We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building and quiet - don't go if you like having friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Ranked #83 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2009

This hotel has a lot of pros and a few cons...Pros: easy walk to center, VERY quiet inside and out. Very upscale rooms and baths. Cons: Reception staff are very cold. Seem to cater to business traveler. I wouldn't go again, especially given the very high prices.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ccrosby60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, Hotel manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2009

Dear Ccrosby60,
Thank you very much for your stay at Montebello Splendid and for taking time writing your review on this website.

I’m very glad you enjoyed and appreciated the luxury rooms we provide to our guests, including the convenient and quite location of the hotel.

I regret for your comment about the cold staff and apologize if any of them didn’t approach you correctly; I’ve already took provision with this aspect and discussed in a one to one meeting.

I look forward to welcome you again in Florence whenever you should have chance to visit our city again. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further assistance.

Kind regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Montebello Splendid
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 557 of 957 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2009

This hotel was extrememly clean and gorgeous but the staff was not very helpful and didnt seem too really want to be there. We received a room that was very nice but had several stairs to get up to our bed, not that fun in the middle of the the night or convenient. I also asked the staff to book us a driver to rome from flrence for the day requesting a luxury car (which they confirmed a jaguar) and english speaking received some sort of honda van and a gentlemen who we couldnt really understand. So overall for the hefty price tag and location not sure i would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aztravelsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, Hotel manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2009

Dear Aztravelsnob,
Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and for sharing your experience with other travellers.
I’m glad you overall enjoyed our hotel, but I regret you didn’t like our location and found the staff unhelpful, probably because of the inconvenience with the driver company.

The Montebello Splendid is located in a quite and safe residential area, 10-15 minutes walking from Old Bridge, within 3 blocks from other prestigious hotels considered. Walking is Florence is a pleasurable experience, especially along the river; taxi are also available in seconds.

You stayed with us during the most important Fashion show, when most of the hotels in Florence are fully booked and the rates are higher than usual. The room you booked was a duplex Junior Suite (one of the most requested and appreciated), and the rate applied was equal to a standard room at comparable hotels in Florence. I know our rates are quite expensive, but you will find them very convenient compared to the other 4 and 5 stars hotels in town, considering that some properties charge up to 35€ per person for the breakfast.

As I mentioned before, the period you stayed with us was very busy due to the fashion show. You asked the transfer service to Rome at 6pm for the day after and the 2 external companies we work with on a regular basis were fully booked. We finally found an alternative company which confirmed us Jaguar car and English speaking driver. Unfortunately they probably overbooked the service a didn’t honoured what promised to us. I’m very sorry and apologize for the inconvenient, and we have already presented our complain to this company as well. The front desk staff did their best to satisfy your short time notice request, even in a very busy period like Pitti Uomo Fair. We are very selective with the choice of external services and recommendations, but this time we failed due to the unavailability of our regular partners.

I hope anyway you enjoyed the outside dinner in the most trendy restaurant we were able to reserve for you, even if very busy due to the fashion show.

Thanking you again for staying at our property, I remain at your disposal for any further information you may need.

Kind regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Bought a package through Luxury Link and staff acted very superior at check-in as it we were some lower form of life. The package included:
1) a bottle of regional wine and a selection of fruit and cheeses on arrival - but were informed after being in the room for half an hour and calling the front desk that it would be delivered when the restaurant opened and could get around to it!
2) 4 - course dinner for two - true but from a very limited menu, therefore charged extra for a la carte deviations,
3) Breakfast for two each day - yes there was, great orange juice!
4) Taxes and services included - Yes and that was fine.
BUT
The Euro 30.00 per night x 5 to park the car were a surprise at check-out...There is no signage to note this, there should be. Realsitically one must expect some charge for secure parking and valet service but it should not be a surprise at the end.

In summary, while one or two staff were helpful, most were indifferent; not quite the service we had expected as spoiled by the other two hotels we in which we stayed. Misleading advertising; we will be advising the travel link. Have to agree with other similar negative reviews that we were not made to feel particularly welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SP666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, Hotel manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2009

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for staying at our hotel during your stay in Florence and for the nice words about our property. I’m glad you enjopyed your stay with us and not surprised that you received all the items included in your package.

Regarding the fruit basket , cheese and bottle of wine upon arrival, I assume any responsibility. It’s my directions to provide these items after guest arrival in order to guarantee fresh fruits and cheese in case of late arrival: we never know at what time our guest will check-in. Fruits and cheese in particular have to be keep chilled to preserve the fragrance. Please apologize for the inconvenience it may have occurred this delayed delivery.

As to other reviews, I answer about the garage concern. Parking in the centre of Florence is allowed only for residents. The Public unsecured parking located at train station costs from 25 to 30 euro per day (start from 2€ per hour – 3€ from the second hour). Our hotel is one of the few hotels in the city centre who own its own underground garage and the charge is 30€ per day including any valet service. Just for your information, other hotels charge up to 45€ per day. As we receive the car key we inform our guest about the cost and we always explain alternative solutions on request. Travelling world wide in the most important destinations, I found similar o higher conditions.

What I regret the most is your perception of the staff attitude. I have to take note of it because it’s a personal opinion that fortunately is not supported by the many letters and guest satisfactory survey I receive. Some members of our staff are the main reason why some repeat clients book at our property every time they are in Florence. This doesn’t mean that everybody working at Montebello Splendid is perfect but I assure that most of the time the front desk staff spend at work is to accomplish to our guest requests or providing information. We try not to be too much intrusive with our guest, but at the same time professional, helpful and efficient at any requests. I’m also at complete disposal for any information or inconvenient may occur during the stay. Thank you for let us know your point of view which is important to improve our attitude and apologize for our lack during your stay.

I hope you anyway enjoyed our beautiful city and we hope you will come back soon.

Kind regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

I travel a lot, and I'm very picky about hotels. Montebello Splendid exceeded all my criteria. Exterior is pretty. Lobby nice. Front desk people extremely nice and helpful. All speak English (I'm American). Room was large by European standards. Beautiful furniture. Bathroom looked brand new. Very nice, very roomy. Windows actually open, instead of the locked cage type you get in so many American hotels now. Very nice breakfast downstairs, or into the room for only 5 euros! Parking in their garage was reasonable. WiFi available in the room for a price. However the keyboard supplied was difficult to manage...too small. Best to use your own laptop. I was very, very pleased.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We stayed at the Montebello Splendid for three nights while in Italy for our honeymoon. The hotel was quite beautiful with a lovely courtyard with garden and fresh flower arrangements in the common room. Our room was elegant but somewhat small. The bathroom was white marble. We had lots of trouble getting an internet connection in our room we talked to the staff and they were not able to recitify. We could get a connection in the common room / lobby which at least was something if not terribly convenient. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet, especially the fresh squeezed oj (squeezed in front of you). The staff recommended a restaurant - Il Profeta which was wonderful. We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant and were very happy with the food and service. The hotel is a bit of a walk to the sites, but that is relative as most everything in Florence is walking distance. The hotel had the most comfortable beds and pillows in all of Italy.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smgladu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, Hotel manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2009

Dear Guest,
I’d like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking time sharing your positive experience with other travellers.
I’m happy you enjoyed our facilities and services, including the morning breakfast.
I’m very sorry for the inconvenient with the wi-fi internet connection in your room, but sound strange that even with the cable you couldn’t make it work.
Anyway, we checked the access point in that area and seams to work properly.
Regarding the restaurant recommendation, I’m pleased you enjoyed it; a few review ago it was a concern from another guest. These kind of feedbacks are important for us: both positive and negatives.
We look forward to welcome you again in our beautiful city and we remain at your disposal for any further information.

Kind regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Highly recommend this gorgeous retreat. You are treated to the royal experience as a guest and the rooms are beautiful. It is also centrally located to the train station and just a few blocks from the shopping and sites. Definitely a hidden gem in florence.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBugg72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, Hotel manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2009

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for choosing the Montebello Splendid for your stay in Florence.
I'm very glad you had an excellent experience with us and enjoyed the service provided by our staff and the quite location nearby the most important attractions and shopping area.

Looking forward to have you again as our guest, we remain at your disposal for any kind of assistance.

Best regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We stayed at Montebello Splendid for only 1 night. We stayed in Florence earlier in the week and stayed at better hotel (for price and location called Hotel Calzaiuoli). We enjoyed the Montebello Splendid, but found the location to be out of the way from a lot of the major sights. For the price, it was closer to the Train Station (which is why I chose it for a one night stay).

The rooms are very classy. The bed was comfortable. It's a luxurious hotel and would rate it as a 4 star hotel (not 5 star).

If you want to be in Florence, but away from the sights and tourists, then this hotel is a definite option. Mind you, it's still walking distance to the sights (probably about 20-30 minutes), but if you've been walking around all day, the last thing you want to do is walk extra to get to your hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucktownChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, Hotel manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2009

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for staying at Montebello Splendid and for sharing your positive experience with other travellers.
I’m very glad you enjoyed our hotel and its services. As 5 stars hotel we do offer several services and facilities (Antiques and original painting, restaurant, bar, fine toiletries products, sweet dream beds, concierge, garden, private garage, fitness, ect.) that usually you don’t find in 4 stars properties as the one where you stayed before visiting us.
The hotel is located in a safe and elegant residential area, just 10-15 minutes walking distance from the main shopping and tourist attraction of our beautiful town, just two blocks from the Arno river and Opera House.
After walking all day, a glass of wine or cold drink in our peaceful and intimate garden is a very relaxing experience.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Montebello Splendid, on behalf of the whole staff, would you accept our kindest regards.

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#153 of 411 in Florence
149 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#101 of 411 in Florence
734 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#23 of 411 in Florence
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 411 in Florence
1,270 reviews
Hotel Regency
#144 of 411 in Florence
347 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montebello Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montebello Splendid

Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#68 Business Hotel in Florence
#78 Family Hotel in Florence
#92 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £141 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Montebello Splendid 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old villa from 19th Century with private garden located in the lively heart of Florence and transformed into a boutique 5 stars hotel full of charm and warm atmosphere, according to the neoclassical Florentine tradition. All rooms are elegantly designed and decorated differently but all equipped with the most up-to-date comforts. In a few step from the hotel you can easily reach all the most important attraction of Florence. Capriccio restaurant is the gourmet option for hotel guests to experience greta italian food in a very relaxing enveiroment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Montebello Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Splendid Florence
Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing