We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
Ranked #61 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I was here in mid-July 2013. I decided to book the hotel after reading the reviews online and due to its central location. I only realised it's brilliant location after I arrived in Florence. The cab from the train station (Firenze Santa Maria Novella) was EU10, and took us less than 10 mins to get to the hotel. Most tourists would walk the distance, but we had heavy bags. The hotel is located right in the middle of Via Calzaiuoli, one of the major shopping areas, and its literally equidistant between Piazza del Duomo and Piazza della Signoria. I couldn't ask for a better location! The rooms are adequately sized, massive twin-beds, free wifi, and I was fortunate enough to interact with a friendly receptionist upon checking in. Breakfast was just average, but the excellent cappuccino made up for it.

Room Tip: If possible, request for a room facing via Calzaiuoli
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imran_jaafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    470
    89
    37
    18
See reviews for
276
639
27
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Just loved it
Great location in the city center, close to all the historic building and places you have to see
Love the street full of great fashion stores and local restaurants
Nice spacious rooms and the breakfast was amazing
Very nice and helpful staff giving you all the info you need and willing to book any trips and tours for u
Will definitely recommend the Ciao Florence Tours - have taken 3 different ones while staying in Florence and all of them were great. Tour to Chiante vineyards, tour to Lucca and Pisa and my favorite the day on Vespa which is a must if u in Florence
Just loved my 5 days in Florence
Will love to go again and will stay at the same great hotel

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Magdalena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Calzaiuoli as our second stop on our Italian honeymoon. The hotel was located right in the heart of Florence. We were close to many shops, restaurants. The room was small, but clean and ideally Italian. The bathroom was clean, and staff was friendly, and the breakfast was great. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khristian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Hotel: Very clean and huge rooms, excellent service, centrally located in the heart of all the shopping. Great way to get lost in the little streets and enjoy the shopping, sit at a cafe. There is a piazza with lounges and bars at night, you won't get lost finding it. Any which way you turn in the little side streets, you will find yourself back at this hotel.

Shopping: Go by the river, there is a great boutique shopping, if you don't want to waste your time with big North American store names. Also find yourself local designers' stores for great shopping. You can recognize them by their Italian names.

The Firenze SMN train station is a 10 min cab ride, however, with no luggage, you can easily walk it. Take a day trip to Venice, if you weren't planning on staying there overnight.

Room Tip: The room keys are large old school keys. When you leave the hotel for the day, you can leave the ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdakran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unknown
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Florence is a beautiful city and our stay could not have been any better. We stayed at the Hotel Calzaiuoli located on the main street which leads right to the Duomo. Every night, I would look out the window and see the Duomo at night- it was such a beautiful sight.

Rooms- Large rooms (our room consisted of a fairly large bedroom, living room with a tv and sofa, decent sized bathroom). We felt like it was good value compared to all of the hotels we had just stayed in Paris, Venice, and Rome.

Breakfast- Breakfast was included in our stay. The breakfast room was large and had a beautiful breakfast waiting for us every morning. There was eggs, bacon, smoked salmon, croissants, pastries, etc. Everything to fill your hearts and stomachs content!

Noise level- Even though the hotel was located on a main road with lots of people walking by, we requested a room that was not facing the main road. This really made it a quiet room. Also, I always bring ear plugs with me when I travel which is able to drone out a lot of noise.

Overall, a beautiful hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Random tip: There's a bank around the corner of the hotel with an ATM machine. Do NOT use this ATM machine. While on my vacation, not only did my card get eaten up by the machine but there were 3 other couples who had this occur in that very machine. The bank was not helpful at all. Seems to happen a lot in that ATM machine.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street and higher up. We had a good view of the Duomo from our window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miller Place, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We have just finished our 5 night stay at this wonderful hotel. I can't begin to tell you how much we enjoyed every part of our visit. From the moment we checked in we were well taken care of. Every request was granted quickly and with a smile. We always felt comfortable and at ease. The location can NOT BE BEAT, right in the center of everything. The room was awesome. Housekeeping was terrific. Breakfast staff was the best we had in Italy. I would return again and again. Wish we were there now!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planetkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Hotel Calzaiuoli is in a great location - close to the cathedral, great shops and a tonne of restaurants. The hotel itself is small. The rooms however are quite large. They are a little dated and we found the bathroom a bit odd (shower didn't really have closed walls so it was more a wet room). The staff were generally helpful if you needed it. Breakfast selection was small but not too bad. Given you don't spend much time in the hotel, I'd recommend it for the location.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#68 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#12 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Duomo
Room Mate Isabella
Room Mate Isabella
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Pierre Hotel Florence
Pierre Hotel Florence
#90 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#39 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Calzaiuoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Calzaiuoli Hotel

Property: FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
Address: Via Dei Calzaiuoli 6, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Family Hotel in Florence
#76 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Calzaiuoli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Calzaiuoli is a 4 stars hotel in the historical centre of Florence, 2 minutes walk from Uffizi Gallery and from Cathedral and 10 minutes walk from train station.53 Rooms, wifi connection free, continental buffett breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your FH Calzaiuoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calzaiuoli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing