We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lives up to its name”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Ranked #60 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lives up to its name”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Beautiful, elegant and dignified hotel in lovely, centrally accessible area of Florence within walking distance of thePonte Vecchio bridge. The hotel has a formal feel, the rooms are large enough and thoughtfully furnished with robes and turndown service. We accidentally left our hotel safe open one morning and called the front desk in a panic. The manager closed and reset the safe and rekeyed the room. Staff is attentive, cocktail hour serves excellent snacks gratis, breakfast is excellent as well. This hotel is not for loud party types. They turned the lights out on us both nights because we were out late on the inviting patio drinking wine. The internet is a convoluted mess to access and logs you out daily, but we had similar wifi issues all over Italy. Definitely recommend this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    220
    74
    31
    30
See reviews for
147
436
37
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Montebello and had an amazing time. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The room was comfortable and very well kept. The hotel is centrally located with a short distance to the major attactions in the city, additionally, the neighbourhood it is located in has quite a few nice restaurants, bakeries, and bars near by. The restaurant had wonderful service, and delicious food, it is worth trying while at the hotel. We will definitly return when we are back in Florence.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alannah152013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It was an awesome experience that we had when we stayed at Montebello splendid.. We were given a beautiful and spacious duplex room which was super nice and comfortable. The breakfast spread was amazing and the restaurant where the breakfast is served was also amazing... It was centrally located and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Thanks to montebello splendid, we felt we found our exclusive little paradise:)

Room Tip: All rooms are superb. and well connected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VyasShivam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had an unforgettable weekend in Florence and the Montebello Splendid was the perfect base. Nicely refurbished, cosy, within walking distance to the city centre and with a friendly service. We will return!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel...warm welcome on arrival with smile! Quick check in room were ready when we arrived!
Rooms were clean, quiet and fantastic air cons unit, which can be set even as low as 10 Celsius!
Very comfy king size bed, very high quality pillows. My first night peaceful sleep I had from the whole trip.
House keeping noticed we use shower gel provided even half full their replaced with couple more new ones without being ask for! This is good customers service.

We ask reception to print out train time table for Prada out let the next morning and this was ready to pick up right away.. brilliant !

Overal, I would return and stay here in this beutiful hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherinePJ_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Montebello Splendid lived up to its 5 star rating and more.
Beautiful hotel and grounds, service excellent with amazing food.
The deluxe double was on split level, beautiful room, slept soundly in comfortable bed, bathroom lovely with Jacuzzi bath and shower.
Restaurant meal was amazing with service to match from all the staff.
Hotel and courtyard are beautiful especially when lit up at night.
We will certainly be back soon. This is not a place to be missed its simply stunning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This luxury boutique hotel was simply outstanding. If I had the opportunity I would give it 6 stars. Gorgeous quiet hotel. The whole team gave tremendous personal service and was accomodating in every way.

The quality of the rooms and the resultant ambience was lovely. A must hotel to stay at with more than the appropriate level of luxury.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffToronto869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#133 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#97 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#21 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Regency
#142 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#14 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montebello Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montebello Splendid

Property: Hotel Montebello Splendid
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#67 Business Hotel in Florence
#78 Family Hotel in Florence
#92 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Montebello Splendid 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old villa from 19th Century with private garden located in the lively heart of Florence and transformed into a boutique 5 stars hotel full of charm and warm atmosphere, according to the neoclassical Florentine tradition. All rooms are elegantly designed and decorated differently but all equipped with the most up-to-date comforts. In a few step from the hotel you can easily reach all the most important attraction of Florence. Capriccio restaurant is the gourmet option for hotel guests to experience greta italian food in a very relaxing enveiroment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montebello Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Splendid Florence
Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing