We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here for business - will return with my wife for a romantic vacation!'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Ranked #87 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2011

While seeking a hotel for a number of colleagues to attend a conference, I asked an old friend from Florence for a hotel suggestion. He said his parents always book guests at the Montebello Splendid, and now we know why!
This is not a cookie cutter property, but a unique set of buildings around a central courtyard. The property is located on a side street, and once you pass through the front gate, you enter the comfortable ambiance 'away from the crowds',
We hosted a number of business meetings for breakfast and lunch in the restaurant, and the staff was very accommodating of our needs. We also had nightly gatherings in the ornate but comfortable lounge area. The service was very efficient, and over the several days there the staff anticipated our needs with warmth.
We did not have a dinner in the restaurants, but the front desk offered numerous suggestions for business dinners near by - we particularly enjoyed Il Profeto, about a 10 minute walk.
The guest rooms varied among our party, some larger, some smaller, and the bathrooms were very nicely appointed. The windows were very nice and sealed the room from the outside noises when closed.
I look forward to returning to this hotel with my wife in the future!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 81globetrotter81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2011

Dear 81globetrotter81,
Thank you very much for your contribution on tripadvisor. We are very pleased that you had a memorable stay with us even if on a business trip. I’m glad you appreciated our flexibility and accommodating service which contradistinguish us from other larger hotels.
Of course you will be very welcome whenever you will have chance to visit Florence on a leisure trip. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you may need to plan your stay in advance.

Sincerely,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 966 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2011

Everything from reception, room luxury, food, waiter (our friend and advisor), wine..all service..all splendid. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone, solo, family or business...it's more than what you want in a hotel...it's the tops!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Shullie125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2011

Dear Shullie125,
Thank you very much for staying at Montebello Splendid and for taking time writing your positive review on Tripadvisor.
I’m very glad you enjoyed the quality of the service and food provided; Your satisfaction is our greatest reward and encourage us to do better and better.
We will be pleased to have you among our guests during your next trip to Florence.

Kindest regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Perfect location! We enjoyed the daily walks and found everything we wanted in the vicinity.

Beautiful building with a lovely court yard and luxuriously appointed rooms and public areas.

On arrival we were upgraded and even though we had arrived early our room was available so we checked in immediately. We were delighted at its cleanliness and plushness but the big balcony with its table and chairs and view over the courtyard was an unexpected delight.

Lovely breakfast with helpful attentive staff. Thank goodness I took the advice of one female staff member and tried the baked cream with raspberry conserve she recommended. Loved the quirky orange juice maker.

Dinner was less impressive. As vegetarians we appreciate that it is not always easy to concoct a gourmet meal to suit us, however we were disappointed with the plate of grilled vegetables and the dish of white beans looked just as though it was tipped out of the tin into a bowl. We did however understand the 'one free dinner deal' and were grateful for that.

That won't stop us from going again though. The attention by the friendly and efficient staff, the closeness to the station, the area, the comfort and the little thoughtful extras ensure that. We especially like the cards left in the room at turn down service with their inspiring quotes!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psychic_sisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2011

Dear Psychic_sisi,
thank you very much for choosing the Montebello Splendid for your stay in Florence. We really appreciate your time dedicated sharing on this website your wonderful experience with us.
It’s a real pleasure to read that you appreciated our hotel’s facilities, including location and the quality of our buffet breakfast.
Regarding your small concern about vegetarian meal, I’m very sorry that it didn’t match your expectations. The dishes you ordered are considered side-orders and do not have particular presentation. We do have at least 4 vegetarian options between appetizers and pasta which have a very different style of presentation – next menu will increase this number. Glad anyway you enjoyed our “one free dinner” promotion.
Once again, thank you for staying at Montebello Splendid; I look forward to welcome you again whenever you should have chance to visit Florence again n the future.

On behalf of the whole staff, I wish you all the best.

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

This hotel was gorgeous and we had a fabulous time, and the snow was wonderful (for us!).

the staff was very attentive, the rooms were beatiful (especially the suites), and we felt like we had the hotel all to ourselves.

It is walking distance from the Piazza Republica (which is the center for everything), and 1 block from the river with restaurants right next door.

It was just great, and the Manager Ricardo (including the rest of the staff) were just wonderful. Would definately go back and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowflake981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2011

Dear Snowflakes981,
Thank you for sharing your great experience at Montebello Splendid, including the nice picture of an unexpected heavy snow.
I’m very pleased that you and your friends felt very comfortable at Montebello Splendid. It was also a great pleasure for me to have chance to meet such a charming persons.
I look forward your next visit to Florence, maybe in occasion of our city Marathon.

On behalf of the entire staff, I wish you all the best.

Sincerely,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I stayed for 4 nights in this beautiful hotel in a Double deluxe room. with a massive balcony.

The entrance to the hotel is elegant and welcoming. The building is stylish and the neighbourhood appeared to be quiet and safe. Check-in went smoothly and it was nice to arrive to a gorgeous room. It was on the smaller side but the design was nice and it was clean and fresh. The balcony was the best surprise- I did not expect that at all!
The marble bathroom was on the smaller side too but nice and clean.

Throughout my visit I was met with friendly and attentive staff. I suspect they aren't too used to solo female guests :-)

Only a couple of minor issues:
slow internet connection (but I got refunded so I'm not too unhappy about that)
Sound issues on BBC news
Restaurant menu slightly odd and not catering too much for vegetarians

Overall I had a wonderful stay and would not hesitate to come back at some stage and I will be recommending this hotel to anybody staying in Florence. The hotel is not in the city centre but it's a lovely walk along the river to reach the sights and shops.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanna_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

We travel to Florence every year in November and as a result know the City very well .
We have stayed at a variety of hotels, some very nice others ok. Once we discovered the Montebello Splendid we decided this is the place for us to return to.
Great location
Good price for the value it provides
Very good customer service

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florencelovers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2010

Dear Florencelovers_10,
Thank you very much for your nice comment on this website. We are very proud and honoured for being your favourite hotel in Florence. Myself and the whole staff is at your complete disposal and looking forward to your next stay.

Kindest regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We traveled Europe for two weeks with two older children. Our room was very elegant and spacious. It had two single beds and a loft area with a queen bed. The bathroom was spa like and great shower. Staff was excellent and very helpful. The hotel is located in a quiet area, but just a short walk to all restaurants, shopping, train station. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gauchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2010

Dear Gauchel,
On behalf of the whole staff of the Montebello Splendid, I’d like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your positive experience on tripadvisor.
I’m very pleased you enjoyed our hotel in terms of service, location and attitude of the staff. We all are looking forward your return.
I would like to wish you all the best to your family.

Sincerely,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol - Starhotels Collezione
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#92 of 410 in Florence
759 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#22 of 410 in Florence
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Regency
#147 of 410 in Florence
351 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#14 of 410 in Florence
1,299 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#21 of 410 in Florence
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montebello Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montebello Splendid

Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#68 Business Hotel in Florence
#78 Family Hotel in Florence
#92 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £139 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Montebello Splendid 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old villa from 19th Century with private garden located in the lively heart of Florence and transformed into a boutique 5 stars hotel full of charm and warm atmosphere, according to the neoclassical Florentine tradition. All rooms are elegantly designed and decorated differently but all equipped with the most up-to-date comforts. In a few step from the hotel you can easily reach all the most important attraction of Florence. Capriccio restaurant is the gourmet option for hotel guests to experience greta italian food in a very relaxing enveiroment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montebello Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Splendid Florence
Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing