We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but beware of surprises! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Ranked #101 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well located next to santa Maria novella train station, within walking distance from the historic centre.
Rooms are well decorated and give a taste of florentine spirit, however rooms are a bit dark.

On the 5th floor the bar / restaurant offers a breathtaking panorama of Florence (santa Maria del flore, palazzio vecchio...)

Beware of the below:
- paper thin walls and poor noise insulation (the first night I thought that a guy was sleeping in my room because of his snoring, the next night I woke up at 2 am because a group of basketball from BU was drunk and shouting in there room. I had to cross the hallway and ask them to lower their voice)
- if you visit with a car you should expect to pay EUR 36 / night + EUR 8 each and every time they get the car from the box
- I was somehow disappointed by the concierge in helping me to plan my stay in Florence, they could have been more helpful and less expeditious . Beware of one of the concierge who will try to sell you a tour of 2 to 3 hours for the Uffizi for EUR 210.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

620 - 626 of 2,491 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We booked this Hotel for a long weekend to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and what a pleasant surprise. This is a splendid hotel with typical Italian quirkiness, from the entrance and reception to the corridors, rooms & restaurant. We were greeted by very pleasant hotel staff at the reception who were very informative and helpful throughout our stay.Our deluxe room was adequate in size, clean with daily fresh linen and plenty of storage space although the air conditioning was a little on the noisy side but a necessity in the warm weather we experienced. The room was elegantly furnished with a typical Tuscan feel.
Breakfast is a wonderfull experience and when you first enter the room you cannot stop yourself saying 'Wow'. From the food which has a Continental / American feel (maybe catering for the large amount of Americans who stay there) to the exceptional views of Florence & the surrounding countryside. I think you would have to go a long way to experience better. There is also a delightful roof garden to enjoy a morning coffee or a nice cool drink after a hard days sight seeing (Be warned but don't let it put you off about the city tax on bar drinks which will be added to your bill when paying). It is also well worth taking sometime out to have a look at the pictures in the corridors and hallways which highlight the history of the hotel and area.
The hotel is ideally situated for sight seeing, although not central it is only short flat walk to some of the main attractions and about 10 - 15 minute walk to the river and across. The train & bus station is about 100 metres away if you want to spread your adventure to Pisa or Sienna etc. and the city tour bus is just around the corner. The city bus tour is well worth the money if only to get your bearings before planning your visits. Tickets for the tour can be purchased easily on the bus. At the station there can be long queues at the manned ticket booths but the fast ticket machines are very simple to use with staff only eager to help if you have problems. Remember to validate your tickets on the small machines dotted around the station.
Without doubt we will return to Florence and this hotel, a special occasion in a special pleace that has given us lots of memories.

Room Tip: Standard rooms can be on the small side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CJbryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We really liked this hotel. It wasn't hard to find, but was a little difficult to get to. We couldn't tell how to actually pull our car up to the hotel! So we parked at a nearby parking garage and walked several blocks with our luggage. The hotel really is gorgeous, though. It was just like one would expect an old European hotel with the word "Grand" in its name to be! Our room was filled with amazing antiques. The best part of this hotel is the rooftop bar. There aren't enough words to describe how beautiful the view is! It must be one of the highest spots in the city because you can see EVERYTHING! That beautiful duomo! A little tip: before breakfast in the morning, grab a cup of coffee and go sit up there. Another hint: There is a tiny little outdoor wine bar not too far away on Via Faenza. It is a couple of steps to the right of the door of the Hotel Accedemia at 7 Via Firenze. Great wine and focaccia bread! A charming, happy man runs the place. It is small. But grab a seat, order a glass of Tuscan wine and some bread, and you will be happy you did!

Room Tip: If you're looking for any leather goods (purses, belts, clothing) the Florence outdoor market is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KimandJimM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times and we have always found it to be extremely comfortable. The deluxe rooms and suites are elegantly furnished and are scrupulously clean. Yes the plumbing has its eccentricities, and I have heard some people complaining that the lift is small. This is to be expected in an old palazzo that retains many of its original features. The breakfast arrangements are outstanding, with an exceptional view of the city. We have always found the staff to be excellent, porters, reception and housekeeping alike. As always, a few words in Italian goes a long way. Don't forget to have a look at the photos that are placed on every level as it details some of the more recent history.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Expected everything in Italy to be smaller. Very surprised and refreshed to find a beautiful hotel with spacious and beautiful accommodations. Breakfast on the roof was beautiful. Dinner at the roof left much to be desired...but who eats dinner at their hotel anyways. Excellent location. Would stay there again when we return without reservation.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spudski67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Grand Hotel Baglioni is grand in name only ! The building itself is impressive, however the sleep is disturbed by noise. The walls must be thin, you can hear toilets being flushed, showers running the place is noisy. Staff can be rude. We requested a kettle so we could make tea, but was told no because of safety, however It turns out if you have a deluxe room they will provide you with tea and coffee making supplies. I saw a member of staff carrying a tray with kettle into a Deluxe room. We met another Lady who had experienced the same problem. The mattress on the bed was hard. The shower temperature changes when it wants to. We did not use the Hotel Rooftop restaurant, except for breakfast because it is far too expensive. The Hotel has rated itself as five Stars, but believe me it is flat out at ★★★ the hotel promotes something called The red carpet treatment. I think if you pay Top price perhaps the service would improve. Not impressed and would not recommend. The one positive thing is its location near the train station.

Room Tip: Lower Floor Less Noise From restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Penny917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel was used as a part stay between a River Cruise in Venice and land stay in Rome. Conveniently situated almost directly opposite the rail station it was in walking distance of almost everything. Rooms were large but dark (but this was only to be be expected in an old Florence building) and comfortable and we had the added advantage of having a mini balcony from which we could see the Duomo. The rooms remained cool even on the hottest days and often without the use of air conditioning which was an added advantage. The highlight is most definitely the view from the roof top terrace - a must do if you stay here - both early morning and early evening - spectacular. Some guests had a few issues with some of the personnel but we had no complaints at all. We only had breakfast at the hotel which was average compared to what we had been used to.

Room Tip: Top floor at the back for views - not many rooms had a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255060Angela_v_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#31 of 410 in Florence
1,722 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,952 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 410 in Florence
1,480 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#49 of 410 in Florence
2,059 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#72 of 410 in Florence
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze

Address: Piazza Dell'Unita' Italiana 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
#78 Business Hotel in Florence
#142 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £115 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Hotel set in converted palace, located downtown, near Conference Center & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing