and age and with the price we spent for the hotel, that full access internet would be included in the room price. If we wanted to check our gmail account or Facebook, it had access. But being on vacation one has the luxury of checking the news websites or other sites of interest while relaxing over a nice cup of coffee. This type of access was an addition 10 euros. I did appreciate though that when we returned for the 1 night, they allowed me to continue to use the password I had generated in our previous day. This was a kindness.

The hotel was clean and well maintained in addition to being quiet. It was located at the fringe of Florence giving us walking access to everything we wanted to see, though we did take a taxi to the Accademia due to the weather.

In many respects this is a 5 star restaurant but the internet and overpriced restaurant brought this to 4 stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, Direttore generale at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Alison S,
Many thank for staying at Montebello and posting your positive review of your experience. I’m very pleased that you and your sister enjoyed the comfort of our hotel and the peaceful atmosspher that you can breath. I regret to read your concern about the internet service, but I’m sure that is due to a misunderstanding. You can surf any website or use any internet service. What you have to do to have the FREE wifi access is to login in one of the most popular social network as Facebook, gmail, Yahoo, instagram, Hotmail, etc with your credential, than you will have the authorization to use our network (it is secure and guarantee the privacy). Those are just for authentication only to accomplich to the local law about internet usage in hotel property.
I’m quite surprised about the comment about the price of our restaurant, in particular with the promotion on the arrival day. Of course you can have cheaper meal in Florence, but I assure that they are not comparable with the type and quality of products used and the general service and ambient that we do offer. A 3 courses meal in a basic Trattoria with paper table set and napkings starts from €35 (beverages excluded) the same at our restaurant starts from €37.
Once again, on behalf of the whole team I’d like to thank you for staying at Montebello Splendid and I say arrivederci to the next occasion you will have to visit our beautiful town.

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed here in Florence for six nights. The restaurant has excellent food. We had the the ravioli and lasagna,both were delicious. The complimentary breakfast was really good with fresh squeezed OJ.and fabulous cuppicino. The rooms are spacious and the grounds very nice. You can walk to all the main areas fr here. The staff is very helpful and friendly. If you plan to exchange money,do it in the hotel so you don't get charged hidden fees. DO NOT USE best and fast exchage anywhere in Italy. They have extra fees and will take advantage of travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilyfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, Direttore generale at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear lilyfarmer,
Thank you very much for your great review about your recent stay at Montebello Splendid. I’m very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the quality of our food served both during breakfast time and dinner. It was a real pleasure for all of use being helpful to offer you a pleasant stay in our city.
I look forward to welcome you again at Montebello Splendid at the earliest.

All the best,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#162 of 412 in Florence
143 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#110 of 412 in Florence
710 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#23 of 412 in Florence
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 412 in Florence
1,228 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 412 in Florence
795 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montebello Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montebello Splendid

Property: Hotel Montebello Splendid
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#68 Business Hotel in Florence
#78 Family Hotel in Florence
#92 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Montebello Splendid 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old villa from 19th Century with private garden located in the lively heart of Florence and transformed into a boutique 5 stars hotel full of charm and warm atmosphere, according to the neoclassical Florentine tradition. All rooms are elegantly designed and decorated differently but all equipped with the most up-to-date comforts. In a few step from the hotel you can easily reach all the most important attraction of Florence. Capriccio restaurant is the gourmet option for hotel guests to experience greta italian food in a very relaxing enveiroment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Montebello Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Splendid Florence
Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing