We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK- but NOT 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Ranked #61 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“OK- but NOT 5 star”
Reviewed 17 November 2009

We paid for breakfast for our whole stay and when I came down with the flu, they wouldn't let my husband bring a tray with tea, orange juice, and toast up without paying for room service. The room looked great but was actually very small.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pvineswinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, Hotel manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 23 November 2009
Dear Pineswinger,
Thank you for choosing at our hotel during your stay in Florence.
I’m very sorry to read you disappointment and negative comment. I personally don’t agree with the rate you gave us, especially for the reason you wrote.
The buffet breakfast you paid (50% less than other 5 stars hotels charge) is available in our restaurant and the room service has a small supplement, as almost everywhere else . As a 5 stars hotel is our duty to offer services for our guests and not ask them to become “waiter” and going around with self-made trays.
Nobody was informed of a sick guest, otherwise we would have offered our assistance to call a doctor, buying drugs and free room-service of course.

I’m at your disposal for any further information and I take this opportunity to send our kindest regards.

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    220
    74
    31
    30
See reviews for
147
436
37
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oulu, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Hotel Montebello Splendid is an excellent hotel, definetely a five-star hotel. The location is good, just a few minutes from the railway station, and a 10-minute walk from Ponte Vecchio. The hotel is beautyfully furnished and service and cleanliness was excellent. We did not use the bar though, which was said to be expensive by some reviewers. The breakfast buffet was very good by continental standards and complimentary sparkling wine over breakfast was sheer luxury. We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaretha59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, Hotel manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 16 November 2009
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for staying at the Montebello Splendid and for extremely positive review you posted on this website.

I'm really pleased you totally enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the quality of our services.

I'm sorry you didn't have chance to taste one of the exquisite cocktails that our barman Ilvano can prepare. I'd like to inform that prices at our bar are the same or lower than other hotels in Florence. We do also offer our online clients a coupon for a 10% discount.
I hope to have chance to welcome you again in Florence and I remain at your disposal for any further information you may need.

Sincerely,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Our family of three just returned from a two week trip to Italy during which we stayed at the Montebello Splendid in Florence for 5 nights. The hotel is gorgeous and roomy with a country in the city feel. It is about a mile or 15 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio. We grew to enjoy the walk and there was plenty of good shopping on the way. We had a suite with the second bedroom in a loft. The room was very nice, quiet and plenty of room for the three of us. The bathroom was big for European standards and well appointed. There was plenty of room for unpacking and to have a little space of your own space. The beds were comfortable and the room was nicely furnished. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the staff was mostly friendly.

The only complaint I have is that we did not receive our nightly turn-down service 3 of the 5 nights. One night, upon returning around 10 PM, the maid had not made it to our room yet so we called the front desk to ask for fresh towels. A very grumpy male staff member came to our room with one towel. I had to ask him to make another trip for more towels and that caused further deterioration of his already bad mood. The day time maid service was excellent though and a very nice maid helped our son find a tiny lobe to his ear phones after we had unsuccessfully searched the room for that peice earlier that day. You have no idea how relieved our son was when she found it.

Aside from the evening maid service and the grumpy night attendant, our overall expereince was very good and we would stay there again. It was a great value and a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, Hotel manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 16 November 2009
Dear Deniselaw,
on behalf of the whole staff I’d like to thank you for staying with your family at our hotel and for sharing your important comment on Tripadvisor.
I’m very pleased you had a great time in Florence and that you enjoyed your stay with us and the pleasant short walk to the main sights. It’s also a pleasure to understand that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast and the service provided by our staff.

I’m very sorry and apologize for the missing evening turndown service; unfortunately I don’t have enough elements to understand what really happened, but a possible explanation could be that you were in the room when the maid came to provide the service or the do not disturb light was on. Please accept sincere apologize also for the misunderstanding for the towels.

Thank you very much for let us know you impression about our service; staying in contact with our guest is very important for us.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any assistance whenever you should have chance to visit Florence again.

Sincerely,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

I am a seasoned traveller and difficult to please. The Montebello got a tick from us and will go back again. As with everything the final judgement is a combination of product, service, location and price. Judged on that basis the Montebello is excellent choice.
We booked a classic room bu t the staff upgraded us to a superior upon arrival. The room was great. No particular view but unless you need to work in the room I am sure that is not an issue. Only serious issue for a hotel of this standard was I could not find glasses for drinks apart from the bathroom ones. If they were there I did not find them and then did not bother anymore.
Breakfast is great and great value too. Try it. The lobby and common areas are indeed splendid and get a big tick. Location is very good not too far from the centre and if you like walking you'll enjoy. Overall for the price, the atmosphere and the experience is very good. I would go back with no hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFK_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Only just "very good"
Good points -
Location. Tucked away - blink and you might miss the entrance - but everything you might want to see in Florence is only a few minutes walk away.
Bar - quite pricey for cocktails, but excellently prepared.

Food - didn't eat here in the evening, however breakfast was high quality and frsh. The tables in the outside courtyard are an excellent way to start the day.

Staff knowledge - All very helpful and informative. Full of local knowledge, especially for choices of good restaurants, from the very expensive Michelin types to the lino-on-the-table local eateries (which were all excellent by the way.

Rooms - adequate only. Annoyingly, despite the temperature being over 30 Celcius the air-con was not turned on. Apparantly this is the law in Italy at this time of year (we checke with other hotels!) This made the room uncomfortably hot, especially at night.
Very comfortable bed though.

Mediocre - Service could be a bit slow. It's a little annoying in supposedly good hotels to find uncleared tables in the bar which then take 20 minutes to be cleared after you have asked.

The hotel is in general kept very clean and is in quite good nick, although it may soon be in need of renovation.

I'll happily return, but only when the air-con is on!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penguin_Family_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, Hotel manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 22 September 2009
Dear Penguin_Family_1,
I’m very pleased to read your positive review about our property and to understand that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you very much for your nice comment about our staff and food and beverage services. Please apologize if for some circumstances the service was a little bit slow on that particular occasion.

Regarding your concern about Aircon/Heating, I’m very sorry and apologize you found your room extremely hot. It’s true that in Italy there is a law that regulate the use of this kind of devices according to the period. Anyway, the Montebello Splendid, since it was recently renovated, is one of the few hotels in Florence offering the opportunity to have aircon and heating together. Last April in particular we activated the aircon when the outside temperature was above 23° C for two consecutive days; I want to underline that the highest temperature registered during the day in April was 25°C and not 30°C as you mentioned. Last April was extremely cold and rainy compared to the average.

On behalf of the whole staff, I’d like to thank you again for staying with us and for posting your review on this website. We do look forward to give you a warm welcome to Florence soon.

Kind regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Excellent courtesy and service; outstanding value for money. Recommended for a romantic trip. Fantastic food.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubbaItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, Hotel manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 22 September 2009
Dear BubbaItaly,
I'd like to thank you for choosing the Montebello Splendid for your stay in Florence and for dedicating your time sharing your positive experience with other travellers.
I'm very pleased you enjoyed the courtesy and professionalism of our staff, including the food selection that we offer.

We do look forward to welcome you again in Florence in the nearly future.

Sincerely,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Hotel was close to perfect, with service and food the best I have experienced! Location was great, walking distance to all points.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorenceAustralia09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, Hotel manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, 22 September 2009
Thank you for sharing with other travellers your positive experience at Montebello Splendid, I'm very gllad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please do not hesitate to contact us whenever you should come back to Florence.

Kind regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#137 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#98 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Regency
#140 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#14 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montebello Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montebello Splendid

Property: Hotel Montebello Splendid
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#67 Business Hotel in Florence
#78 Family Hotel in Florence
#92 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Montebello Splendid 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old villa from 19th Century with private garden located in the lively heart of Florence and transformed into a boutique 5 stars hotel full of charm and warm atmosphere, according to the neoclassical Florentine tradition. All rooms are elegantly designed and decorated differently but all equipped with the most up-to-date comforts. In a few step from the hotel you can easily reach all the most important attraction of Florence. Capriccio restaurant is the gourmet option for hotel guests to experience greta italian food in a very relaxing enveiroment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montebello Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Splendid Florence
Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing