We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Ranked #75 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2008

The hotel is excelent, the attendants very helpfull and fast.

The room is very nice, especially the bed, the bath tub and the balcony.

The breakfast is good too.

The distance from the city center is not that far, it´s ok during all day, during the night if you´re not used to walk, you may take a cab, but it´s ok by feet, I did not get a cab in the three days I´ve stayed in hotel.

For the price I´ve payed, was a great choice.

STRONGLY RECOMMENDED.

Albert (BRAZIL)

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Chalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2008

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Montebello Splendid and have to say i thought the hotel was very good.
The location is a 15 minute walk along the river or through the narrow via's to get to the main tourist area. To us this was an advantage because the area is quiet and the local restaurants do not have the extremely silly prices evident in the tourist area.

The front desk was always helpful and our room was pleasant and comfortable.

I would reccomend the hotel to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank greenliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

My wife and I just returned from a fabulous trip to Florence, Italy. We went there as a side detour of a business trip that I had to Germany. We called it our "early" 30th anniversary celebration vacation. We stayed at the Montebello Splendid hotel and we loved it. The hotel is fairly new, circa 2004, but it was built and decorated in traditional Italian style with antiques, hardwood floors, marble bathrooms, plus jacuzzi, LCD TV, and fully automated room controls. The room was plenty big enough for all our gear and included 2 nice arm chairs and a table which are in addition to the TV/computer desk, unlike many rooms in Europe which tend to be tiny. We had booked a standard double but the hotel upgraded us to a deluxe double including a balconcy with table and chairs for free of charge. The staff was very helpful and friendly and always available. They even pre-arranged reserved tickets for us to a couple of the museums in Florence. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide variety. The hotel and the rooms were 1st class and we look forward to staying there again if we ever get to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TexasWill56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

The Montebello Splendid is a pleasant hotel a 15 minute walk from the centre of Florence along the Arno set in a quiet backstreet 150metres from the river. The hotel, rooms and breakfast were all excellent but the overall experience was let down by the evening meal we had in the Hotel which was poor.

We tried the special tasting menu which you would have thought was designed to encourage you to eat from the a la carte. however the food was poor as was the service. otherwise would recommend the hotel provided you don't mind being a fair stroll to the ponte vechio and all the other main sites.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank earlyretirement9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2008

A comfortable, modern, well managed hotel with friendly, efficient service. They shouldn't use plastic, throw-away cups when providing room service, though.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Fordbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2008

My husband & I stayed at the Montebello Splendid in late October and found it to be one of the nicest of our entire trip to Italy. We loved the small courtyard with fountain, the lovely reception rooms and the luxurious rooms. The beds were extremely comfortable, the furnishings very high end (e.g., silk tapestry walls, silk draperies, glassed jet shower, fresh flowers in the common rooms). The small bar was a little quiet but if you wanted more of a crowd the Westin Excelsior was just down the street. The place was spotlessly clean and very quiet at night so you could really get a good night's sleep. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank homeseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2008

This hotel is excellent. Excellent service, excellent breakfast, the rooms are beautiful and the location is good. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelgirly24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Bernini Palace Hotel
Bernini Palace Hotel
#34 of 409 in Florence
1,223 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#89 of 409 in Florence
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol - Starhotels Collezione
Hotel Regency
#140 of 409 in Florence
358 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#19 of 409 in Florence
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montebello Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montebello Splendid

Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#68 Business Hotel in Florence
#78 Family Hotel in Florence
#92 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £126 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Montebello Splendid 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old villa from 19th Century with private garden located in the lively heart of Florence and transformed into a boutique 5 stars hotel full of charm and warm atmosphere, according to the neoclassical Florentine tradition. All rooms are elegantly designed and decorated differently but all equipped with the most up-to-date comforts. In a few step from the hotel you can easily reach all the most important attraction of Florence. Capriccio restaurant is the gourmet option for hotel guests to experience greta italian food in a very relaxing enveiroment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montebello Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Splendid Florence
Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing